Who Will Comfort You? – Isaiah 51:19

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 51:19 (NIV)

“These double calamities have come upon you—who can comfort you?—ruin and destruction, famine and sword—who can console you?

Isaiah 51:19 (MSG)

“You’ve been hit with a double dose of trouble—does anyone care? Assault and battery, hunger and death—will anyone comfort?”

**********************************

“These two tragedies have befallen you; Who will show sympathy for you and mourn with you? The desolation and destruction [on the land and city], famine and sword [on the inhabitants]; How shall I comfort you?” -AMPLIFIED

“You may readily judge whether you are a child of God or a hypocrite by seeing in what direction your soul turns in seasons of severe trial. The hypocrite flies to the world and finds a sort of comfort there. But the child of God runs to his Father and expects consolation only from the Lord’s hand.” ~Charles Spurgeon

In yesterday’s text we found God asking Israel, “Who will be your guide, for you have no one left to lead you?”

“There are none of Zion’s children left, none to guide her home and take her by the hand,
    none among all the children she has raised.” -Isaiah 51:18 (The Passion Translation)

After doing some digging into the Word, we learned this was a rhetorical question from God, for He had promised to be Israel’s guide, just as He has promised to be ours.

In today’s text, we find God asking another rhetorical question, “Who will comfort you?” We will find as we begin to dig into God’s Word, that, of course, He will be our Comforter. Adonai says to Israel:

“Twin disasters have befallen you: devastation and destruction, famine and war. Who can relieve your anguish and pain? Who is left to provide comfort?” -(VOICE)

God says, calamities and troubles have come to Israel two by two. First there was ruin and ·disaster, destruction. Then there was great hunger, famine, and fighting, sword fighting.

“That is, desolation by famine, and destruction by the sword, taking the terms alternately.” ~Clark’s Commentary

Remember this admonishment: “You drank from the cup in Yahweh’s hand. That cup was filled with his anger. You drank from the bowl, the cup that makes people stagger, and you drained it!” -Isaiah 51:17b (NOG)

Catastrophes have fallen over and over again upon Israel. Have they come to the end of themselves yet? Are they willing to accept comfort from their Comforter, and sympathy from the One who loves them best?

“These two things have been your lot: desolation and destruction. Yes, famine and the sword. And who is left to sympathize? Who is left to comfort you?” -(TLB)

“Through many dangers, toils and snares, I have already come; ‘Tis grace has brought me safe thus far and grace will lead me home.” ~John Newton

Remember back a few verses, we found Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, giving Israel this bit of advice:

“I, yes I, am the one who comforts you! Why are you afraid of a man, who must die; of a human being, who will wither like grass?” -Isaiah 51:12 (Complete Jewish Bible)

If we look back to chapter 49 of Isaiah, we find the heavens and the earth being instructed to praise the Lord, because Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, has comforted His people.

“Sing for joy, O heavens; shout, O earth. Break forth with song, O mountains, for the Lord has comforted his people and will have compassion upon them in their sorrow.” -Isaiah 49:13 (TLB)

In the New Testament, we find Peter writing in his first epistle of the need for us to humble ourselves before Almighty God, for in due time He will lift us up. Peter also reminds us that God cares for us deeply, and part of His nature is to bring comfort to those who need comforting. Peter writes:

“Therefore, humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, so that at the right time he may lift you up. Throw all your anxieties upon him, because he cares about you.” -1 Peter 5:6-7 (Complete Jewish Bible)

David understood where his comfort came from, God. Mind you, David was no stranger to troubles and calamities, his life had its fair share. Yet, David still was able to write these words:

“The Lord is my Shepherd [to feed, to guide and to shield me],
I shall not want. He lets me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still and quiet waters.
He refreshes and restores my soul (life); He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. Even though I walk through the [sunless] valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me;
Your rod [to protect] and Your staff [to guide], they comfort and console me.
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You have anointed and refreshed my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and mercy and unfailing love shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell forever [throughout all my days] in the house and in the presence of the Lord.” -Psalm 23 (AMP)

“You don’t have to be alone in your hurt! Comfort is yours. Joy is an option. And it’s all been made possible by your Savior. He went without comfort so you might have it. He postponed joy so you might share in it. He willingly chose isolation so you might never be alone in your hurt and sorrow.” ~Joni Eareckson Tada

My friend, Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, is to be our Comforter. He is the One we should be running to when we are hurting and in need, when we are lonely and needing a shoulder to lean on. He is the One constant in our lives. David reminds us that when we are walking through the darkest moments of our lives, God is the One who comforts and consoles us. He is also the One who will lead and guide us to the place where our feet need to walk. All because of His mercy and love that runs deep for each of us.

“Snuggle in God’s arms. When you are hurting, when you feel lonely, left out. let Him cradle you, comfort you, reassure you of His all-sufficient power and love.” ~Kay Arthur

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, your Word tells me that you are the Comforter. Lord, I need your comfort and peace right now. The world around me seems to be falling apart. Everything seems to be chaotic and crazy. Help me to remember to keep my focus on you, Lord. I humbly ask that you fill my heart and mind with your peace that passes human understanding. I thank you, Lord, for the comfort and peace that you have promised me as I walk through this valley of the shadow of death. Lord, I choose to take you at your Word, and I will praise you in the middle of the storm. For I know, nothing can separate me from your love, and I am counting on you to bring me through safely to the other side. Lord, I am trusting in you. ❤

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.