All Mankind will Know – Isaiah 49:26

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 49:26 (NIV)

“I will make your oppressors eat their own flesh; they will be drunk on their own blood, as with wine. Then all mankind will know that I, the Lord, am your Savior, your Redeemer, the Mighty One of Jacob.”

Isaiah 49:26 (MSG)

“And your enemies, crazed and desperate, will turn on themselves, killing each other in a frenzy of self-destruction. Then everyone will know that I, God, have saved you—I, the Mighty One of Jacob.”

**************************************

“I will make those who oppress you consume their own flesh [in mutually destructive wars] and they will become drunk with their own blood as with sweet wine; and all mankind will know [with a knowledge grounded in personal experience] that I, the Lord, am your Savior and your Redeemer, the Mighty One of Jacob.” -AMPLIFIED

“Babylon, the mighty empire, had taken Zion captive. But even they shall be taken away. God will show His strength and love for Zion by giving unto Babylon what Babylon gave unto Zion, even though they thought it unlikely.” ~David Guzik

In yesterday’s text, we learned that God would fight for Israel, and He will also fight for us.

“Who can snatch the prey from the hands of a mighty warrior
    or rescue captives from a conqueror?” But Yahweh says:
    “The prey will be freed from the mighty warrior and captives will be rescued from a conqueror!
    For I will fight with those who fight with you, and I myself will save your children.” -Isaiah 49:24-25 (The Passion Translation)

Today’s passage we learn that God will crush the Babylonians under His judgement. And He reminds Israel that He, and He alone, will be their Lord, Savior, Rescuer, and hero.

“I will turn your enemies’ violence back on themselves, and they will suffer their own atrocities: they will feed on their own flesh and drink their own blood like wine. Then every person on earth will know for certain that I, the Eternal, am your Savior. I am your hero, the strong One of Jacob from whom you come. I will rescue you, whatever the price.” -(VOICE)

We need to remember who it is that is speaking in this passage, it is God, Most High. The One who knows our deepest thoughts, and our very hearts. He knows the ways of the Babylonians. He knows the outcome of their actions. He says to the Israelites who have spent years being oppressed by these same people:

“I will allow the violence of your enemy to fall back upon them. I will allow them to suffer the same kind of pain that they poured out upon you. This people, who had abused, exploited, and tormented would now be the ones on the receiving end of said treatment.

Why will God do this? It is stated right here in the passage:

“Then all the earth will know that I am Yahweh, your Savior, your Kinsman-Redeemer,
    the mighty hero of Jacob’s tribes.” -Isaiah 49:26b (The Passion Translation)

When God vindicates Israel, when He works mightily on their behalf, all the nations will see, take note, and understand that He is Israel’s Mighty Hero.

Let us make note of something that Solomon had taught and wrote about vengeance:

“Don’t say, “I’ll pay you back for the evil you did.” Wait for the Lord. He will make things right.” -Proverbs 20:22 (ICB)

God would put Babylon in its place, and when He did, all the world would take a step back and wonder at the power and might of Israel’s God. Remember that question asked back in verse 24:

Jerusalem: Can the spoil of war be taken from the mighty?
        Can the captives be freed from the hand of a tyrant?” -(VOICE)

Here is the answer to that question, and the answer is “who can save us”. It will be God, Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, Savior, Redeemer, and Lord, He is the answer to that question. God will save Israel and all the world will see His hand of salvation and wonder.

“I will feed your enemies with their own flesh, and they shall be drunk with rivers of their own blood. All the world shall know that I, the Lord, am your Savior and Redeemer, the Mighty One of Israel.” -(TLB)

“The pictures of eating their own flesh and drinking their own blood draw on the horrors of siege conditions. The reality is that those who oppose the Lord and his people experience the self destructiveness of sin – a recurring feature of the wars of the Lord.” ~J. Alec Motyer

**************************

“In no sense is God commanding cannibalism. He is simply saying in the most graphic way that those who violated his people will get their own back.” ~John Oswalt

The Sons of Korah wrote Psalm 46 reminding the people that the Great, and Mighty God fought for His people:

“God, you’re such a safe and powerful place to find refuge! You’re a proven help in time of trouble—
    more than enough and always available whenever I need you. So we will never fear
even if every structure of support were to crumble away. We will not fear even when the earth quakes and shakes, moving mountains and casting them into the sea.
For the raging roar of stormy winds and crashing waves cannot erode our faith in you.
Pause in his presence

God has a constantly flowing river whose sparkling streams bring joy and delight to his people.
    His river flows right through the city of God Most High, into his holy dwelling places.
God is in the midst of his city, secure and never shaken. At daybreak his help will be seen with the appearing of the dawn.
When the nations are in uproar with their tottering kingdoms, God simply raises his voice,
    and the earth begins to disintegrate before him.
Here he comes! The Commander! The mighty Lord of Angel Armies is on our side! The God of Jacob fights for us!
Pause in his presence
Everyone look! Come and see the breathtaking wonders of our God.
    For he brings both ruin and revival. He’s the one who makes conflicts end
    throughout the earth, breaking and burning every weapon of war.
Surrender your anxiety. Be still and realize that I am God.
    I am God above all the nations, and I am exalted throughout the whole earth.
Here he stands! The Commander! The mighty Lord of Angel Armies is on our side!
    The God of Jacob fights for us! Pause in his presence” -Psalm 46 (The Passion Translation)

John records for us in the book of Revelation that one day soon Jesus will appear, and all the earth will cry out in sorrow because of what they have done to Him.

“Look! He is coming with the clouds, in glory. He will capture every eye, even of those who pierced Him through. All the nations of the earth will be pierced with grief when He appears. Yes, may all this be done according to His plan. Amen.” -Revelation 1:7 (VOICE)

“There is more safety with Christ in the tempest than without Christ in the calmest waters.” ~Alexander Grosse

My friend, God tells us that one day every knee will bow, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord. One day, all will acknowledge that God was always fighting for His own. The One, True God has good intentions for His children, and all those who tell us otherwise are liars. They will be exposed in due time. Today, remind yourself that your God is fighting for you.

“I’m not afraid of the devil. The devil can handle me – he’s got judo I never heard of. But he can’t handle the One to whom I’m joined; he can’t handle the One to whom I’m united; he can’t handle the One whose nature dwells in my nature.” ~ A. W. Tozer

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, you are the One who fights my battles, and you are the One who will bring judgement against those who make war against me. Vengeance is yours alone, you will bring retribution. Remind me of this truth: that I need to allow you to be glorified in every circumstance, so that all will know that you are my Rescuer, my Savior, my Hero. It may appear to others that I am down and defeated, but my God is greater, He is stronger, He is mightier! Hallelujah! Through you I have the victory!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.