Coming to the End of Ourselves -Jeremiah 31:19

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Jeremiah 31:19 (NIV)

“After I strayed, I repented; after I came to understand, I beat my breast. I was ashamed and humiliated because I bore the disgrace of my youth.’”

Jeremiah 31:19 (MSG)

“After those years of running loose, I repented. After you trained me to obedience, I was ashamed of my past, my wild, unruly past. Humiliated, I beat on my chest. Will I ever live this down?’”

*************************************

“‘After I turned away [from You], I repented; after I was instructed, I struck my thigh [in remorse]; I was ashamed and even humiliated because I carried the disgrace of my youth [as a nation].’” -AMPLIFIED

“We must consider that we are not in a history, or a narration of things done, but in a prophecy foretelling what should come to pass. The prophet foretelleth that before this promised deliverance should come, the Israelites should be in another temper, that their uncircumcised hearts should be humbled, they should accept of the punishment of their sins, confess God’s justice and righteousness, and their own wantonness and unruliness, pray unto God to change their hearts, which would never else be changed, and change their conditions, which would depend upon that change of their hearts..” ~Matthew Poole

Jeremiah recorded for us what the Lord foretold would be the response of Israel one day towards His discipline. The people would one day say:

“I have surely heard Ephraim moaning, “You disciplined me, and I have been disciplined like an untrained calf. Take me back, so that I can return, for you, Lord, are my God.” -Jeremiah 31:18 (CSB)

As we look to today’s text, we find the response of the people continuing, as they respond to and accept responsibility for their actions towards, and sin against the Lord. Israel would one day say:

“After I had turned away from You, I repented. I turned back toward You when I understood what I had done; I slapped my thigh in shame and regret for the disgraceful things I did when I was young.” -(VOICE)

The Lord says that one day Israel, also known as Ephraim, will stop making their excuses, and they will finally confess that it was they who turned away from the Lord. They will repent, and when they do so, they will turn back to the Lord. On day, they would come to the end of themselves, and realize their great need for the Lord. At that time, they would also understand that all that the Lord had allowed to happen to them was for their own good. He was using every situation to turn their wayward hearts back to Him. Every situation was intended to instruct and teach them to walk in humble obedience before Him. And the Lord says that when they finally grasp this truth, when they finally understand, they will be both ashamed and humiliated for the way they acted before, when they were young.

“Instructed – Brought to my senses by suffering. The smiting upon the thigh is a sign of sorrow.” ~Albert Barnes

In the book of Ezekiel, we find the Lord telling the people of Israel what the purpose of His discipline is for:

“Then you will recall your evil ways and wicked deeds. You will recognize how bad they were and hate yourselves for all the shocking and despicable things you did!” -Ezekiel 36:31 (VOICE)

Each of us must come to the end of ourselves and realize that we cannot do life without Him.

“I turned away from God, but I was sorry afterwards. I kicked myself for my stupidity. I was thoroughly ashamed of all I did in younger days.” -(TLB)

“Israel recognized that their misfortunes were not accidents of blind fate. They were chastisements from the LORD, which they now humbly accepted as if they were an untrained bull that needed to be broken in some sense and brought into submission…In total dependence upon God, they realized that they could not return to God without His restoring work. They humbly asked God to restore them so they could return… In turning to God, they understood that their behavior had to change. It meant repentance…Having returned to God, they were ashamed of their past sin and rebellion, of the sins of their youth. In the manner of a person greatly moved or upset, they struck themselves on the thigh.” ~David Guzik

In our foolish pride we too often think we have life all figured out. In reality, we don’t. We cannot do life without God, and we need to come to that realization sooner than later. Consider something that Jesus told the crowd during the Sermon on the Mount:

“You’re blessed when you’re at the end of your rope. With less of you there is more of God and his rule. You’re blessed when you feel you’ve lost what is most dear to you. Only then can you be embraced by the One most dear to you.” -Matthew 5:3-4 (MSG)

“Blessed are the spiritually poor—the kingdom of heaven is theirs. Blessed are those who mourn—they will be comforted.” -Matthew 5:3-4 (VOICE)

When we remember that God’s ways are not our ways, we will finally realize that we need to do things His way.

“My intentions are not always yours, and I do not go about things as you do. My thoughts and My ways are above and beyond you, just as heaven is far from your reach here on earth.” -Isaiah 55:8-9 (VOICE)

When we grasp the fact that God disciplines those He loves, we should realize how deeply He does love us.

“For the Lord disciplines those He loves, and He corrects each one He takes as His own.” -Hebrews 12:6 (VOICE)

When we accept the fact that God’s intentions for us are for good, not evil, we will be on the right road of life.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Eternal, “plans for peace, not evil, to give you a future and hope—never forget that.” -Jeremiah 29:11 (VOICE)

“For us to be transformed increasingly into Christ’s likeness, we need God’s correction: “He disciplines us for our good, that we may share his holiness. For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant, but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it” (Hebrews 12:10-11).” ~Randy Alcorn

My friend, please, please, please, do not ever think that God hates you, or does not care for you. He is waiting for all of us to come to the end of our rope, the end of ourselves. When we finally realize that we cannot do life without Him, and we surrender to Him as our Lord and Savior, then He can step in and instruct us in the way we should go. We need to trust that God’s intentions for us have always been for our good.

“If we will only surrender ourselves utterly to the Lord, and will trust Him perfectly, we shall find our souls “mounting up with wings as eagles” to the “heavenly places” in Christ Jesus, where earthly annoyances or sorrows have no power to disturb us.” ~Hannah Whitall Smith

My Prayer:

Adonai Elohim, my Great Lord, I am reminded again that your ways are not my ways. Your ways are better, higher. Your intentions for my life were planned even before I was thought of, definitely before I was born. I must keep reminding myself that your plans are for good, not evil; too often I fail to remember that. I confess, I have been angry with you, Lord. I have been frustrated. And each time it comes down to the fact that I have insisted on doing things my own way, not yours. Please forgive me. Help me to walk in your ways. Help me to trust that your plans for my life are meant for good. Help me to remember how deep your love for me truly is, and that you care for me more than I could even imagine. I am so thankful for you, Lord. Please, continue to be patient with me as I learn to walk in your ways. Thank you, Lord.

One thought on “Coming to the End of Ourselves -Jeremiah 31:19

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.