Look for the Blessings – Isaiah 49:20-21

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 49:20-21 (NIV)

“The children born during your bereavement will yet say in your hearing, ‘This place is too small for us; give us more space to live in.’ Then you will say in your heart, ‘Who bore me these? I was bereaved and barren; I was exiled and rejected. Who brought these up? I was left all alone, but these—where have they come from?’”

Isaiah 49:20-21 (MSG)

“The children born in your exile will be saying, ‘It’s getting too crowded here. I need more room.’ And you’ll say to yourself, ‘Where on earth did these children come from? I lost everything, had nothing, was exiled and penniless. So who reared these children? How did these children get here?’”

************************************

“The children of your bereavement [those born in captivity] will yet say in your ears, ‘The place is too cramped for me’; make room for me that I may live here. Then [Zion], you will say in your heart, ‘Who has borne me these children, since I have been bereaved of my children and am barren, an exile and a wanderer? And who has reared these? Indeed, I was left alone; from where then did these children come?’” -AMPLIFIED

“What we count the ills of life are often blessings in disguise, resulting in good to us in the end. Though for the present not joyous but grievous, yet, if received in a right spirit, they work out fruits of righteousness for us at last.” ~Matthew Henry

In yesterday’s text we were told that once God allowed His people to return to their home, they would find that they had outgrown its space. The passage is a reminder of God’s blessings bestowed, even in times of difficulty. God’s Message to Israel:

“See? Your ruins and devastated places will soon be overcrowded with settlers
    while your destroyers stay far away.” -Isaiah 49:19 (The Passion Translation)

Today’s passage continues this train of thought, God informs Israel they they will find, upon their return, that their numbers are huge. The children they thought were lost, are found. And they will wonder to themselves, “‘Where in the world did all these children come from?” -(TPT)

NOTE: It is important to remember that this passage not only applied to Israel’s near future, but her far future as well. This is considered to be a prophecy about what will happen during the Millennium times.

“The children you mourned, those born in exile, will return and say, “It is too cramped and crowded for us; we’re going to need more room if we are to live here.” You’ll say to yourself, “Where in the world did all these people come from? Could these really be mine? I thought I’d been desolated, left empty. Where have you all been? Where did you come from?” -(VOICE)

God says to Israel:

When the time comes for their great reunion in the homeland, the people will be surprised by how many of them have survived, and how large their numbers have actually grown. For seventy years they thought they were alone, they thought they were facing the consequences of the sin of their nation all by themselves. But now, suddenly, they will realize, they were never alone, in fact, their numbers had grown massively.

They had thought they had lost so many people, but in truth, God had blessed their numbers, and they were many. Look what the Lord had done! He blessed them, even in captivity.

God had not, nor would He ever, forget His own. Remember what He has just told the people a few verses back:

“Can a woman forget her child at the breast, not show pity on the child from her womb?
Even if these were to forget, I would not forget you. I have engraved you on the palms of my hands,
your walls are always before me.” Your children are coming quickly, your destroyers and plunderers are leaving and going. Raise your eyes, and look around: they are all gathering and coming to you.
Adonai swears: “As surely as I am alive, you will wear them all like jewels,
adorn yourself with them like a bride.” -Isaiah 49:15-18 (Complete Jewish Bible)

“The generations born in exile shall return and say, ‘We need more room! It’s crowded here!’ Then you will think to yourself, ‘Who has given me all these? For most of my children were killed, and the rest were carried away into exile, leaving me here alone. Who bore these? Who raised them for me?’” -(TLB)

“The great blessing of the returning sons of Zion – in both near and far fulfillment – will come as an astounding surprise. God’s blessing will seem to come from nowhere. Though the promise seems too good to be true, God confirms it with an oath to the nations. God will rescue Israel from both their immediate and ultimate captivity.” ~David Guzik

Something that we need to learn is that God can, and will, bless us, even in times of trouble. Israel was surprised when they returned home, because they were not expecting God to bless them during their time of captivity and incarceration. But blessing is part of God’s character, and He cannot stop being who He truly is. Hence why David wrote these words:

“Taste of His goodness; see how wonderful the Eternal truly is.
    Anyone who puts trust in Him will be blessed and comforted.” -Psalm 34:8 (VOICE)

“Did you never run for shelter in a storm, and find fruit which you expected not? Did you never go to God for safeguard, driven by outward storms, and there find unexpected fruit?” ~John Owen

Our attitude makes a difference when it comes to recognizing those blessings in times of trouble. James tells us that we need to keep our eyes focused on God during those times of trouble, and we need to listen and obey, then we will be blessed.

“For if a person just listens and doesn’t obey, he is like a man looking at his face in a mirror; as soon as he walks away, he can’t see himself anymore or remember what he looks like. But if anyone keeps looking steadily into God’s law for free men, he will not only remember it but he will do what it says, and God will greatly bless him in everything he does.” -James 1:23-25 (TLB)

When life looks to be confusing and tumultuous, chaotic, and out of control, remember to have the right attitude, for God blesses even in times of trouble, and soon your redemption draws near.

“I refuse to become panicky, as I lift up my eyes to Him and accept it as coming from the throne of God for some great purpose of blessing to my own heart.” ~Alan Redpath

My friend, too often we get caught up in the trials and troubles of life, and we forget to look for the blessings, and we fail to praise God in the storms of life. Never forget, even in the times of trouble, God continues to bless. Look for the blessings in your life today and take time to be grateful and give thanks.

“If you always find yourself numbering your troubles, you will never find time for counting your blessings.” ~Israelmore Ayivor

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, I ask that you help my spiritual eyes to be open and perceptive. Help me to be looking for those blessings that you will bestow, even in times of trouble. Help me to have the right attitude, Lord, when facing those trying times. Remind me that these times are meant to drive me closer to you, not away from you. Help me to remember that you are a good, good Father, and that your character is one which must bless. I know you have good things in store for me, you have plans to bless. So, help me to be alert, looking for those blessings, so that I can give you thanks.