God’s Mighty Power – Isaiah 52:10

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 52:10 (NIV)

“The Lord will lay bare his holy arm in the sight of all the nations, and all the ends of the earth will see the salvation of our God.”

Isaiah 52:10 (MSG)

“God has rolled up his sleeves. All the nations can see his holy, muscled arm. Everyone, from one end of the earth to the other, sees him at work, doing his salvation work.”

************************************************

“The Lord has bared His holy arm (His infinite power) before the eyes of all the nations [revealing Himself as the One by Whom Israel is redeemed from captivity], that all the ends of the earth may see the salvation of our God.” -AMPLIFIED

“The expression made bare his holy arm is a Hebrew idiom derived from rolling up long, loose sleeves before starting to work. Then the arm was bared – the symbol of any mighty undertaking or initiative.” ~Harry Bultema

In yesterday’s passage, we found God instructing the ruins of the city of Jerusalem to sing for joy, for He has brought comfort to His people. We were reminded that all of Creation sings God’s praise.

“Burst into joyous songs, you rubble of Jerusalem! For Yahweh has graciously comforted his people;
    he has become the Kinsman-Redeemer of Jerusalem!” -Isaiah 52:9 (The Passion Translation)

In today’s text, we are given an image of God getting down to business. He has shown His power and strength, His holy arm. No wonder all of Creation is rejoicing and singing! (Remember, God is always working behind the scenes.) Isaiah describes for us the Lord demonstrating His power and strength.

Side Note: The picture that comes to mind for me, when I read this passage, is one from an old movie, where we see a bully picking on someone much smaller and weaker. Then an older, stronger friend enters the picture, and we see that person not even speaking, but meticulously, quietly, folding up their sleeves, as if they were getting ready for some dirty business. The anticipation of the bully, and all the other on-lookers becomes substantial as they watch the “hero” prepare himself for battle. In the end though, the battle never happens, because the bully realizes he is no match for the hero, and the bully walks away.

“The Eternal has flexed His muscles, bared His holy arm for the world to see His power; every nation, every person, every place on earth will witness the victory of our God.” -(VOICE)

Isaiah tells us what he sees: God demonstrating His power and strength. And Isaiah tells us that all the world will see this demonstration too. What are they seeing? They will see the salvation of the Lord in action! Hallelujah!

“The Lord has bared his holy arm before the eyes of all the nations; the ends of the earth shall see the salvation of our God.” -(TLB)

“God does not make His saving strength known just for those who are immediately rescued. He also does it as a witness and a testimony to others, so they can see the salvation of our God.” ~David Guzik

God’s mighty arm is often associated with His redemption and salvation. Consider this account from Exodus, and God’s promise to Moses:

“Then God spoke further to Moses and said to him, “I am the Lord. I appeared to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob (Israel) as God Almighty [El Shaddai], but by My name, Lord, I did not make Myself known to them [in acts and great miracles]. I also established My covenant with them, to give them the land of Canaan, the land in which they lived as strangers (temporary residents, foreigners). And I have also heard the groaning of the sons of Israel, whom the Egyptians have enslaved, and I have [faithfully] remembered My covenant [with Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob]. Therefore, say to the children of Israel, ‘I am the Lord, and I will bring you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians, and I will free you from their bondage. I will redeem and rescue you with an outstretched (vigorous, powerful) arm and with great acts of judgment [against Egypt]. Then I will take you for My people, and I will be your God; and you shall know that I am the Lord your God, who redeemed you and brought you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians. I will bring you to the land which I swore to give to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob (Israel); and I will give it to you as a possession. I am the Lord [you have the promise of My changeless omnipotence and faithfulness].’” -Exodus 6:2-8 (AMP)

David reminds us that our God is mighty, full of power and glory and victory and majesty. Part of David’s prayer:

 “All that is great and powerful and glorious and victorious and majestic is Yours, O Eternal One.
    Indeed everything that is in the heavens and the earth belongs to You.
        The kingdom belongs to You, O Eternal One, and You are the head of it all.
Wealth and glory come from You, and You rule over them all.
    In Your hand is power and strength, and You use them to make great and strengthen everyone.” -1 Chronicles 29:11-12 (VOICE)

The Apostle Paul, writing to the church in Ephesus, reminded them that their strength came from God’s mighty power. He encouraged them to “put on” the spiritual armor that God had provided for them to fight against the Enemy of their souls. Paul wrote:

“Last of all I want to remind you that your strength must come from the Lord’s mighty power within you. Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand safe against all strategies and tricks of Satan. For we are not fighting against people made of flesh and blood, but against persons without bodies—the evil rulers of the unseen world, those mighty satanic beings and great evil princes of darkness who rule this world; and against huge numbers of wicked spirits in the spirit world.” -Ephesians 6:10-12 (TLB)

“As holiness is the beauty of all God’s attributes, so power is that which gives life and action to all the perfections of the Divine nature. How vain would be the eternal counsels, if power did not step in to execute them. Without power His mercy would be but feeble pity, His promises an empty sound, His threatening’s a mere scarecrow. God’s power is like Himself: infinite, eternal, incomprehensible; it can neither be checked, restrained, nor frustrated by the creature.” ~Stephen Charnock

My friend, Our God holds all power and might. He is over all things, and nothing happens unless He allows it to happen. For He is Sovereign. He wants to demonstrate His power in your and my life. Are you willing to humble yourself under the mighty hand of God? Step aside and allow God, our Hero, to manifest His power for you today. He is mighty in power!

“So wonderful is God’s power. He can see beyond any darkness and reach beyond any limitation.”
~Gift Gugu Mona

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, I humbly ask you to demonstrate your power and might in my life. Lord, help me to put aside my own agendas and allow you to do your perfect work in and through me. I am reminded that you are able to do the impossible. Over and over again in Scripture I read of your power and might, and I want to see those mighty acts done in my life too. Lord, remind me to stop getting in your way, and to allow you to do your work, in your way. May your salvation and redemption be seen in all the world.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.