When God Speaks, Listen – Jeremiah 32:6-8

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Jeremiah 32:6-8 (NIV)

“Jeremiah said, “The word of the Lord came to me: Hanamel son of Shallum your uncle is going to come to you and say, ‘Buy my field at Anathoth, because as nearest relative it is your right and duty to buy it.’ “Then, just as the Lord had said, my cousin Hanamel came to me in the courtyard of the guard and said, ‘Buy my field at Anathoth in the territory of Benjamin. Since it is your right to redeem it and possess it, buy it for yourself.’ “I knew that this was the word of the Lord…”

Jeremiah 32:6-8 (MSG)

“Jeremiah said, “God’s Message came to me like this: Prepare yourself! Hanamel, your uncle Shallum’s son, is on his way to see you. He is going to say, ‘Buy my field in Anathoth. You have the legal right to buy it.’ “And sure enough, just as God had said, my cousin Hanamel came to me while I was in jail and said, ‘Buy my field in Anathoth in the territory of Benjamin, for you have the legal right to keep it in the family. Buy it. Take it over.’ “That did it. I knew it was God’s Message.”

*****************************************

“And Jeremiah [answered King Zedekiah and] said, “The word of the Lord came to me, saying, ‘Behold (listen carefully), Hanamel the son of Shallum your uncle is coming to you, saying, “Buy my field that is in Anathoth, for you have the right of redemption to buy it [in accordance with the law].”’ Then Hanamel my uncle’s son came to me in the court of the guard in accordance with the word of the Lord, and he said to me, ‘Please buy my field that is at Anathoth, which is in the land of Benjamin, for you have the right of inheritance and the redemption is yours; buy it for yourself.’ Then I knew that this was the word of the Lord.” -AMPLIFIED

“This was the word of the Lord. — It was by his appointment that I was to make this purchase. The whole was designed as a symbolical act, to show the people that there would be a return from Babylon, that each family should re-enter on its former possessions, and that a man might safely purchase on the certainty of this event.” ~Adam Clarke

Zedekiah has taken issue with Jeremiah and the Messages from the Lord that he has been delivering. Because of this, Zedekiah arrested him, keeping Jeremiah imprisoned within the palace courtyard, under guard at all times. As we looked at yesterday’s text, we were reminded that God will deal with our persecutors, as He eventually dealt with Zedekiah.

“He will take Zedekiah to Babylon, where he will stay until I attend to him—this is the Lord’s declaration. For you will fight the Chaldeans, but you will not succeed.’” -Jeremiah 32:5 (CSB)

We now find Jeremiah sharing with Zedekiah some pertinent information. We need to remember that the book of Jeremiah is not in chronological order. So, as we look at this passage, we will be referring to verses further along in the book for guidance and information.

Jeremiah explains the need to Zedekiah for listening to God in obedience and why we should do as He says.

Jeremiah (to Zedekiah): The message of the Eternal came to me through my cousin: “Look! Hanamel (son of Shallum, your uncle), is going to come to you and say, ‘Buy my field at Anathoth; as my nearest relative, it is your right to buy it before I offer it to anyone else. It is also your duty to keep it in the family.’” And just as He had predicted, my cousin Hanamel came to me while I was being held in the court of the guard. He said, “Jeremiah, buy my field in your hometown of Anathoth, in the land of Benjamin. It’s your right to buy and redeem it so that it stays in our family.” Then I realized this message was from the Eternal.” -(VOICE)

Background:

“When the Chaldean army pulled back from Jerusalem, Jeremiah left Jerusalem to go over to the territory of Benjamin to take care of some personal business. When he got to the Benjamin Gate, the officer on guard there, Irijah son of Shelemiah, son of Hananiah, grabbed Jeremiah the prophet, accusing him, “You’re deserting to the Chaldeans!” “That’s a lie,” protested Jeremiah. “I wouldn’t think of deserting to the Chaldeans.” But Irijah wouldn’t listen to him. He arrested him and took him to the police. The police were furious with Jeremiah. They beat him up and threw him into jail in the house of Jonathan the secretary of state. (They were using the house for a prison cell.) So Jeremiah entered an underground cell in a cistern turned into a dungeon. He stayed there a long time. Later King Zedekiah had Jeremiah brought to him. The king questioned him privately, “Is there a Message from God?” “There certainly is,” said Jeremiah. “You’re going to be turned over to the king of Babylon.” Jeremiah continued speaking to King Zedekiah: “Can you tell me why you threw me into prison? What crime did I commit against you or your officials or this people? And tell me, whatever has become of your prophets who preached all those sermons saying that the king of Babylon would never attack you or this land? Listen to me, please, my master—my king! Please don’t send me back to that dungeon in the house of Jonathan the secretary. I’ll die there!” So King Zedekiah ordered that Jeremiah be assigned to the courtyard of the palace guards. He was given a loaf of bread from Bakers’ Alley every day until all the bread in the city was gone. And that’s where Jeremiah remained—in the courtyard of the palace guards.” -Jeremiah 37:11-21(MSG)

Jeremiah’s relative, Hanamel had a piece of property in Anathoth, Jeremiah’s hometown, that he wished to sell to Jeremiah. Jeremiah was headed that way to take care of business when Irijah arrested him, accusing Jeremiah of being a traitor. In today’s passage we find the Lord informing Jeremiah that he will have a visitor, Hanamel, (apparently, he was allowed to receive visitors). And things happen exactly as the Lord had told Jeremiah they would. (When God speaks, we need to listen.)

