He is the Light for All People – Isaiah 51:4

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 51:4 (NIV)

“Listen to me, my people; hear me, my nation: Instruction will go out from me; my justice will become a light to the nations.”

Isaiah 51:4 (MSG)

“Pay attention, my people. Listen to me, nations. Revelation flows from me. My decisions light up the world.”

********************************************

“Listen carefully to Me [says the Lord], O My people, and hear Me, O My nation; for a [divine] law will go forth from Me, and I will quickly establish My justice as a light to the peoples.” -AMPLIFIED

“Ye Jews, whom I chose to be my peculiar people, do not reject my counsel, which, I have told you, even the Gentiles will receive, nor forsake the mercies of which even they will partake. For a law shall proceed from me — A new law, even the doctrine of the gospel.” ~Benson Commentary

In yesterday’s passage, we were reminded that Adonai is a God of compassion and the Giver of comfort. He is the One who will fill our hearts with joy and laughter.

“Indeed, Yahweh will comfort Zion, restore her, and comfort all her broken places. He will transform her wilderness into the garden of Bliss, her desert into the garden of Yahweh. Joy and laughter will fill the air with thanksgiving and joyous melodies.” -Isaiah 51:3 (The Passion Translation)

Once again, we find God telling Israel to “Listen up!” To “Pay attention!” We find God informing Israel that His instructions, His teachings, are not just for Israel, but they are a light to the whole world, all people, everywhere.

Eternal One: Listen closely, you who are Mine; lend an ear, My nation; for My instruction will go straight out into all the world and My justice will illuminate all people wherever they are.” -(VOICE)

God is speaking to His covenant people, Israel. He instructs them to pay attention to what He has to say to them. This impresses on us that what He has to say is very important. God delivers this Message:

“Pay attention! Hear what I have to say! Open up your ears to My voice and hear what I have to say to you, Israel. My teachings, My instruction is not just for the nation of Israel, it is for all nations, all people. My teachings, and My justice will be a Light to the nations, to all people.”

“Listen to me, my people; listen, O Israel, for I will see that right prevails.” -(TLB)

“When the LORD ultimately regathers, blesses, and saves Israel, He will also shine forth His justice to all the world – to Israel (My nation) and to all the nations (the peoples).” ~David Guzik

Jesus declared that He was the Light of the World in John 8:12. In this passage He was speaking to the crowds, but the Pharisees, who were also there, could not accept what He said about Himself. To them, Jesus said:

“I am the light that shines through the cosmos; if you walk with Me, you will thrive in the nourishing light that gives life and will not know darkness.” -(VOICE)

Back in Isaiah 42, we find God delivering this Message to Isaiah, of the fact that the Suffering Servant would bring forth justice to all the nations. God promises:

“Behold, My Servant, whom I uphold; My Chosen One in whom My soul delights.
I have put My Spirit upon Him; He will bring forth justice to the nations.
He will not call out or shout aloud, Nor make His voice heard in the street.
A broken reed He will not break [off] And a dimly burning wick He will not extinguish [He will not harm those who are weak and suffering]; He will faithfully bring forth justice.
He will not be disheartened or crushed [in spirit]; [He will persevere] until He has established justice on the earth; And the coastlands will wait expectantly for His law.” -Isaia
h 42:1-4 (AMP)

I remind you that ultimately all of this will not come to pass until the last days. For Isaiah has already told us this:

“There will come a time in the last days when the mountain where the Eternal’s house stands
Will become the highest, most magnificent—grander than any of the mountains around it.
And all the nations of the world will run there, wanting to see it, feel it, fully experience it.
Many people of all languages, colors, and creeds will come. People: “Come! Let’s go to the Eternal’s mountain, to the house of the God of Jacob,
    So that we might learn from Him how best to be, to go along in life as He would have us go.” After all, the law will pour out from Zion, the word of the Eternal, from Jerusalem.
God will decide what’s fair among nations and settle disputes among all sorts of people.
Meanwhile, they will hammer their swords into sickles, reshape their spears into pruning hooks.
One nation will not attack another. They will not practice war anymore.” -Isaiah 2:2-4 (VOICE)

What do we need to take away from today’s passage? That God’s Suffering Servant, Jesus, is the Light of the World. And He will bring justice to the nations. If we are God’s children, then we need to be walking as children of the Light and living in the Light. Paul, writing to the Ephesian church, said it this way:

“You are God’s children whom he loves. So try to be like God. Live a life of love. Love other people just as Christ loved us. Christ gave himself for us—he was a sweet-smelling offering and sacrifice to God. But there must be no sexual immorality among you. There must not be any kind of evil or greed. Those things are not right for God’s holy people. Also, there must be no evil talk among you. You must not speak foolishly or tell evil jokes. These things are not right for you. But you should be giving thanks to God. You can be sure of this: No one will have a place in the kingdom of Christ and of God who engages in sexual sin, or does evil things, or is greedy. Anyone who is greedy is serving a false god. Do not let anyone fool you by telling you things that are not true. These things will bring God’s anger on those who do not obey him. So have no part with them. In the past you were full of darkness, but now you are full of light in the Lord. So live like children who belong to the light. Light brings every kind of goodness, right living, and truth. Try to learn what pleases the Lord.” -Ephesians 5:1-10 (ICB)

“Walking in the light is the opposite of walking in darkness. It means seeing reality for what it is and being controlled by desires that accord with God’s light. If God is light, and in him is no darkness at all, then he is the bright pathway to the fulfillment of all our deepest longings. He is the deliverer from all dark dangers and obstacles to joy. He is the infinitely desirable One.” ~John Piper

My friend, Jesus Christ is the Light to all people, everywhere, to every nation, tongue, and tribe. Ultimately, He alone will bring justice. So, it is very important that we accept Him as our Savior. If we walk in His Light, we will thrive, but if we choose to walk in the darkness, we can expect judgement. I implore you, choose to walk in the Light.

“The issue is now clear. It is between light and darkness and everyone must choose his side.” ~G.K. Chesterton

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, your Son, Jesus Christ, is the Light of the world. Your Word tells me that He came to seek and to save that which was lost, that included me. I am so grateful for His willingness to come for my sake. I am so grateful for The Light, which makes this journey so much easier. Knowing that The Light is my constant companion, that He will illuminate the road ahead, and bring justice, helps and comforts me so much. I know that I can trust you, no matter what comes my way. Thank you for being The Light to the world. Help me to be a reflection of you to all those people that I come in contact with today.