The Shepherd and the Flock – Jeremiah 31:10

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Jeremiah 31:10 (NIV)

“Hear the word of the Lord, you nations; proclaim it in distant coastlands: ‘He who scattered Israel will gather them and will watch over his flock like a shepherd.’”

Jeremiah 31:10 (MSG)

“Hear this, nations! God’s Message! Broadcast this all over the world! Tell them, ‘The One who scattered Israel will gather them together again. From now on he’ll keep a careful eye on them, like a shepherd with his flock.’”

***************************************

“Hear the word of the Lord, O you nations, and declare it in the isles and coastlands far away, and say, “He who scattered Israel will gather him and will keep him as a shepherd keeps his flock.” -AMPLIFIED

“The God who scattered his people in many lands now gathers them. He releases them from the power of those who have held them captive.” ~Donald Flemming

Adonai has been speaking to the people about when He brings them home. And as we looked at yesterday’s text, we found Him foretelling that they would return home with an attitude of repentance. God’s Message to Israel:

“They will come weeping, but I will bring them back with consolation. I will lead them to wadis filled with water, by a smooth way where they will not stumble, for I am Israel’s Father, and Ephraim is my firstborn.”-Jeremiah 31:9 (CSB)

As God’s Message continues, we find Him also speaking to the nations about how He will gather His wandering sheep from among them in order to return them home. And once they are gathered, like the lost sheep they were, He would personally watch over them.

Adonai, the Good Shepherd, will gather His flock.

“Listen to the word of the Eternal, you nations of the earth; take this story to distant shores and make it known: the One who scattered Israel will now gather His people and watch over His flock as a shepherd.” -(VOICE)

As this verse opens, we find the Lord speaking to the nations about what He will do for His people. Make note of what will happen, it is guaranteed, would be no secret, it will be published abroad. The story will be broadcasted worldwide, and everyone will know what the Lord has done for Israel.

And now we come to some news which all the world will hear and see. The Lord, Himself, Adonai, the Good Shepherd, will personally and specifically, gather His lost and wandering flock from every corner of the Earth, and He will watch over them. He will be their Shepherd.

This picture of the Shepherd and the flock in Jeremiah is not a new one, back in chapter 23 we find the Lord making this declaration:

“I will personally gather the remnant of My sheep from the lands where I have driven them. I will bring them back to their home pasture where they will be fruitful and multiply.” -Jeremiah 23:3 (VOICE)

“The themes are repeated for emphasis. God will not be finished with Israel as Israel until they are gathered again in the land in the latter days.” ~David Guzik

“Listen to this message from the Lord, you nations of the world, and publish it abroad: The Lord who scattered his people will gather them back together again and watch over them as a shepherd does his flock.” -(TLB)

“The flock of Israel was smitten and scattered, but the Lord was caring for it just the same. No matter how dark the day, the Shepherd will find you, lead you, and give you a song.” ~Warren W. Wiersbe

This theme of the Good Shepherd is woven throughout Scripture, and with each reference we are reminded of how the Shepherd lovingly cares for His sheep. Let’s take a look at just a few of these passages.

In Psalm 23, we are reminded that the Good Shepherd is our constant companion, who leads us, provides for us, and quiets our fears.

“The Eternal is my shepherd, He cares for me always. He provides me rest in rich, green fields beside streams of refreshing water. He soothes my fears; He makes me whole again, steering me off worn, hard paths to roads where truth and righteousness echo His name.” -Psalm 23:1-3 (VOICE)

In Psalm 95, the Psalmist tells us that God is due our worship because He protects and nurtures His sheep.

“Come, let us worship Him. Everyone bow down; kneel before the Eternal who made us.
For He is our God and we are His people, the flock of His pasture, His sheep protected and nurtured by His hand.” -Psalm 95:6-7A (VOICE)

In Isaiah, we are reminded that the Good Shepherd is loving and caring with His sheep.

“He will feed His fold like a shepherd; He will gather together His lambs—the weak and the wobbly ones—into His arms. He will carry them close to His bosom, and tenderly lead like a shepherd the mother of her lambs.” -Isaiah 40:11 (VOICE)

In Ezekiel, we find the Good Shepherd identified as the Rescuer. He will be the One who gathers the lost, hungry, tired sheep, and He will lead them to a place where they will find rest.

“In the same way one shepherd seeks after, cares for, and watches over his scattered flock, so will I be the guardian of My sheep. I will be their Rescuer! No matter where they have scattered, I will go to find them. I will bring them back from the places where they were scattered on that dark and cloudy day. I will call them out from the nations, gather them from the countries, and bring them into their own land. I will feed them in the high mountain pastures and meadows of Israel. I will feed them on good pastures; they will graze on the mountain heights of Israel. They will lie down to rest on this good ground, and they will feed on succulent grasses in bountiful pastures on the slopes of Israel’s sanctuary mountains. I Myself will watch over My sheep and feed My flock. Whenever they are tired, I will lead them to rest on the cool mountain grass. When they are lost, I will seek them and bring back every last stray. I will bind up the injured and strengthen the weak.” -Ezekiel 34:12-16a (VOICE)

Jesus identified Himself as the Good Shepherd, and He spoke about how He protects His sheep, mentioning as well that His sheep know His Voice.

“I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. The hired hand is not the shepherd and does not own the sheep. So when he sees the wolf coming, he abandons the sheep and runs away. Then the wolf attacks the flock and scatters it. The man runs away because he is a hired hand and cares nothing for the sheep. I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me—just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep. I have other sheep that are not of this sheep pen. I must bring them also. They too will listen to my voice, and there shall be one flock and one shepherd. The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life—only to take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.” -John 10:11-18 (VOICE)

“God has not abandoned us any more than he abandoned Job. He never abandons anyone on whom he has set his love; nor does Christ, the good shepherd, ever lose track of his sheep.” ~J. I. Packer

In the book of Hebrews, we are reminded that the Good Shepherd is perfecting each of us:

“Now may the God of peace, who brought the great Shepherd of the sheep, our Lord Jesus, back from the dead through the blood of the new everlasting covenant, perfect you in every good work as you work God’s will. May God do in you only those things that are pleasing in His sight through Jesus the Anointed, our Liberating King, to whom we give glory always and forever. Amen.” -Hebrews 13:20-21 (VOICE)

“It takes some of us a lifetime to learn that Christ, our Good Shepherd, knows exactly what He is doing with us. He understands us perfectly.” ~W. Phillip Keller

My friend, we have a Good Shepherd, who truly cares about us, His sheep. He is tender and loving, kind and compassionate. He provides for us, protects us, and leads us in the way we should go. And He is perfecting us in every good work. Could we ask for a better shepherd? He is so good to us!

“The only safe place for a sheep is by the side of his shepherd, because the devil does not fear sheep; he just fears the Shepherd.” ~A. W. Tozer

My Prayer:

Adonai Elohim, my Great Lord, I am so blessed to have you, the Good Shepherd, caring for me. I know that I can rest in the fact that you are diligent in my care, never slumbering or sleeping, always on the job. You ensure that I am safe, provided for, and you are my constant Companion. When I wander away, your staff nudges me back on the path. When I am hurt, you wrap your loving arms around me and sing songs of love to me. When I get hungry, you feed me. And when I am tired, you lead me to a place of sweet peace and rest. Lord, you are indeed such a good Shepherd. Thank you for your tender, loving care. Thank you for being exactly who you are. I am so blessed that you are my Good Shepherd. ❤

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.