The Messiah, God’s Chosen Servant – Isaiah 49:3

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 49:3 (NIV)

“He said to me, “You are my servant, Israel, in whom I will display my splendor.”

Isaiah 49:3 (MSG)

“He said to me, “You’re my dear servant, Israel, through whom I’ll shine.”

********************************************

“And [the Lord] said to Me, “You are My Servant, Israel, in Whom I will show My glory.” -AMPLIFIED

“At first glance it would seem that Israel is the servant. However, many scholars maintain that the Messiah is being addressed as Israel because He represents and fulfills what Israel as a nation was meant to be: the source of salvation to the world.” ~AMPLIFIED FOOTNOTE

Yesterday we began looking at Isaiah chapter 49. We found God introducing His larger plan to Israel, which had to do with His special Servant who would bring salvation to the whole world.

“Listen to what I have to say, you islands. Pay attention to me, you who live in distant lands.
    Yahweh called me as his own before I was born and named me while I was still in my mother’s womb.
He gives me words that pierce and penetrate. He hid me and protected me in the shadow of his hand.
     He prepared me like a polished arrow and concealed me in his quiver.” -Isaiah 49:1-2 (The Passion Translation)

At first glance it may appear that God is saying that the nation of Israel will be this Servant, but as we look deeper, we will understand that, in fact, this reference to Israel pertains to the Messiah. Isaiah begins by clarifying the call and ministry of the Servant.

“It is clear that the Servant in this passage is Jesus of Nazareth, for He brings salvation to Israel as well as to the whole world.” ~W. A. Criswell

“God said to me, “You are My servant, Israel. Through you, I will be glorified.” -(VOICE)

Remember what we learned from yesterday’s passage:

Adonai has called and ordained this individual from the womb to be part of His greater plan. This individual’s mouth is likened to a sharp sword, which will pierce and penetrate. He will also be protected by God, hidden in the shadow of the Almighty’s hand. Take note, God keeps this particular arrow close to Him.

“And he made my tongue/my words like a sharp sword, he hid me under the shadow of his hand, and he made me like a chosen arrow; yea, he hid me in his quiver…” -Wycliffe Bible

Now we find Isaiah recording for us what Adonai says to His Servant:

“Israel, you are my special servant; in you I will be glorified.” -(TPT)

If we fast-forward to verses 5 and 6, we will see that this special Servant has a mission, to gather back the people of Israel to God:

“And now, the Lord Yahweh—who shaped me in the womb to be his servant,
    to bring Jacob’s tribes back to him that Israel would be gathered back to himself,
    for I am honored in the sight of Yahweh. I find the source of all my strength in my God—who says:
    “Is it too small a thing for you, my servant, to restore greatness to Jacob’s tribes and the survivors of Israel? I will make you to be a light to the nations and  to bring the light of my salvation to the ends of the earth!” -Isaiah 49:5-6 (The Passion Translation)

Yes, the mission of the Servant was to point Israel back to Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, but ultimately, His first priority was to bring glory to God, Most High.

“He said to me: “You are my servant, a prince of power with God, and you shall bring me glory.” -(TLB)

“You are My servant, O Israel: Since the rest of the context of this chapter indicates that this passage speaks of the Messiah, it is best to regard Israel as a reference to the Messiah. How can the LORD speak of the Messiah as Israel? First, because the Messiah comes from Israel, and is a representative of the nation. Second, because the Messiah fulfills the name Israel, which means, “governed by God.”” ~David Guzik

Earlier in the book of Isaiah, we found this description of the Servant:

“Take a good look at my servant! I love him dearly, for he is my chosen one.
    I have taken hold of him in my strength, and I have clothed him with my Spirit.
    He will cause justice to spring up for the nations. He will be gentle and will not quarrel with others in public. He will not exalt his own voice.
He would never crush a broken heart nor disregard the weak and vulnerable.
    He will make sure justice comes to those who are wronged. His inner being will not become faint or discouraged, nor will his light grow dim before he establishes justice on the earth.
    Even the distant lands beyond the seas will hunger for his instruction.”
Here are the words of the true God, Yahweh, the one who created the starry heavens and stretched them out. He is the one who formed the earth and filled it with life. He gives breath to every person
    and spirit to everyone everywhere. “I, Yahweh, have commissioned you in righteousness to succeed.
    I will take your hand in love and watch over you.  I will give you as a covenant for the people,
    a walking-light to the nations. Your mission is to open blind eyes, to set prisoners free from dark dwellings, and to open prison doors to those who are held by darkness.
I am Yahweh; that is my name. I will not give my glory to another god nor my renown to idols.
Don’t you see that what I have prophesied has come to pass?
     And now I am foretelling the future. I declare it to you before it sprouts up.” -Isaiah 42:1-9 (The Passion Tra
nslation)

Keep this passage in mind as we proceed further into chapter 49 and learn more of the Servant’s task to bring Israel back to Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, as well as to the whole world, and to ultimately bring glory to God.

I leave you with this reminder from the Apostle Paul, of how God not only chose His Servant before time, but He chose us to be His children as well. In the book of Ephesians Paul wrote: “Long ago, even before he made the world, God chose us to be his very own…” (TLB)

“God chose us to be in a relationship with Him even before He laid out plans for this world; He wanted us to live holy lives characterized by love, free from sin, and blameless before Him. He destined us to be adopted as His children through the covenant Jesus the Anointed inaugurated in His sacrificial life. This was His pleasure and His will for us. Ultimately God is the one worthy of praise for showing us His grace; He is merciful and marvelous, freely giving us these gifts in His Beloved.” -Ephesians 1:4-6 (VOICE)

“Now comes my hour of heart-break, and what can I say, ‘Father, save me from this hour’? No, it was for this very purpose that I came to this hour. ‘Father, honour your own name!’” At this there came a voice from Heaven, “I have honoured it and I will honour it again!” ~Jesus (John 12:27-28 J.B. Phillips New Testament)

My friend, the ultimate objective of the Messiah was to bring glory to God. Should our objective be any less? Ultimately, God is the One who is worthy of all our glory, honor, and praise. Do not withhold from Him what He deserves, what He created and destined you to do for Him.

“The person who fears God seeks to live all of life to the glory of God. … All the activities of life should be pursued with the aim of glorifying God.” ~Jerry Bridges

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, as I learn more of your greater plan, how you ordained a Messiah, a Savior, to serve you by paying the price for the sin of mankind, so that mankind could be in a relationship with you, I am humbled. I am humbled even further, in the knowledge of knowing you called me, and ordained me as well. You have a purpose and a plan for my life, and ultimately, it is to bring glory and honor to your Name. Lord, sometimes I forget that. Help me to remember that I am your child, and I too am a servant of the Most High God. Help me to remember that my purpose is to point others to the Savior, and to glorify you in all I do and say. Thank you, Lord.