Has God Forgotten Us? – Isaiah 49:14

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 49:14 (NIV)

“But Zion said, “The Lord has forsaken me, the Lord has forgotten me.”

Isaiah 49:14 (MSG)

“But Zion said, “I don’t get it. God has left me. My Master has forgotten I even exist.”

******************************

“But Zion (Jerusalem in captivity) said, “The Lord has abandoned me, and my Lord has forgotten me.” -AMPLIFIED

“Some of the Jews thought God had forgotten them. God now shows that for him this is impossible.” ~Donald C. Flemming

In yesterday’s text, we found the heavens, and earth instructed to rejoice, sing, and dance, for God has compassion on His people. In fact, He loves them, He honestly cares what happens to them.

Sing for joy, you heavens! Shout, you earth, and rejoice with dancing, shouting, and glee!
    Burst into joyous songs, you mountains, for Yahweh has comforted his beloved people.
    He will show tenderness and compassion to his suffering ones.” -Isaiah 49:13 (The Passion Translation)

The reason God told Israel this is because they felt abandoned. They thought God had forgotten them, and no longer cared.

This is a question we all have ask, if we were honest with ourselves, we would admit we have asked, “Has God forgotten me? Where is He? Doesn’t He care what happens to me?” These were the thoughts of Israel as they sat in captivity, wondering if they God had forgotten them, and questioning if they would ever go home to Jerusalem.

Zion: The Eternal One has abandoned me. God has walked out the door; my Lord left me alone. He has forgotten all about me.” -(VOICE)

In the midst of God’s declaration of His faithfulness to His people, we find the people problem. Despite all that had happened, that God had proved Himself to them time and time again, they still did not believe that He would do what He said He would do. They felt that He had brought them to Babylon to desert them.

But God does NOT forget. And He will declare this fact in the verses that follow this text. God’s response to Israel’s attitude of hopelessness and defeatism was this:

“Yahweh responds, “But how could a loving mother forget her nursing child
    and not deeply love the one she bore? Even if a there is a mother who forgets her child,
    I could never, no never, forget you. Can’t you see?
    I have carved your name on the palms of my hands! Your walls are always my concern.
Your children, your builders, are running back to you as those who ruined and destroyed you are running away. Lift up your head and look all around you. See! All your children, your builders, gather to come back to you. As surely as I live, I make this promise,” says Yahweh.
    “You will wear them all like jewels, as a radiant bride wears her beautiful jewelry!” -Isaiah 49:15-18 (The Passion Translation)

God has Not forgotten Israel. In fact, His intentions for them were for good, not evil. Their faith and trust in Him needed to grow.

“Yet they say, “My Lord deserted us; he has forgotten us.” -(TLB)

God had not forgotten Israel. Even though He would leave her for a time, He would re-gather all her children from all over the world to Himself. Therefore she should continue to trust in Him.” ~Thomas Constable

Throughout Scripture we are reminded that God will not, cannot forget His own. Here is just a sampling of these reminders:

In Deuteronomy God told Moses to tell the Israelites:

“Be strong, be bold, don’t be afraid or frightened of them, for Adonai your God is going with you. He will neither fail you nor abandon you.” -Deuteronomy 31:6 (Complete Jewish Bible)

In the book of Joshua, we find God speaking to Joshua, saying:

“No one will be able to oppose you for as long as you live. I will be with you just as I was with Moses, and I will never fail or abandon you.” -Joshua 1:5 (VOICE)

A few verses later we find God telling Joshua,

“This is My command: be strong and courageous. Never be afraid or discouraged because I am your God, the Eternal One, and I will remain with you wherever you go.” -Joshua 1:9 (VOICE)

David, speaking from experience, was able to say:

“Although my father and my mother have forsaken me, yet the Lord will take me up [adopt me as His child].” -Psalm 27:10 (Amplified Bible, Classic Edition)

In the book of Romans, we find Paul reminding us that nothing can separate us from the love of God. Paul wrote:

“So, what do you think? With God on our side like this, how can we lose? If God didn’t hesitate to put everything on the line for us, embracing our condition and exposing himself to the worst by sending his own Son, is there anything else he wouldn’t gladly and freely do for us? And who would dare tangle with God by messing with one of God’s chosen? Who would dare even to point a finger? The One who died for us—who was raised to life for us!—is in the presence of God at this very moment sticking up for us. Do you think anyone is going to be able to drive a wedge between us and Christ’s love for us? There is no way! Not trouble, not hard times, not hatred, not hunger, not homelessness, not bullying threats, not backstabbing, not even the worst sins listed in Scripture: “They kill us in cold blood because they hate you. We’re sitting ducks; they pick us off one by one.” None of this fazes us because Jesus loves us. I’m absolutely convinced that nothing—nothing living or dead, angelic or demonic, today or tomorrow, high or low, thinkable or unthinkable—absolutely nothing can get between us and God’s love because of the way that Jesus our Master has embraced us.” -Romans 8:31-39 (MSG)

“Almost everyone experiences times in life when they feel utterly alone and abandoned. Through the prophet Isaiah, God makes a tremendously comforting promise. You may feel completely forgotten by every human being in your life, but God will not forget you: “Even if my father and mother abandon me, the Lord will hold me close” (Psalm 27:10, NLT).” ~Mary Fairchild

My friend, we need to stop trusting in our feelings, and start trusting in our God. God has promised that He would never leave us or forsake us. Do you believe Him, or do you not? He will never forget His child, trust that He is always faithful and true. You can count on Him!

“God is always with you, even in the darkest night or in the deepest pit. You just need to hold on. Never doubt His presence and His power, He will see you through.” ~Gift Gugu Mona

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, if I am honest with myself, and with you, there have been times that I felt that you had forgotten me. But your Word is full of the promise that your presence is with me always, that you will never leave me abandoned. Lord, I am so grateful for your constant companionship. I am so blessed to counted as one of your children. I am so thankful for your unfailing love. Help my faith and trust in you to grow stronger, and remind me that my feelings cannot be relied upon. Your promises are true, and I can always count on you, Lord. Thank you! ❤