God’s Way, in God’s Time – Isaiah 60:21-22

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 60:21-22 (NIV)

“Then all your people will be righteous and they will possess the land forever. They are the shoot I have planted, the work of my hands, for the display of my splendor. The least of you will become a thousand, the smallest a mighty nation. I am the Lord; in its time I will do this swiftly.”

Isaiah 60:21-22 (MSG)

“All your people will live right and well, in permanent possession of the land. They’re the green shoot that I planted, planted with my own hands to display my glory. The runt will become a great tribe, the weakling become a strong nation. I am God. At the right time I’ll make it happen.”

**************************************

“Then all your people will be [uncompromisingly and consistently] righteous; they will possess the land forever, the branch of My planting, the work of My hands, that I may be glorified. The smallest one will become a thousand (a clan), and the least one a mighty nation. I, the Lord, will quicken it in its [appointed] time.” -AMPLIFIED

“The passage closes with these words: “At the appointed time, I, Jehovah, will cause it to happen suddenly.” The point being made is that there is an appointed day for the fulfillment of all these things; and the Lord will see to it that nothing prevents the coming of that day. Indeed, the Lord is causing history to speed on to that great day.” ~Donald F. Ritsman

Yesterday’s text informed us that in the New Jerusalem the Lord would be the everlasting Light. Isaiah tells us that there will no longer be need of sun, moon, or stars, for God would not only light the days, but the nights as well. And in that day, all sorrow, sadness, and grieving will be over. God’s Message:

“The sun will no longer be needed to brighten the day, nor the moon to shine at night, for Yahweh will be your unfailing light; your God will be your glory! There will be no more sunsets or new moons, for Yahweh will be your everlasting light and your days of sadness will be over.” -Isaiah 60:19-20 (The Passion Translation)

Today’s text are the final two verses of chapter 60 of Isaiah. Within the text we are told that only the righteous will possess Jerusalem’s land, and they will do so for God’s glory. The chapter closes with a notation, a reminder, that all the things mentioned in this chapter will come to pass when God decides that the time is right. God’s way in God’s time; this is the only way that things will be as they should be. God’s Message to the city of Jerusalem:

“All the people will be right with God, and they’ll stay in the land they possess forever. Eternal One: I will plant them there like a sturdy sapling with My own hands. I will tend them and take pride in their growing. Just watch, they will develop robustly; from so small a beginning, they will multiply and become a mighty nation. I, the Eternal One, will make it happen soon.” -(VOICE)

Within these two verses we find multiple promises to the city of Jerusalem, promises that should bring hope:

First, God promises that in the future the people that will dwell within Jerusalem’s walls will be righteous, living right and good. These people will possess the lands round about the city and they will stay forever.

“All your people will be righteous and will permanently possess the land.” -(TPT)

Secondly, God promises that He will personally do the planting of these people who will possess Jerusalem. He will establish these people in the New Jerusalem for one sole purpose, so the work of His hands will bring glory and honor to Him.

“I planted them there as a tender sapling, the work of my own hands to display my glory.” -(TPT)

Thirdly, God promises that He will bless these people and cause them to multiply.

“I will multiply the least of you into a thousand and the weakest one into a mighty nation.” -(TPT)

And finally, we are told that all these things will come to pass in God’s time. In fact, we learn that God sees an urgency to “hasten” the time.

“I am Yahweh, and when the right time comes, I will accomplish it swiftly!” -(TPT)

“All your people will be good. They will possess their land forever, for I will plant them there with my own hands; this will bring me glory. The smallest family shall multiply into a clan; the tiny group shall be a mighty nation. I, the Lord, will bring it all to pass when it is time.” -(TLB)

“This promise would not be fulfilled because the people of God were so good. Rather, the Lord said that it would be seen as the work of My hands, that I may be glorified…The promise seems too good to be true, and we are conditioned to think that if it seems too good to be true, it is. But God is too good not to be true.” ~David Guzik

In the book of Ecclesiastes Solomon reminds us God accomplishes everything at the appropriate time. Solomon wrote:

“It is beautiful how Elohim has done everything at the right time. He has put a sense of eternity in people’s minds. Yet, mortals still can’t grasp what Elohim is doing from the beginning to the end of time.” -Ecclesiastes 3:11 (NOG)

“With God, there’s always an appointed time for things, and when you put Him first, trust in His timing, and keep the faith, miracles happen!” ~Germany Kent

Jeremiah reminds us that we need to trust God’s love, and intentions for us, and wait patiently for Him to bring about His good in our lives. Jeremiah wrote:

“How enduring is God’s loyal love; the Eternal has inexhaustible compassion. Here they are, every morning, new! Your faithfulness, God, is as broad as the day. Have courage, for the Eternal is all that I will need. My soul boasts, “Hope in God; just wait.” It is good. The Eternal One is good to those who expect Him, to those who seek Him wholeheartedly. It is good to wait quietly for the Eternal to make things right again.” -Lamentations 3:22-26 (VOICE)

Remember this Message that Isaiah recorded for us from God:

“The Lord says, “My thoughts are not like your thoughts. Your ways are not like my ways. Just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts. Rain and snow fall from the sky and don’t return without watering the ground. They cause the plants to sprout and grow, making seeds for the farmer and bread for the people. The same thing is true of the words I speak. They will not return to me empty. They make the things happen that I want to happen, and they succeed in doing what I send them to do.” -Isaiah 55:8-11 (NCV)

“God works things out on his timetable to bring the best results for us.” ~Alan Robertson

My friend, we need to allow God to do His perfect work in His way and in His time. Remember, He makes all things beautiful in His time, not our time. And His way of doing things is not necessarily our way of doing things. His ways are higher, greater, and better in so many ways. Trust God’s timing in your life.

“Stress makes you believe that everything has to happen right now. Faith reassures you that everything will happen in God’s timing.” ~Marcus Lamb

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, I am trusting you with my life, and my times. You, Lord, do all things well. I know that you always have good intentions for me, and that your way is best. I may not understand “why” things are happening in my life, but I know that I can trust you. I know that you are with me, walking through those valleys of darkness. I know that you are but a whisper away, and I can always count on you, my constant Companion, my faithful Friend. Lord, you are so faithful, so loving, so good to me, and I will be forever grateful to you. I am so blessed to call you Father.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.