Our Hiding Place – Isaiah 51:15-16

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 51:15-16 (NIV)

“For I am the Lord your God, who stirs up the sea so that its waves roar—the Lord Almighty is his name. I have put my words in your mouth and covered you with the shadow of my hand—I who set the heavens in place, who laid the foundations of the earth, and who say to Zion, ‘You are my people.’””

Isaiah 51:15-16 (MSG)

“For I am God, your very own God, who stirs up the sea and whips up the waves, named God-of-the-Angel-Armies. I teach you how to talk, word by word, and personally watch over you, even while I’m unfurling the skies, setting earth on solid foundations, and greeting Zion: ‘Welcome, my people!’”

********************************************

“For I am the Lord your God, who stirs up the sea so that its waves roar—the Lord of hosts is His name. I have put My words in your mouth and have covered you with the shadow of My hand, to establish the [renewed] heavens and lay the foundations of the [renewed] earth, and to say to Zion (Jerusalem), ‘You are My people.’” -AMPLIFIED

“Whenever the world gives you trouble, problems, or makes you afraid put God’s promises in your heart. You don’t need to fear, the Lord is always with you. For Christians, God is our secret immovable hiding place. He is our special fortress and whenever life overwhelms us, we can always run to Him. Draw near to Him and He will draw near to you as well. Hide in His comfort and encouragement. Seek Him through prayer and keep your mind on Him because God’s presence is near, and you’re protected.” ~Fritz Cherry

We Are Hidden in the Hollow of His Hand

Yesterday’s text reminded us that nothing is too difficult for God.

“Those who are suffering will soon be released. They will not die in their dark dungeon,
    nor will they go hungry.” -Isaiah 51:14 (The Passion Translation)

In today’s passage, we find Adonai reminding Israel that He truly is their God, and they truly are His people.

“Because I, the Eternal, am your God, I can make the oceans roil with storm and roll with great waves. They call Me, the Eternal, Commander of heavenly armies. I have given you My words to speak and protected you with the shadow of My hand. I am the One who pulled the skies tight and made the earth rock solid. And I am the same who said to Zion, “You are indeed Mine!”” -(VOICE)

If Israel ever wondered if their God was capable of freeing them and returning them home, He sets their concerns to rest quickly.

First, we find Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, once again reminding Israel of things He has done for then the past. Case in point: making a dry pathway for them to walk through the Red Sea, on dry land, while the waves continued to roar around them. David’s reference to walking though the Valley of the Shadow of Death could certainly be applied here:

“Even in the unending shadows of death’s darkness, I am not overcome by fear.
Because You are with me in those dark moments, near with Your protection and guidance,
    I am comforted.” -Psalm 23:4 (VOICE)

Second, we find Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, reminding Israel that He will give them the words to speak. We can turn to Moses’ example and what God told him when he made the excuse that he could not lead Israel because he was not a good speaker. Here is the account and God’s response to Moses:

Moses: Please, Lord, I am not a talented speaker. I have never been good with words. I wasn’t when I was younger and I haven’t gotten any better since You revealed Yourself to me. I stutter and stammer. My words get all twisted. Eternal One: Who is it that gives a person a mouth? Who determines whether one person speaks and another doesn’t? Why is it that one person hears and another doesn’t? And why can one person see and another doesn’t? Isn’t it because of Me, the Eternal? You know it is.  Go now, and I will be there to give you the words to speak; I will tell you what to say.” -Exodus 4:10-12 (VOICE)

Thirdly, we find Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, telling Israel that He would protect and shadow them personally. Again, we can turn to Moses, and find the account of God covering Moses with the shadow of His hand. Here is the account:

Moses (to the Lord): Look, You tell me, “Lead these people!” but You haven’t yet told me whom You will send to accompany me. Yet You tell me, “I know you by name, and you have gained My trust and blessing.” If I have gained Your trust and blessing, reveal Your way to me so that I can truly know You, and so that I may gain Your favor. Remember that this nation is Your covenant people. Eternal One: My presence will travel with you, and I will give you rest. Moses: If Your presence doesn’t travel with me, then don’t lead us away from here. How will the people know that I have gained Your trust and blessing if You do not travel with us? Isn’t it the very fact that Your presence travels with us that distinguishes us from every other people on earth? Eternal One: I will do what you have said because you have gained My trust and blessing, and I know you by name. Moses: If Your presence will go with us, then let me see Your glory! Eternal One: I will cause all My goodness to pass before you, and I will declare My name, the Eternal One, before you. I will show mercy to whomever I choose to show mercy, and I will demonstrate compassion on whomever I choose to have compassion. You cannot see My face, for no one can see Me and live. Look, there is a place next to Me on the rock where you may stand. While My glory is passing by you, I will place you in a large crevice of the rock and hide you beneath My hand until I have completely passed by. Then I will remove My hand, and you will see only My back. But you won’t be able to see My face.” -Exodus 33:12-23 (VOICE)

Fourthly, we find Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, reminding Israel that it was He who established the universe, reminding them that nothing is too difficult for Him.

And finally, we find Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, declaring His ownership of Israel: “You are indeed Mine!”

“For I am the Lord your God, the Lord Almighty, who dried a path for you right through the sea, between the roaring waves. And I have put my words in your mouth and hidden you safe within my hand. I planted the stars in place and molded all the earth. I am the one who says to Israel, “You are mine.”” -(TLB)

“The phrase I have covered you with the shadow of My hand reminds us of how God covered Moses with His hand, as Moses hid in the rock and the LORD made His glory to pass before Moses.” ~David Guzik

My friend, God has promised to be our Hiding Place. He will protect us with the shadow of His hand, just as He demonstrated to Moses. He reminds us today that He is our God, Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, and we are His people. Trust Him. He has guided you through the roaring sea before, He can do it again. Remember, He is the Solid Rock, and He is our Hiding Place.

“You are my hiding place from every storm of life; you even keep me from getting into trouble! You surround me with songs of victory.” ~David (Psalm 32:7 TLB)

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, thank you for being my God, my Hiding Place, my Solid Rock. When I am afraid and feeling overwhelmed, remind me, Lord, to run to you. For you will protect me, you will shelter me with the shadow of your hand. In those times that seem to pull me under the waves, remind me that you are the Creator of those waves, and you have complete control over them. You will keep me from getting into trouble. You will surround me with your songs of victory. Lord, I am trusting you.