The Introduction to God’s Larger Plan -Isaiah 49:1-2

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 49:1-2 (NIV)

“Listen to me, you islands; hear this, you distant nations: Before I was born the Lord called me; from my mother’s womb he has spoken my name. He made my mouth like a sharpened sword, in the shadow of his hand he hid me; he made me into a polished arrow and concealed me in his quiver.”

Isaiah 49:1-2 (MSG)

“Listen, far-flung islands, pay attention, faraway people: God put me to work from the day I was born. The moment I entered the world he named me. He gave me speech that would cut and penetrate. He kept his hand on me to protect me. He made me his straight arrow and hid me in his quiver.”

***************************************

“Listen to Me, O islands and coastlands, and pay attention, you peoples from far away. The Lord has called Me from the womb; from the body of My mother He has named Me. He has made My mouth like a sharp sword, n the shadow of His hand He has kept Me hidden; and He has made Me a sharpened arrow, in His quiver He has hidden Me.” -AMPLIFIED

Isaiah chapters 40-48 have focused on Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, promise of deliverance for His people from the hands of the Babylonians. As we begin chapter 49, the focus shifts from Cyrus the Gentile deliverer, to the Messiah, THE SUPREME DELIVERER. In this section of Isaiah, we find Yahweh sharing His larger plan with Israel, He begins by prophecy of The Redeemer that He has ordained and prepared, the Messiah.

(Commentators have a difference of opinion on who this passage is about. Some feel Isaiah is speaking about himself. Others believe this section of the book, chapters 49-54, is prophecy about the ordination and coming of the Messiah. As we move forward, we are doing so with the understanding that this section pertains to the call and preparation of the Messiah.)

This chapter is full of our Lord Jesus Christ, and the words quoted could not possibly have their complete fulfillment in any other save in our Savior. ~Alan Redpath

Listen to this, everyone—near and far: The Eternal One singled me out, even before I was born.
He called me and named me when I was still in my mother’s belly. Even then, God was preparing my mouth to speak like a sharp sword. He kept my purpose quiet, kept me safe in the shadow of His hand,
He crafted me into a sharp-tipped arrow and tucked me away in His quiver…” -(VOICE)

Once again, we find God using similar terminology that He has used in the past, appealing to Israel to listen to what He has to say to them. “Listen to Me!” What God has to say to Israel is important. It is His intention that Israel not only knows, but understands that He has a grander plan in place, something that they would have never considered. And they need to listen as He reveals it to them.

As God begins to reveal His plan, we immediately pick up on clues that what He has planned is much greater, grander than anything Israel could have ever imagined. Our first clues is His call to the coastlands to pay attention, and the people from far-off lands. God’s larger plan will include salvation to the Gentiles.

Next, we find that an individual has been called, or ordained, before birth by Adonai. In fact, this individual was named by Adonai while still within the womb. Who is this individual? It is the Messiah, who will later be revealed as Jesus, the Christ.

We know this is who is being described because of what is said about Him next. Adonai will give Him words that would pierce and penetrate. Let us take note of a few verses from the New Testament that can help us understand.

In Hebrews, the writer explains to us about the power of the Word of God. Keep in mind what John told us at the beginning of his Gospel, that Jesus was the Word. The writer of Hebrews wrote:

“For we have the living Word of God, which is full of energy, like a two-mouthed sword. It will even penetrate to the very core of our being where soul and spirit, bone and marrow meet! It interprets and reveals the true thoughts and secret motives of our hearts. There is not one person who can hide their thoughts from God, for nothing that we do remains a secret, and nothing created is concealed, but everything is exposed and defenseless before his eyes, to whom we must render an account.” -Hebrews 4:12-13 (The Passion Translation)

And John gives further testimony in the book of Revelation, where he recorded his encounter with the Alpha and Omega, who had a double edge sword coming out of His mouth. John’s eye-witness account:

“I was in the Spirit on the Lord’s Day (the first day of the week), and I heard a voice behind me. It sounded like the blast of a trumpet. A Voice: [I am the Alpha and the Omega, the very beginning and the very end.] Make a book of what you see, write it down, and send it to the seven churches [which are in Asia]: Ephesus, Smyrna, Pergamum, Thyatira, Sardis, Philadelphia, and Laodicea. When I turned around to see what sort of voice this was that was addressing me, I saw seven golden lampstands. And among the lampstands, I saw One like the Son of Man right in front of me dressed in a long robe. Across His chest was draped a golden sash. His head and hair were pure white, white as wool and white as snow; His eyes blazed like a fiery flame; His feet gleamed like brightly polished bronze, purified to perfection in a furnace; His voice filled the air and sounded like a roaring waterfall. He held seven stars in His right hand, from His mouth darted a sharp double-edged sword, and His face shone a brilliant light, like the blinding sun.” -Revelation 1:10-16 (VOICE)

“He has made My mouth like a sharp sword: This means that the very words of the Messiah have power and authority. While some might need to brandish a weapon to show their authority, the Messiah needs only to speak.” ~David Guzik

In Isaiah 49, we further see firstly that this individual will be protected by God, hidden in the shadow of His hand. And secondly, He is being prepared as a sharp arrow, a very sharp arrow, which shall be hidden until the proper time.

“Listen to me, all of you in far-off lands: The Lord called me before my birth. From within the womb he called me by my name. God will make my words of judgment sharp as swords. He has hidden me in the shadow of his hand; I am like a sharp arrow in his quiver.” -(TLB)

The Lord hath called me from the womb; to the office of a Mediator; to be Prophet, Priest, and King; to be the Saviour and Redeemer of men; he did not assume this to himself, but was called of God his Father, Hebrews 5:4, and that not only from the womb of his mother Mary, or as soon as he was conceived and born of her; but from the womb of eternity, from the womb of eternal purposes and decrees; for he was set forth, or foreordained in the purposes of God, to be the propitiation for sin; and was predestinated to be the Redeemer before the foundation of the world, even before he had a being in this world as man.” ~John Gill

My friend, God’s larger plan included salvation, not just for the Jews, but for all people. We find the introduction of the Messiah that would bring salvation to the World. Jesus Christ is that Messiah. He is the Word that became flesh and came to dwell among us, called and ordained before He was born. He is God who became flesh, Emmanuel, God with us.

“But how, one will say, can it be, that the Word of God, by whom the world is governed, by whom all things both were, and are created, should contract Himself into the womb of a Virgin; should abandon the world, and leave the Angels, and be shut up in one woman’s womb? Thou skillest not to conceive of things divine. The Word of God (I am speaking to you, O man, I am speaking to you of the omnipotence of the Word of God) could surely do all, seeing that the Word of God is omnipotent, at once remain with the Father, and come to us; at once in the flesh come forth to us, and lay concealed in Him. For He would not the less have been, if He had not been born of flesh. He was before His own flesh; He created His own mother. He chose her in whom He should be conceived, He created her of whom He should be created. Why do you marvel? It is God of whom I am speaking to you: The Word was God.” ~Augustine

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, I am so grateful that You had a greater plan, from before time began. You knew that mankind would choose the wrong way. You knew that we would need a Messiah to save us from our sins. From before time began, you knew that you would become flesh, and make the needed sacrifice to pay for the sins of all mankind. You, the Word, that pierces the divide between soul and spirit, joints and marrow, paid the price, took my place, and I am forever in debt to you. Thank you, Lord.