Why Do You Fear? – Isaiah 51:12

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 51:12 (NIV)

“I, even I, am he who comforts you. Who are you that you fear mere mortals, human beings who are but grass,…”

Isaiah 51:12 (MSG)

“I, I’m the One comforting you. What are you afraid of—or who? Some man or woman who’ll soon be dead? Some poor wretch destined for dust?”

*******************************************

“I, even I, am He who comforts you. Who are you that you are afraid of man who dies and of a son of man who is made [as destructible] as grass,…” -AMPLIFIED

“God reassures Israel with the reply that he is the Creator, the eternal one. Israel’s enemies, by contrast, are merely creatures, who one day must die. Israel has no need, therefore, to fear Babylon’s might and fury.” ~Bridgeway Bible Commentary

Yesterday we found God encouraging Israel to look forward expectantly. We find this prediction, the redeemed of the Lord will return to Zion with joyful singing. At that time there will no longer be sorrow and sadness, but they will be filled with happiness and joy.

“Do it again! Those Yahweh has set free will return to Zion and come celebrating with songs of joy!
    They will be crowned with never-ending joy! Gladness and joy will overwhelm them;
    despair and depression will disappear!” -Isaiah 51:11 (The Passion Translation)

In today’s passage, we find Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, once again admonishing Israel to not fear mortal man. He reminds them that He is their Comforter, and the Giver of peace.

“It is only the fear of God that can deliver us from the fear of man.” ~John Witherspoon

“Eternal One: I am the One who comforts you and gives you peace. So why are you afraid of human beings? The children of men are only grass; they’ll wither and die.” -(VOICE)

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, is speaking these words to the people of Israel. He wants them to remember that their Comforter, their Peace-Giver is eternal, and man, man is like the grass and the flowers, here today, and gone tomorrow. Respect with holy fear, reverence, the One who really matters, God.

Let us learn from Isaiah’s experience, which he recorded for us, his encounter with God, and God’s warning to him:

“The Lord spoke to me with his great power and warned me not to follow the lead of the rest of the people. He said, “People are saying that others make plans against them, but you should not believe them. Don’t be afraid of what they fear; do not dread those things. But remember that the Lord All-Powerful is holy. He is the one you should fear; he is the one you should dread.” -Isaiah 8:11-13 (New Century Version)

Let us also remember something that Isaiah recorded back in chapter 40, a prediction of “the Voice in the wilderness”, John the Baptist. God told Isaiah to write these words, which the Voice in the Wilderness would deliver to God’s people:

“A voice says, “Declare!” But what shall I declare? All life is like the grass.
All of its grace and beauty fades like the wild flowers in a field. The grass withers, the flower fades as the breath of the Eternal One blows away. People are no different from grass. The grass withers, the flower fades; nothing lasts except the word of our God. It will stand forever.” -Isaiah 40:6-8 (VOICE)

Do not fear man, fear God.

“I, even I, am he who comforts you and gives you all this joy. So what right have you to fear mere mortal men, who wither like the grass and disappear?” -(TLB)

“Who are you that you should be afraid of a man who will die: With promises this glorious, and a God this mighty, we have no reason to fear man. Man can never undo God’s plan for our lives. Compared to the great power of God, they are like grass.” ~David Guzik

Throughout Scripture we can find a reoccurring thread or thought concerning fearing man. It is this: “Trust God, and do not fear man.”

In fact, Solomon, in his wisdom, wrote these words which we need to learn and take to heart:

“Being afraid of people can get you into trouble, but if you trust the Lord, you will be safe.” -Proverbs 29:25 (New Century Version)

David penned these words:

“But when I am afraid, I will put my confidence in you. Yes, I will trust the promises of God. And since I am trusting him, what can mere man do to me?” -Psalm 56:3-4 (TLB)

The writer of Psalm 118 said it this way:

“The Lord is on my side; I will not fear. What can [mere] man do to me?” -Psalm 118:6 (AMP)

The Apostle Paul reminds us that if God is with us, we have nothing to fear:

“In view of all this, what can we say? If God is for us, who can be against us?” -Romans 8:31 (Good News Translation)

The writer of Hebrews also encourages us to not fear man:

“That is why we can say without any doubt or fear, “The Lord is my Helper, and I am not afraid of anything that mere man can do to me.” -Hebrews 13:6 (TLB)

I close reminding you of something that Paul told Timothy:

“For the Holy Spirit, God’s gift, does not want you to be afraid of people, but to be wise and strong, and to love them and enjoy being with them.” -2 Timothy 1:7 (TLB)

“You see, God did not give us a cowardly spirit but a powerful, loving, and disciplined spirit.” -2 Timothy 1:7 (VOICE)

“God did not give us a spirit that makes us afraid. He gave us a spirit of power and love and self-control.” -2 Timothy 1:7 (ICB)

“Fear of man is the enemy of the fear of the Lord. The fear of man pushes us to perform for man’s approval rather than according to God’s directives.”  ~Paul Chappell

My friend, what is our takeaway from today’s passage? It is simply this, do not fear man, who is here today and gone tomorrow, instead fear and trust God who is eternal. It is His opinion of us that matters, not other peoples. In the end, our destiny lies in His hands, for He alone is Sovereign. Remember too, He is our Comforter, and the Giver of Peace.

“The remarkable thing about God is that when you fear God, you fear nothing else, whereas if you do not fear God, you fear everything else.” ~Oswald Chambers

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, forgive me for those times that I have feared others, what they will say, what they will do to me. Your Word reminds me that I should not fear mere man, but you, the Eternal God. I ask that you fill my heart with a holy fear, and reverence for you, the God of the Universe, the Sovereign One, my Comforter and my Peace-Giver. I choose to trust you, Lord, and no longer fear people. Help me, over the course of my day, to remember my commitment to you, and remind me that you are always with me, and I have nothing to fear with you by my side. For you are greater, stronger, and awesome in your mighty power. I am so glad you stand with me, Lord. Thank you, I will trust you and fear no more.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.