The Heavenly Father Disciplines -Jeremiah 32:42

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Jeremiah 32:42 (NIV)

“This is what the Lord says: As I have brought all this great calamity on this people, so I will give them all the prosperity I have promised them.”

Jeremiah 32:42 (MSG)

“Yes, this is God’s Message: ‘I will certainly bring this huge catastrophe on this people, but I will also usher in a wonderful life of prosperity. I promise.”

***************************************************

“For thus says the Lord, ‘Just as I have brought all this great disaster on this people, so I am going to bring on them all the good that I am promising them.” -AMPLIFIED

“Just as I have brought all this great calamity on this people, so I will bring on them all the good that I have promised: The principle is repeated for the sake of emphasis. When Jeremiah spoke this prophecy, the Babylonian armies surrounded Jerusalem and were about to conquer the city – that was sure. It was just as sure that God would bring on them all the good He had promised.” ~David Guzik

The Lord has reminded Jeremiah that it is His desire to bless His children. Doing so brings Him delight and joy:

“I will take delight in them to do what is good for them, and with all my heart and mind I will faithfully plant them in this land.” -Jeremiah 32:41 (CSB)

Jeremiah is also reminded, as are we too, that God our Heavenly Father disciplines when needed, but He also keeps His promise to bring good into the lives of His children. God’s Message:

“This is what I, the Eternal, declare: Just as I brought this great disaster upon My people, so will I do all these good things I have promised to them.” -(VOICE)

The Lord takes the time to explain to Jeremiah once again that He knows exactly what His children need. Sometimes they needed to be disciplined, as was the case with Israel and Judah at this point in Jeremiah’s time. But even in these times of discipline, God was working to bring about good.

Discipline hurts. It’s uncomfortable, and sometimes even painful, but it is intended to help us, to change us, to help us grow. Remember, God’s desire was to bless, but He needed the people to change so that that He could give them the good things that He had promised to them. In their present state, attitude and mentality, they would not appreciate the blessings that He wished to pour out on them.

“It would please Him to bless them, and He would wholeheartedly return them to the land in faithfulness to His promise. As surely as He had brought calamity on them, He would bring this blessing.” ~Thomas Constable

“Just as I have sent all these terrors and evils upon them, so will I do all the good I have promised them.” -(TLB)

“As magnificent and severe as God’s wrath will be against Israel, so shall His goodness towards the restored nation be equally magnificent and bountiful.” ~Melissa Beaty  

We have a Heavenly Father that loves us a lot.

“Because of this, the love of God is a reality among us: God sent His only Son into the world so that we could find true life through Him.” -1 John 4:9 (VOICE)

He wants what is best for us.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Eternal, “plans for peace, not evil, to give you a future and hope—never forget that.” -Jeremiah 29:11 (VOICE)

Sometimes He needs to discipline us.

“My son, do not ignore the Eternal’s instruction or lose heart when He steps in to correct you; because the Eternal proves His love by caring enough to discipline you, just as a father does his child, his pride and joy.” -Proverbs 3:11-12 (VOICE)

God gives the orders when it comes to discipline.

“Who do you think “spoke and it happened”? It’s the Master who gives such orders. Doesn’t the High God speak everything, good things and hard things alike, into being? And why would anyone gifted with life complain when punished for sin?” -Lamentations 3:37-39 (MSG)

“God’s discipline may be on us not simply to discipline us for evil but to stretch and broaden us in righteousness.” ~John Piper

But He does not give us what we deserve.

“He has not punished us as we deserve for all our sins, for his mercy toward those who fear and honor him is as great as the height of the heavens above the earth.” -Psalm 103:10-11 (TLB)

He disciplines with gentle, loving care.

“An earthly father expresses love for his children; it is no different with our heavenly Father; the Eternal shows His love for those who revere Him. For He knows what we are made of; He knows our frame is frail, and He remembers we came from dust.” -Psalm 103:13-14 (VOICE)

Remember this, the Lord’s mercies are new every morning.

“Yet there is one ray of hope: his compassion never ends. It is only the Lord’s mercies that have kept us from complete destruction. Great is his faithfulness; his loving-kindness begins afresh each day. My soul claims the Lord as my inheritance; therefore I will hope in him.” -Lamentations 3:21-24 (TLB)

“For each of us, life is a journey. Heavenly Father designed it for us out of love. Each of us has unique experiences and characteristics, but our journey began in the same place before we were born into this world.” ~Henry B. Eyring

My friend, our Heavenly Father knows exactly what we need when it comes to discipline and blessing. He never disciplines us just to abuse us, as some earthly fathers have done. He disciplines because He loves us, and He wants what is best for us. His discipline is intended to conform us into the image of His Son. “From the distant past, His eternal love reached into the future. You see, He knew those who would be His one day, and He chose them beforehand to be conformed to the image of His Son so that Jesus would be the firstborn of a new family of believers, all brothers and sisters. As for those He chose beforehand, He called them to a different destiny so that they would experience what it means to be made right with God and share in His glory.” -Romans 8:29-30 (VOICE) So, let us submit to His loving discipline and trust that He is administrating it for our good.

“Oh, it is wonderful to know that our Heavenly Father loves us—even with all our flaws! His love is such that even should we give up on ourselves, He never will. We see ourselves in terms of yesterday and today. Our Heavenly Father sees us in terms of forever. Although we might settle for less, Heavenly Father won’t, for He sees us as the glorious beings we are capable of becoming.” ~Joseph B. Wirthlin 

My Prayer:

Adonai Elohim, my Great Lord, your discipline often hurts. It can be quite painful and humbling, but I am learning that you discipline me for my good. Your intention is to conform me into the image of your Son. I know I have a long way to go before I reach that place. Meanwhile, while you are in the process of conforming me, help me, Lord, to trust your gentle loving hand of discipline. Remind me of the need to remain continually submissive, so that you can do your good work in me. Help me to become the person that you always intended me to be. I surrender, Lord, help me to walk in your ways.