Lift Up Your Eyes – Isaiah 51:6

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 51:6 (NIV)

“Lift up your eyes to the heavens, look at the earth beneath; the heavens will vanish like smoke, the earth will wear out like a garment and its inhabitants die like flies. But my salvation will last forever, my righteousness will never fail.”

Isaiah 51:6 (MSG)

“Look up at the skies, ponder the earth under your feet. The skies will fade out like smoke, the earth will wear out like work pants, and the people will die off like flies. But my salvation will last forever, my setting-things-right will never be obsolete.”

***********************************************

“Lift up your eyes to the heavens, then look to the earth beneath; for the heavens will be torn to pieces and vanish like smoke, and the earth will wear out like a garment and its inhabitants will die in like manner. But My salvation will be forever, and My righteousness (justice) [and faithfully fulfilled promise] will not be broken.” -AMPLIFIED

“Through the dark and stormy night Faith beholds a feeble light Up the blackness streaking; Knowing God’s own time is best, In a patient hope I rest For the full day-breaking!” ~John Greenleaf Whittier

In yesterday’s passage we found God reminding Israel that His deliverance for them was near. God told them:

“My righteousness is coming closer, and my salvation has gone out. My mighty arms will govern the people. The islands will trust in me and put their hope in the unveiling of my might.” -Isaiah 51:5 (The Passion Translation)

Remember, Israel had lost all hope of ever being set free from Babylonian captivity. They had given in to discouragement and possibly even depression. They thought God had abandoned them, and He would not keep His promises made to them because they had sunk too low and messed up to badly. But God Message to them continues, and He tells them:

Don’t worry—look up at the sky and down at the earth. The sky will disappear like smoke; the earth will wear out like a well-used garment; every last thing may perish and dissolve, but My salvation is for all time. My justice will not end.” -(VOICE)

NOTE: Keep in mind that much of Isaiah speaks of the time of the Millennium reign and the time beyond. This passage alludes to that time.

God is reminding Israel that He has not forgotten them. He desires to instill hope and give them a boast of faith in Him. He reminds them once again to be looking expectantly for His deliverance; watch the skies, even keep your eyes on what is happening to the earth. He then gives them hints of what they need to be looking for:

“The sky will vanish like smoke. The earth will wear out like clothing, and those who live there will die like flies.” -(GW)

But we find Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, reminding Israel that His salvation will last forever, and His righteousness/goodness will never fail.

“But my salvation will continue forever. My goodness will never end.” -(ICB)

“Look high in the skies and watch the earth beneath, for the skies shall disappear like smoke, the earth shall wear out like a garment, and the people of the earth shall die like flies. But my salvation lasts forever; my righteous rule will never die nor end.” -(TLB)

“Why am I so overwrought? Why am I so disturbed? Why can’t I just hope in God?
    Despite all my emotions, I will believe and praise the One who saves me and is my life.” ~The sons of Korah (Psalm 42:5 VOICE)

The unknown writer of Psalm 102 wrote a prayer for those who were suffering discouragement and suffering. Some of his words echo what Isaiah has recorded for us in today’s passage. He wrote from the heart, holding nothing back, feeling overwhelmed, he complains to God:

“God has made me tired of living. He has cut short my life.
So I said, “My God, do not take me in the middle of my life. Your years go on and on.
In the beginning you made the earth. And your hands made the skies. They will be destroyed, but you will remain. They will all wear out like clothes. And, like clothes, you will change them. And they will be thrown away. But you never change. And your life will never end.
Our children will live in your presence. And their children will remain with you.” -Psalm 102:23-28 (ICB)

“The law works fear and wrath; grace works hope and mercy.” ~Martin Luther

Jesus, speaking to the crowds about the end times, gave them things to look for before it would happen. Why did He do that? He did not want them to give up hope. He was giving them signs to keep their eyes open to, so they would Know that His coming would be soon. He did not want them to be afraid, but prepared. Jesus told the crowds:

“When you see armies all around Jerusalem, you will know it will soon be destroyed. At that time, the people in Judea should run away to the mountains. The people in Jerusalem must get out, and those who are near the city should not go in. These are the days of punishment to bring about all that is written in the Scriptures. How terrible it will be for women who are pregnant or have nursing babies! Great trouble will come upon this land, and God will be angry with these people. They will be killed by the sword and taken as prisoners to all nations. Jerusalem will be crushed by non-Jewish people until their time is over. There will be signs in the sun, moon, and stars. On earth, nations will be afraid and confused because of the roar and fury of the sea. People will be so afraid they will faint, wondering what is happening to the world, because the powers of the heavens will be shaken. Then people will see the Son of Man coming in a cloud with power and great glory. When these things begin to happen, look up and hold your heads high, because the time when God will free you is near!” -Luke 21:20-28 (New Century Version)

“Without Christ there is no hope.” ~Charles Spurgeon

For some people, the end times sound scary, but the Christian has nothing to fear. We just need to remember God’s promises and hold on to our hope and faith in Him. Let us remember something that Isaiah recorded for us back in chapter 25, words of hope, and expectation. Words that will help us in those times that we feel like giving up, and discouragement is threatening us. Isaiah records this for us:

“On this mountain Adonai-Tzva’ot will make for all peoples a feast of rich food and superb wines,
delicious, rich food and superb, elegant wines. On this mountain he will destroy the veil which covers the face of all peoples, the veil enshrouding all the nations. He will swallow up death forever.
Adonai Elohim will wipe away the tears from every face, and he will remove from all the earth
the disgrace his people suffer. For Adonai has spoken. On that day they will say, “See! This is our God!
We waited for him to save us. This is Adonai ; we put our hope in him. We are full of joy, so glad he saved us!” -Isaiah 25:6-9 (Complete Jewish Bible)

“It is always darkest just before the day dawneth.” ~Thomas Fuller

My friend, are you experiencing discouragement and possibly even depression today? If so, lift up your eyes to the heavens. Remember whose you are, and what He has promised. He has good things in store for you. His redemption is fast approaching. Do not lose hope. Keep your faith in Him, and trust that He is at work, even now. Despite what you are feeling, do not let your emotions rule the way you think, keep your hope in God. Sing His praise and let Him remind you of who He is.

“So when the troubles begin, don’t be afraid. Look up—raise your head high, because the truth is that your liberation is fast approaching.” ~Jesus (Luke 21:28 VOICE)

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, I have to admit, there are times when I become discouraged and frustrated at how things are going in the world around me. Sometimes, Lord, it appears that the Enemy is winning, and you are losing. I forget to keep my eyes focused on you and allow myself to get distracted by the chaos that is happening around me. Forgive me, Lord. In those times, I ask that your Holy Spirit remind me to be looking for the signs of your soon coming return. Open my spiritual eyes to what is happening and bring back to my mind that in the end, you will be victorious. My hope is in you, Lord. I will lift up my eyes, for my redemption is drawing near.