The Lord is Head Over All-Jeremiah 32:26-27

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Jeremiah 32:26-27 (NIV)

“Then the word of the Lord came to Jeremiah: “I am the Lord, the God of all mankind. Is anything too hard for me?”

Jeremiah 32:26-27 (MSG)

“Then God’s Message came again to Jeremiah: “Stay alert! I am God, the God of everything living. Is there anything I can’t do?”

***********************************************

“Then came the word of the Lord to Jeremiah, saying, “Behold, I am the Lord, the God of all flesh; is there anything too difficult for Me?”” -AMPLIFIED

“The Lord beginneth this revelation, for the prophet’s satisfaction, with the preface expressive of his power and universal dominion, from which Jeremiah might understand that he could do whatsoever he pleased, and man, that was but flesh, could not hinder his effecting what he designed to do.” ~Matthew Poole

Jeremiah, in his prayer, was honest with the Lord. He had doubts, just as we all do from time to time. Jeremiah struggled with understanding “why” God had asked him to buy the field from his cousin.

“Yet you, Lord God, have said to me, ‘Purchase the field and call in witnesses’—even though the city has been handed over to the Chaldeans!” -Jeremiah 32:25 (CSB)

“For almost two years the Babylonians have tightened their grip: food supplies are dwindling, disease is rampant, and there is little hope supplies or relief might get through to besieged Jerusalem.” ~VOICE footnote

The Lord’s response to Jeremiah’s prayer begins in verse 27 and goes through the end of the chapter. As the Lord responds to Jeremiah’s inquiries, He seeks to bring peace to Jeremiah’s troubled heart and mind. He reminds Jeremiah that He, Adonai the God of Israel, the Eternal One, The Lord over all mankind, will bring about justice and restoration. God’s Message begins with an affirmation of His power and ability:

“Then the Eternal spoke to Jeremiah. Eternal One: “Look! I am the Eternal, the God of all living things. Is anything too difficult for Me?” -(VOICE)

It is good for us to read how the Lord spoke to and comforted Jeremiah in his time of doubt. The Lord did not get angry with him, berate him, turn His back on him or shame him. Instead, we find the Lord speaking quietly to Jeremiah, (remember, that still, small Voice). And the Lord’s response to Jeremiah’s prayer began with the Lord stating that He was the God of every living thing. He maintained control. He was/is Sovereign over all. He attests to the fact that He is lekhol lero’sh, Hebrew for the “Head over all.” We find this truth, of God’s Universal rule, given to us back in 1 Chronicles:

“Yours, Adonai, is the greatness, the power, the glory, the victory and the majesty; for everything in heaven and on earth is yours. The kingdom is yours, Adonai; and you are exalted as head over all.” -1 Chronicles 29:11 (Complete Jewish Bible)

We also find the Lord repeating Jeremiah’s question verbatim back to him: “Is there anything too hard for me?” -(Complete Jewish Bible)

If Adonai is the Creator, Sovereign, Lekhol lero’sh, is anything too difficult for Him? If the Lord, the Eternal One, is who He says He is, does He not deserve our obedience? Of course He does! He, who is faithful and true, who keeps all of His promises, is worthy of all glory, honor, and praise!

“Then this message came to Jeremiah: I am the Lord, the God of all mankind; is there anything too hard for me?” -(TLB)

“The Lord began His reply by affirming His universal deity and the fact that indeed nothing is too difficult for Him. By restating Jeremiah’s statement back to him as a question, the Lord was asking if he really believed it.” ~Thomas Constable

Scripture reminds us that the Lord is Sovereign, Head over all, in both the Old Testament and the New.

Old Testament:

“The Eternal has established His throne up in the heavens. He rules over every seen and unseen realm and creature.” -Psalm 103 :19 (VOICE)

“I form light and create darkness; I make what is good, happy, and healthy, and I create woe. I, the Eternal One, make them one and all. Skies above, open up and let the clouds rain down righteousness! Let the earth below sprout triumph and justice. For I, the Eternal, have created them. How bad it will be for anyone who disputes with the very One who created him! After all, a human being is nothing more than one clay pot among many. Imagine the clay saying to the potter, “What do you think you’re doing?” or “You don’t have the hands for this.” -Isaiah 45:7-9 (VOICE)

“From the beginning I declare how things will end; from times long past, I tell what is yet to be, saying: “My intentions will come to pass. I will make things happen as I determine they should.” -Isaiah 46:10 (VOICE)

New Testament:

“For all that exists originates in Him, comes through Him, and is moving toward Him; so give Him the glory forever. Amen.” -Romans 11:36 (VOICE)

“It was by Him that everything was created: the heavens, the earth, all things within and upon them, all things seen and unseen, thrones and dominions, spiritual powers and authorities. Every detail was crafted through His design, by His own hands, and for His purposes. He has always been! It is His hand that holds everything together.” -Colossians 1:16-17 (VOICE)

“Worthy are You, O Lord; worthy are You, O God, to receive glory and honor and power. You alone created all things, and through Your will and by Your design, they exist and were created.” -Revelation 4:11 (VOICE)

“And I heard what seemed to be an immense crowd speaking with one voice—it was like the sound of a roaring waterfall, like the sound of clashing thunder. Multitude (in unison): “Praise the Lord! For the Lord our God, the All Powerful, reigns supreme. Now is the time for joy and happiness. He deserves all the glory we can give Him. For the wedding feast has begun; the marriage of the Lamb to His bride has commenced, and His bride has prepared herself for this glorious day.” -Revelation 19:6-7 (VOICE)

“Although the sovereignty of God is universal and absolute, it is not the sovereignty of blind power. It is coupled with infinite wisdom, holiness and love. And this doctrine, when properly understood, is a most comforting and reassuring one. Who would not prefer to have his affairs in the hands of a God of infinite power, wisdom, holiness and love, rather than to have them left to fate, or chance, or irrevocable natural law, or to short-sighted and perverted self? Those who reject God’s sovereignty should consider what alternatives they have left.” ~Loraine Boettner

My friend, the Lord is Head over all, Sovereign. He is in control of everything. Nothing happens by accident in our lives. And nothing is too difficult for Him. Just as His still, small Voice whispered to Jeremiah, “Is there anything too hard for me?”, He whispers the same to us. Will you take Him at His Word? Will you trust Him? God says to us: “For I know what plans I have in mind for you,’ says Adonai,‘ plans for well-being, not for bad things; so that you can have hope and a future.” -(CJB) He deserves not only our obedience, but all glory, honor and praise.

“I generally say that there are four ways that God is sovereign. He is sovereign over nature. He is sovereign over history and human affairs. And He is sovereign in His inherent right to impose obligations on His creatures, to say to them, “Thou shalt not do this” and “Thou shalt do that.” Do we believe that He has that sovereignty, that right to command obedience from us and impose obligations on us?” ~R. C. Sproul

My Prayer:

Adonai Elohim, my Great Lord, you alone are Sovereign, Head over all. There are times that this Truth slips my mind, especially when I am surrounded by a storm. Forgive me, Lord. I know who you are. You have demonstrated your power and abilities to me in the past. I know that nothing is too difficult for you, but there are times that I give a foothold to the doubts. Help me to be confident in who you are. Help my trust and faith to grow stronger. Remind me to keep my eyes on you and not on the storm that rages around me. You are my Hope and my Salvation, and you deserve my obedience, and all glory, honor and praise. Thank you for being who you are, Lord, I pledge my allegiance to you.