Looking Forward Expectantly-Isaiah 51:11

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 51:11 (NIV)

“Those the Lord has rescued will return. They will enter Zion with singing; everlasting joy will crown their heads. Gladness and joy will overtake them, and sorrow and sighing will flee away.”

Isaiah 51:11 (MSG)

“In the same way God’s ransomed will come back, come back to Zion cheering, shouting, Joy eternal wreathing their heads, exuberant ecstasies transporting them—and not a sign of moans or groans.”

*********************************************

“So the redeemed of the Lord will return and come with joyful shouting to Zion; everlasting joy will be on their heads. They will obtain gladness and joy, and sorrow and sighing will flee away.” -AMPLIFIED

“So the ransomed of the LORD shall return, and come to Zion with singing: With every enemy defeated, and every obstacle taken care of, God’s people are restored. This is another promise with both a near and an ultimate fulfillment.” ~David Guzik

In yesterday’s passage, we found Israel crying out to God, asking, “Where are you, God?” And asking if He had done great things in the past, could He not do them again?

“Awake, God, awake! Arm of Yahweh, put on your robe of strength! Awake and do the works of power as in ancient days, as in generations past! Wasn’t it you who smashed the sea monster to pieces,
who pierced the dragon in generations long ago? Wasn’t it you who dried up the Red Sea with its deep waters and made a path through the sea to rescue your redeemed?” -Isaiah 51:9-10 (The Passion Translation)

In today’s passage we find God instructing the Israelites to be looking expectantly to a new age. A time when sorrow and sadness will be banished. A time when they will once again live in Zion in contentment and peace.

NOTE: Today’s text is identical to Isaiah 35:10.

It’ll be like that for those the Eternal One ransomed from captivity to return to Zion, Jerusalem. And they’ll come singing with joy. Overwhelming, never-ending joy will crown their heads with happiness and delight while desperation and depression melt away.” -(VOICE)

Adonai says to Israel: “The ransomed, and the redeemed will soon be home again.”

Ransom: A price paid to provide for the release of someone who is in captivity, punishment, suffering, or under an obligation. 

Redeemed: To purchase back, or ransom, to liberate, rescue, or set free.

God will do the ransoming and redeeming. He will bring His people safely back to their home. And when He does, then they will return to Jerusalem filled with joy and gladness. They will be ecstatic, and overwhelmed, and feeling extremely blessed. So much so, that they will return to Jerusalem singing His praises. At that time, they will no longer struggle with depression, and sadness. All their sorrow and grief will have been lifted by Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, personally.

“The time will come when God’s redeemed will all come home again. They shall come with singing to Jerusalem, filled with joy and everlasting gladness; sorrow and mourning will all disappear.” -(TLB)

“The sorrows and the sighing come because of sins, because of wickedness, because of ridicule and reproach, and because of not getting very far, because of waiting for the Lord through hard times, through all kinds of afflictions and the refiners fire. And finally, there comes a turn-around, and that sadness turns to gladness; sorrow to joy. It almost seems like right up the last minute things don’t look good. The Lord has to empower His servant just before the exodus in order to bring this exodus about, but before that time he and his followers are going through hell. They’re meeting with opposition and reproach from all sides. But then comes that turn-around; then comes that reversal of their circumstances that the wicked never expected.” ~Avraham Gileadi

Over in the book of Jeremiah we find another disclosure of what will happen when God ransoms and redeems His people.

“I, the Eternal, have this to say: Look, I will bring back those from captivity.
        I will show mercy to Jacob’s tents and dwellings; from the ruins I will rebuild Jerusalem,
        and the palace will once again stand where it belongs.
Songs of joy and gratitude will rise from the people. I will bless My people and increase their numbers; nothing will diminish them. I will honor them in the presence of others; no one will despise them.
Their children will live as they did long ago, their community will be established again before My watchful eyes, and I will punish anyone who tries to harm them.
The prince who leads them will come from among Jacob’s descendants; their ruler will be one of their own. I will draw him near to Me, and he will delight to come close, for he will devote himself to remain close by My side.” -Jeremiah 30:18-21 (VOICE)

Israel had to endure a time of punishment, a consequence from their poor choices, but God did not abandon them, He did not forget them. He promised that once they had changed their hearts, and their ways, He would return them home. And we will see that He always keeps His promises.

“Don’t give up, on the brink of your miracle
Don’t give in, God is still on the throne
Don’t give up, you’re on the brink of your miracle
Don’t give up, remember you’re not alone
Don’t give up, remember you’re not alone” ~Tammy Baker (Don’t Give Up On The Brink)

David understood what it was to go through difficult times. And he reminds us of the importance of praising God even in the hard times. For weeping may last for the night, but joy comes in the morning. David wrote:

“O sing and make melody, you steadfast lovers of God. Give thanks to him every time you reflect on his holiness! I’ve learned that his anger lasts for a moment, but his loving favor lasts a lifetime!
    We may weep through the night, but at daybreak it will turn into shouts of ecstatic joy.” -Psalm 30:4-5(The Passion Translation)

We too need to be looking forward expectantly. Paul told the Philippians that pressing on, straining to end his race, here on earth, in order that he could receive his prize.

“Brothers and sisters, I do not consider that I have made it my own yet; but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the [heavenly] prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” -Philippians 3:13-14 (AMP)

“When He returns is not as important as the fact that we are ready for Him when He does return.”
~A.W. Tozer

My friend, are you looking forward expectantly? Are you ready for Jesus’ return? Have you been pressing on, holding on to God’s promises? I hope so, but if not, today is the day to make things right with Him. No one is guaranteed tomorrow. Every Christian should be looking forward expectantly for the return of their Lord and King.

Battles are fought in our minds every day. When we begin to feel the battle is just too difficult and want to give up, we must choose to resist negative thoughts and be determined to rise above our problems. We must decide that we’re not going to quit. When we’re bombarded with doubts and fears, we must take a stand and say: ‘I’ll never give up! God’s on my side. He loves me, and He’s helping me! I’m going to make it!’”~ Joyce Meyer

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, I have to admit, I am not always looking forward expectantly. There are times that I get caught up in the chaos around me, and I get distracted from my ultimate goal. Please forgive me, Lord, I am sorry. Help me to keep my eyes focused on the goal. Help me to remember your promises, and that you are a Promise Keeper. Whatever you have promised me, you will do. Help me to also remember, that the trials of this life are just temporary. My weeping may last for the night, but your joy will come in the morning. The challenges of this life will be nothing compared to an eternity spent with you. Help me to always remember that Lord.