So, Hanamel comes to Jeremiah and asks him to buy this piece of property, which was in accordance with the Law of Redemption found in Leviticus. There the Lord instructed the Israelites in this way: “You are not allowed to sell the land in perpetuity because it isn’t actually yours. The land belongs to Me. You will always be strangers and outsiders living in My land. So every plot of ground you possess carries a “right of redemption.” If your fellow citizen becomes so impoverished that he has no choice but to sell off a portion of his land, then his nearest family relation is to buy back the portion sold for him. If a man doesn’t have any relatives but finds a way to earn the money to redeem his land himself, then he will buy it back from the man who bought the land from him, less the profit the buyer would have made in the years since he leased it; then the original owner can go back to live on his land. But if a man does not earn or find the money he needs to buy back his land, then the man who leased the land will keep it until the year of jubilee. When the year of jubilee arrives, the land will return to the possession of its original owner.” -Leviticus 25:23-28 (VOICE)

What was the point of buying a piece of land if the Babylonians were going to conquer the land and take everything? The point was this, God had promised that the people would return to their homes in 70 years, back in chapter 29, and they needed to be thinking ahead. They needed to be considering and planning for their future. So, when the Lord spoke to Jeremiah, informing him that his cousin was coming to him to make this transaction, Jeremiah was ready. He had heard the Word of the Lord, and he was obedient to it.

“Then I knew that this was the word of the Lord; when I saw it came to pass, knowing that God alone knew what was in men’s hearts, told what they would do, I knew my former mentioned revelation was from God.” ~Matthew Poole

“Then this message from the Lord came to Jeremiah: Your cousin Hanamel (son of Shallum) will soon arrive to ask you to buy the farm he owns in Anathoth, for by law you have a chance to buy before it is offered to anyone else. So Hanamel came, as the Lord had said he would, and visited me in the prison. “Buy my field in Anathoth, in the land of Benjamin,” he said, “for the law gives you the first right to purchase it.” Then I knew for sure that the message I had heard was really from the Lord.” -(TLB)

“Jeremiah bought the land when no one else would because he knew that this was the word of the LORD: “It would seem that the word of Jehovah came to him as an impression, as it so often comes to us. We often have impressions which seem to be from the Lord. Let us rest assured that what He commands He will make possible. When the call is followed by the open door, we need have no hesitation.” ~G. Campbell Morgan

Jeremiah heard the Word of the Lord and he not only listened, but he also obeyed. We need to do the same. Scripture instructs us to do so, saying to us:

  • “Pay attention! Listen well; take care to hear my words.” -Isaiah 28:23 (VOICE)
  • “So now listen to me, my children: those who live by my ways will find true happiness. Pay attention to my guidance, dare to be wise, and don’t disregard my teachings. The one who listens to me, who carefully seeks me in everyday things and delays action until my way is apparent, that one will find true happiness. For when he recognizes and follows me, he finds a peaceful and satisfying life and receives favor from the Eternal. But heed my warning: the one who goes against me will only hurt himself, for all who despise me are playing with fire and courting death.” -Proverbs 8:32-36 (VOICE)
  • “The one who loves Me will do the things I have commanded. My Father loves everyone who loves Me; and I will love you and reveal My heart, will, and nature to you.” -John 14:21 (VOICE)
  • “But if someone responds to and obeys His word, then God’s love has truly taken root and filled him. This is how we know we are in an intimate relationship with Him: anyone who says, “I live in intimacy with Him,” should walk the path Jesus walked.” -1 John 2:5-6 (VOICE)
  • “Now pay attention; I am standing at the door and knocking. If any of you hear My voice and open the door, then I will come in to visit with you and to share a meal at your table, and you will be with Me. The one who conquers through faithfulness even unto death I will place next to Me on My throne, just as I Myself conquered and took a place of honor with My Father on His throne. Let the person who is able to hear, listen to and follow what the Spirit proclaims to all the churches.” -Revelation 3:20-22 (VOICE)

“God speaks to those who take time to listen, and He listens to those who take time to pray.” ~Our Daily Bread Campus Journal

My friend, God is still speaking to His children. The question is, are we listening? And if we are listening, will we choose to obey? Remember, His intentions are for our good. He is standing at the door of our hearts knocking. Will you listen? Will you respond in obedience to His still, small Voice?

“God still speaks through the Holy Spirit. The question is, are we listening? Do we desire to hear His voice over our own voice? Most of us are moving 100 miles per hour throughout the day, but are we willing to stop everything to get alone with Him to listen to Him?” ~Ashley Evans

My Prayer:

Adonai Elohim, my Great Lord, I have heard your still, small Voice speaking to my heart. And I must confess, sometimes I am quick to obey, and other times I am not. Please forgive me. When I hear you knocking at the door of my heart, help me to be quick to open the door and invite you in, to take the time to listen and obey. I do not want to miss out on your blessings because I was too busy, or too stubborn to listen and obey. Lord, I do love you. I want you to see my love for you in my actions, not just my words. In faith I am asking for you help today, as I choose to listen and obey. Thank you, Lord.