Knowledge Without God is Pointless-Ecclesiastes 1:16-18

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Ecclesiastes 1:16-18 (NIV)
I said to myself, “Look, I have increased in wisdom more than anyone who has ruled over Jerusalem before me; I have experienced much of wisdom and knowledge.” Then I applied myself to the understanding of wisdom, and also of madness and folly, but I learned that this, too, is a chasing after the wind.
For with much wisdom comes much sorrow; the more knowledge, the more grief.

Ecclesiastes 1:16-18 (MSG)
I said to myself, “I know more and I’m wiser than anyone before me in Jerusalem. I’ve stockpiled wisdom and knowledge.” What I’ve finally concluded is that so-called wisdom and knowledge are mindless and witless—nothing but spitting into the wind. Much learning earns you much trouble. The more you know, the more you hurt.
*********************************************************************
“I spoke with my heart, saying, “Behold, I have acquired great [human] wisdom and experience, more than all who were over Jerusalem before me; and my mind has observed a wealth of [moral] wisdom and [scientific] knowledge.” And I set my mind to know [practical] wisdom and to discern [the character of] madness and folly [in which men seem to find satisfaction]; I realized that this too is a futile grasping and chasing after the wind. For in much [human] wisdom there is much displeasure and exasperation; increasing knowledge increases sorrow.”
-AMPLIFIED

“Every man naturally desires knowledge; but what good is knowledge without fear of God? Indeed a humble rustic who serves God is better than a proud intellectual who neglects his soul to study the course of the stars.” ~Thomas a Kempis

Today we will find the Teacher addressing how worldly wisdom and knowledge without God is both pointless and meaningless. He tells us that these two companions will in truth bring displeasure, exasperation, frustration and pain if God is not part of the equation.

“He is wise who knows the sources of knowledge – who knows who has written and where it is to be found.” ~A. A. Hodge

“I mused over it all and thought to myself, “I have done great things, and I have gained more wisdom than anyone who reigned over Jerusalem before me. I have contemplated great wisdom and knowledge.” I decided to study wisdom and instead acquainted myself with madness and folly. It, too, seemed like trying to pursue the wind, for as my wisdom increased, so did my vexation. As my knowledge grew, so did my pain.” -(VOICE)

We find the Teacher telling us that he gave himself over to great study; he devoted himself to the learning of many things. He reasoned with himself and decided to learn from the lessons of those in the past. Eventually he was more educated and even wiser than those who had ruled before him, but….he soon realized that worldly wisdom and knowledge are futile and pointless.

The Teacher comes to this conclusion tells us that chasing after knowledge and worldly wisdom will only lead to heartache and pain:
“With a lot of wisdom comes a lot of heartache. The greater your knowledge, the greater your pain.” -GOD’S WORD Translation

“I said to myself, “Look, I am better educated than any of the kings before me in Jerusalem. I have greater wisdom and knowledge.” So I worked hard to be wise instead of foolish—but now I realize that even this was like chasing the wind. For the more my wisdom, the more my grief; to increase knowledge only increases distress.” -(TLB)

I remind you what Solomon taught us about gaining wisdom and knowledge:

* “Start with God—the first step in learning is bowing down to God; only fools thumb their noses at such wisdom and learning.” -Proverbs 1:7 (MSG)

* The Eternal is ready to share His wisdom with us, for His words bring true knowledge and insight; He has stored up the essentials of sound wisdom for those who do right; He acts as a shield for those who value integrity. God protects the paths of those who pursue justice, watching over the lives of those who keep faith with Him. With this wisdom you will be able to choose the right road, seek justice, and decide what is good and fair because wisdom will penetrate deep within and knowledge will become a good friend to your soul. Sound judgment will stand guard over you, and understanding will watch over you as the Lord promised.” -Proverbs 2:6-11 (VOICE)

* “True intelligence is a spring of fresh water, while fools sweat it out the hard way.” -Proverbs 16:22 (MSG)

Wisdom is the right use of knowledge. To know is not to be wise. Many men know a great deal, and are all the greater fools for it. There is no fool so great a fool as a knowing fool. But to know how to use knowledge is to have wisdom. ~ ~Charles Spurgeon

Society has placed a high premium on knowledge. They “think” that the more you know the better off you will be. People spend hundreds of thousands of dollars getting educated so they can be more intelligent, smarter, and wiser than the average guy. The Apostle Paul warned the Corinthians about chasing after knowledge in this way:

“…we know that all of us have knowledge, but knowledge can be risky. Knowledge promotes overconfidence and worse arrogance, but charity of the heart (love, that is) looks to build up others. Just because a person presumes to have some bit of knowledge, that person doesn’t necessarily have the right kind of knowledge.” -1 Corinthians 8:1-2 (VOICE)

“Knowledge is but folly unless it is guided by grace.” ~George Herbert

My friend, knowledge and worldly wisdom cannot save you. In and of themselves knowledge and wisdom are not wrong, but if we choose to chase after them and not God we have made them into idols. Anything that we value more highly than God is a sin and will lead only to heartache, pain and sadness. Chase after and seek God. Jesus told His followers:

““You are truly my disciples if you live as I tell you to, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” -John 8:31-32 (TLB)

“Knowledge of facts is important. Knowledge of truth is essential. Yet our Lord’s concern goes beyond mere head knowledge. He wants us not only to know the truth but also to obey the truth. He wants us to live the truth, practice the truth, and be conformed to and transformed by that truth.” ~Wayne Mack

My Prayer:
Almighty God, knowledge and worldly wisdom will not fill the empty hole in my heart that can only be filled by you. Remind me that I need to be chasing after more of you; seeking to know you more. Jesus, you are the Way, the Truth and the Life. I need more of you. Lord, you are everything that I need. Thank you!