Look Back and Remember – Isaiah 51:1

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 51:1 (NIV)

“Listen to me, you who pursue righteousness and who seek the Lord: look to the rock from which you were cut and to the quarry from which you were hewn;”

Isaiah 51:1 (MSG)

“Listen to me, all you who are serious about right living and committed to seeking God. Ponder the rock from which you were cut, the quarry from which you were dug.”

**********************************************

“Listen to Me, you who pursue righteousness (right standing with God), who seek and inquire of the Lord: look to the rock from which you were cut and to the excavation of the quarry from which you were dug.” -AMPLIFIED

“As the nation prepared to leave Babylon and return home, they needed to strengthen their faith in Jehovah God.” ~Warren W. Wiersbe

In yesterday’s text, we were reminded that there is only one way to Heaven, one way to make things right with God, and it is by walking in THE Light. Trying to make your own light to light your pathway will not work.

“But if you presume to light your own torch, you are playing with fire.
    So go ahead, walk in the light of your own fires and the sparks you have kindled.
    But I can promise you this: it will take you down into torment!” Isaiah 50:11 (The Passion Translation)

In today’s passage, and the verses that immediately follow, we find God telling Israel to look back and remember their spiritual roots. God reminds them once again that they are a spiritual people, and that He would take care of them. So, they needed to trust Him.

Note:  Three times in this chapter God exhorts His people, Israel, to, “Listen to Me!” In other words, “Pay Attention!”

“Listen closely, you who diligently work for justice and look for the Eternal One, for what is fair and true. It would be good for you to look back, look to the place from where you came, the rock out of which you were shaped and the quarry from where you were mined.” -(VOICE)

The last chapter ended with the outcome of those who reject God. This chapter begins with a call to those who have decided to live a righteous life and accept God’s ways. (You will notice that the two groups will end up with two different outcomes.)

To this group God says:

“Listen up now! Pay attention to what I have to say to you. You need to remember whose you are, and where you have come from. Look back into your past, remember what I have done for you. REMEMBER!”

Over the coming days we will find God prompting Israel to remember. Tomorrow we will find Him encouraging them, once again, to look back, in particular to Abraham and Sarah. He wants them to remember where their roots began, and what God did for two people who were obedient to do His will.

 “Look to the rock from which you were cut and to the quarry from which you were dug.” -(NOG)

Take a moment and consider who the Rock is, and how this affects and applies to Israel. There is a verse in Deuteronomy that would be a good reminder for Israel, and us, at this point:

“He’s the Rock, and His work is perfect; everything He does is right.
     He’s the God who can be trusted, who never does wrong because He’s righteous and upright.” -Deuteronomy 32:4 (VOICE)

“God’s faithfulness is the one constant in the equation. He is the Rock on which we stand.”
~Paul Silway

“Listen to me, all who hope for deliverance, who seek the Lord! Consider the quarry from which you were mined, the rock from which you were cut!” -(TLB)

 “God counsels His people to look at His work in His people in days past. This is one of the great glories of God’s word to us; it tells us how God has dealt with His people and gives us faith and guidance for His work in our lives – if we will listen to Him.” ~David Guzik

Sadly, Israel had forgotten where they had come from, what they had endured. God wanted them to remember. He needed them to bring back to mind all of those situations that He had brought them through. In the past Israel had been told to remember, but they had sadly neglected this directive, and had forgotten. God had instructed them in this way:

1.) Remember what it was like when you were a slave in Egypt. Then with overwhelming power I brought you out of there. That’s why I have commanded you to observe the Sabbath each week.” -Deuteronomy 5:15 (VOICE)

2.) “When God, your God, ushers you into the land he promised through your ancestors Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob to give you, you’re going to walk into large, bustling cities you didn’t build, well-furnished houses you didn’t buy, come upon wells you didn’t dig, vineyards and olive orchards you didn’t plant. When you take it all in and settle down, pleased and content, make sure you don’t forget how you got there—God brought you out of slavery in Egypt.” -Deuteronomy 6:10-12 (MSG)

3.) “You must obey very carefully all of the law, which I’m commanding you today. If you do, you’ll live and thrive, and you’ll go in and take possession of the land He promised to your ancestors. Remember how the Eternal, your True God, led you through the wilderness these past 40 years. He did this to humble you, to test you, to uncover your motivations, to see if you would obey His commands. He humbled you by making you hungry when there was no food in the desert. Then He fed you with manna, a food you and your ancestors had never heard of. He did this because He wanted you to understand that what makes you truly alive is not the bread you eat but following every word that comes from the mouth of the Eternal One. Your clothes didn’t wear out, and your feet didn’t swell throughout your 40 years of wandering. I want you to know in your hearts that the Eternal your God has been training you just as a parent trains a child.” -Deuteronomy 8:1-5 (VOICE)

“Take time to remember your spiritual roots: you will be encouraged in your faith.” ~Warren Wiersbe

My friend, look back and remember where it is that God has brought you from. Remember what He has done for you, and give Him praise

“Remember this, and take courage. Recall your rebellious acts. Remember the first events, because I am God, and there is no other. I am God, and there’s no one like me. From the beginning I revealed the end. From long ago I told you things that had not yet happened, saying, “My plan will stand, and I’ll do everything I intended to do.” ~God (Isaiah 46:8-10 GW)

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, help me to look back and remember where you have brought me from. I do not want to forget and become ungrateful towards you; or forget the past, and forget whose I am. Lord, I am who I am because of you. You have brought me from a terrible past, a life of sin, and you have redeemed me and set me free. Your Son, Jesus, paid the price that I could not pay, and now I am able to be counted among your children. I have so much to be thankful for, and I am so blessed. I look back and remember, you have always been faithful to me. You are so good to me!