Leave a Legacy That is Never Forgotten – Ecclesiastes 2:15-16

Growing with God: daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Ecclesiastes 2:15-16 (NIV)
Then I said to myself, “The fate of the fool will overtake me also. What then do I gain by being wise?” I said to myself, “This too is meaningless.” For the wise, like the fool, will not be long remembered; the days have already come when both have been forgotten. Like the fool, the wise too must die!

Ecclesiastes 2:15-16 (MSG)
When I realized that my fate’s the same as the fool’s, I had to ask myself, “So why bother being wise?” It’s all smoke, nothing but smoke. The smart and the stupid both disappear out of sight. In a day or two they’re both forgotten. Yes, both the smart and the stupid die, and that’s it.
************************************************************************
“Then I said to myself, “As it happens to the fool, so death will also happen to me. What use is it then for me to be extremely wise?” Then I said in my heart, “This too is vanity (meaningless).” For there is no [more] lasting remembrance of the wise man than of the fool, since in the days to come all will be long forgotten. And how does the wise man die? Even as the fool!” -Amplified

Every human being who has ever lived has wondered if their life really mattered. They have wondered and worried about when they were gone from this physical world if anyone would remember them. Did they do enough to leave their mark upon the world? Did they leave a legacy for their loved ones to follow? Did their life matter at all?

What is a legacy anyhow? A legacy, in its simplest form, is defined as something passed down from one generation to the next. It could be a gift of money, an inheritance, or an heirloom. It can also be an impact or impression that we left on others through the life that we lived.

“All good men and women must take responsibility to create legacies that will take the next generation to a level we could only imagine.” ~Jim Rohn

“I said to myself, “Why do I try to be wise when my fate is the same as that of the fool? This pursuit is fleeting too.” Neither the wise nor the fool will be remembered for very long once they are gone. The wise dies, and the fool alike. All are forgotten in the future.” -(VOICE)

As the Teacher continues sharing with us the things that he has learned on his journey of growth and insight he finally brings us to the root of his dilemma. He finally is able to express what it is that bothered him so much when it came to the fact that both the wise man and the fool would come to the same end; death. This bothered the Teacher, because he felt that both would be forgotten. No one would remember them once they were gone. Neither would have left their mark on world, or made any difference.

“…just as the fool will die, so will I. So of what value is all my wisdom? Then I realized that even wisdom is futile. For the wise and fool both die, and in the days to come both will be long forgotten.” -(TLB)

Jesus taught His followers this truth:

“Don’t hoard treasure down here where it gets eaten by moths and corroded by rust or—worse!—stolen by burglars. Stockpile treasure in heaven, where it’s safe from moth and rust and burglars. It’s obvious, isn’t it? The place where your treasure is, is the place you will most want to be, and end up being.” -Matthew 6:19-21 (MSG)

Paul wrote to the Corinthian church that their living legacy was to be love. He penned these words:

“For now, we can only see a dim and blurry picture of things, as when we stare into polished metal. I realize that everything I know is only part of the big picture. But one day, when Jesus arrives, we will see clearly, face-to-face. In that day, I will fully know just as I have been wholly known by God.  But now faith, hope, and love remain; these three virtues must characterize our lives. The greatest of these is love.” -1 Corinthians 13:12-13 (VOICE)

“Make your mark in the world with divine ink: love.” ~Matshona Dhliwayo

Solomon taught us of the need to pass on a legacy to our children. He gave us this bit of advice:

“When a good man dies, he leaves an inheritance to his grandchildren; but when a sinner dies, his wealth is stored up for the godly.” -Proverbs 13:22 (TLB)

“The righteous man who walks in integrity and lives life in accord with his [godly] beliefs—How blessed [happy and spiritually secure] are his children after him [who have his example to follow].” -Proverbs 20:7 (AMP)

“Train up a child in the way he should go [teaching him to seek God’s wisdom and will for his abilities and talents], even when he is old he will not depart from it.” -Proverbs 22:6 (AMP)

“The greatest legacy one can pass on to one’s children and grandchildren is not money or other material things accumulated in one’s life, but rather a legacy of character and faith.” ~Billy Graham

My friend, we all want to leave a lasting impact on others and the world at large. The best way to do this is to leave them a legacy of love; a spiritual legacy that will last throughout the generations.

“Please think about your legacy because you are writing it every day.” ~Gary Vaynerchuk

My Prayer:
Lord, help me not to put so much stock in if I am making an impact or impression on this world; whether I will be remembered or forgotten. Instead, may my focus be on living a life of love and leaving a legacy of faith for my family. My heart’s desire is to be living a life that is a light for you; a reflection of your love to others. Help me, Lord, to live my life to the fullest; bringing glory and honor to your name.