Overcomer – Isaiah 50:7

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 50:7 (NIV)

“Because the Sovereign Lord helps me, I will not be disgraced. Therefore have I set my face like flint, and I know I will not be put to shame.”

Isaiah 50:7 (MSG)

“And the Master, God, stays right there and helps me, so I’m not disgraced. Therefore I set my face like flint, confident that I’ll never regret this.”

**************************************

“For the Lord God helps Me, therefore, I have not been ashamed or humiliated. Therefore, I have made My face like flint, and I know that I shall not be put to shame.” -AMPLIFIED

“In the midst of all this suffering, humiliation, and pain, the Messiah has an unshakable confidence in the help of the Lord GOD.” ~David Guzik

Isaiah has been foretelling of God’s Suffering Servant, more importantly, His Faithful Servant. Isaiah prophesied of the atrocities that would happen to the Messiah.

“I offered my back to those who flogged me and my cheek to those who tore out my beard.
    I never hid my face from demeaning insults or from those who spit on me.” -Isaiah 50:6 (The Passion Translation)

Remember, these words are spoken by the Messiah.

“Because the Lord, the Eternal, helps me I will not be disgraced; so, I set my face like a rock, confident that I will not be ashamed.” -(VOICE)

Isaiah tells us that the Messiah will suffer at the hands of man, but He will endure that pain and suffering, that disgrace without faltering. How is that possible, since the Messiah will have to endure so much? He can do so because His trust and confidence in God, the Father.

In spite of what lay before Him, and He knew the path would include pain and suffering, He set His face as flint, He was filled with holy determination, He would not fail at the task that had been assigned to Him. And we do know that He was triumphant. The writer of Hebrews reminds us of this:

“Let us look only to Jesus, the One who began our faith and who makes it perfect. He suffered death on the cross. But he accepted the shame as if it were nothing because of the joy that God put before him. And now he is sitting at the right side of God’s throne. Think about Jesus’ example. He held on while wicked people were doing evil things to him. So do not get tired and stop trying.” -Hebrews 12:2-3 (New Century Version)

Despite knowing what lay ahead of Him, the Suffering Servant was determined to obey the Father, and complete the mission.

“Because the Lord God helps me, I will not be dismayed; therefore, I have set my face like flint to do his will, and I know that I will triumph.” -(TLB)

“The prophet speaks, but his words are those of the Servant of God. The Servant is in tune with God, the Master Teacher. He teaches as he has been taught, and—for the first time it seems—He understands that suffering is an integral part of the work God has for him. The reality for God’s Servant and any who follow him is this: to be close with God means to be at odds with people.” ~VOICE footnote

The Messiah reminds us in this passage that God is our help, and we can overcome, just as He overcame. He set His face, with determination and confidence, and pressed on until the job was accomplished. And now, as the writer of Hebrew’s reminds us, Jesus is seated at the right hand of the Father.

We can learn much from the Messiah’s example. His determination. His willingness to press on until the job was done, even in the face of adversity.

The Sons of Korah write about how Adonai is our refuge and our strength, especially in times of trouble. They emphasized that God is the One who is ultimately in control of all things.

“God, you’re such a safe and powerful place to find refuge! You’re a proven help in time of trouble—
    more than enough and always available whenever I need you. So we will never fear
    even if every structure of support were to crumble away. We will not fear even when the earth quakes and shakes, moving mountains and casting them into the sea.
For the raging roar of stormy winds and crashing waves cannot erode our faith in you.
Pause in his presence  God has a constantly flowing river whose sparkling streams bring joy and delight to his people.
    His river flows right through the city of God Most High, into his holy dwelling places.
God is in the midst of his city, secure and never shaken.
    At daybreak his help will be seen with the appearing of the dawn. When the nations are in uproar with their tottering kingdoms, God simply raises his voice, and the earth begins to disintegrate before him.
Here he comes! The Commander! The mighty Lord of Angel Armies is on our side! The God of Jacob fights for us!
Pause in his presence
Everyone look!
    Come and see the breathtaking wonders of our God. For he brings both ruin and revival.
  He’s the one who makes conflicts end throughout the earth, breaking and burning every weapon of war.
Surrender your anxiety. Be still and realize that I am God. I am God above all the nations, and I am exalted throughout the whole earth. Here he stands! The Commander! The mighty Lord of Angel Armies is on our side! The God of Jacob fights for us!
Pause in his presence” -Psalm 46 (The Passion Translation)

Jesus, speaking to His followers, told them that they could rest in their confidence of Him, for He had already overcome. His mission would be accomplished, and He would be victorious!

“I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have [perfect] peace. In the world you have tribulation and distress and suffering, but be courageous [be confident, be undaunted, be filled with joy]; I have overcome the world.” [My conquest is accomplished, My victory abiding.]” -John 16:33 (AMP)

“A person who wholly follows the Lord is one who believes that the promises of God are trustworthy, that He is with His people, and that they are well able to overcome.” ~Watchman Nee

My friend, we must have that same mindset of Christ, who was determined to accomplish His mission, and come out victorious. He would not be disgraced, for He realized that His worth was found in the Father, not in what others thought of Him. He was determined to overcome, despite what challenges life brought His way. We also must have this same attitude.

“We must learn to live on the heavenly side and look at things from above. To contemplate all things as God sees them, as Christ beholds them, overcomes sin, defies Satan, dissolves perplexities, lifts us above trials, separates us from the world and conquers fear of death.” ~A. B. Simpson

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, I ask that you help me to have the same determination and confidence that Jesus had in completing His mission. I want to be counted as an overcomer. Remind me that what others think, does not matter. What matters is that I am an obedient servant, who steps out in faith, willing to do the Master’s bidding. What matters, is that I am found faithful in the end. Help me to be courageous, confident, and fearless, Lord. I want you to be proud of who I am. Thank you, Lord.