The God Who Teaches – Isaiah 48:17

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 48:17 (NIV)

“This is what the Lord says—your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel: “I am the Lord your God, who teaches you what is best for you, who directs you in the way you should go.”

Isaiah 48:17 (MSG)

“…with this Message from God your Redeemer, The Holy of Israel: “I am God, your God, who teaches you how to live right and well. I show you what to do, where to go.”

**************************************

“This is what the Lord, your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel says, “I am the Lord your God, who teaches you to profit (benefit), who leads you in the way that you should go.” -AMPLIFIED

“Because God wanted only the best for his people, he was saddened to see the suffering they had brought on themselves through their stubborn disobedience. If they had paid attention to his instruction, they would have enjoyed unbroken peace and prosperity.” ~Donald C. Flemming

In yesterday’s text, we found God once again inviting Israel to draw near to Him. His petition to them:

“Draw near to me and listen: From the beginning, I have not spoken in secret.
    From the beginning of time, I was there.” And now Lord Yahweh has sent me, empowered by his Spirit!” -Isaiah 48:16 (The Passion Translation)

God desired for Israel to join Him in what He was about to do. He implored them to allow Him to teach them His righteous ways.

“Which leadeth thee – I am thy conductor and guide. God taught them, as he does his people now, by his Providence, his revealed word, and his Spirit, the way in which they ought to go. It is one of his characteristics that he is the guide and director of his people.” ~Albert Barnes

“The Eternal One, who rescued you, the Holy One of Israel declares, Eternal One: I am the Eternal One your God. I have given you My instruction for living well and right, leading you in how you should be and do.” -(VOICE)

Once again, Israel is reminded that Yahweh is their Kinsman-Redeemer, He is the Holy and Eternal One. And being so, He is the only One qualified to teach them His way, how to live righteous, and well, and how to succeed in their endeavors. He offers Himself as Teacher, for their own benefit. If you want to learn how to do something right, you learn from the best, in this case from Yahweh your Elohim, the Self-Existent One. (Yahweh Elohim denotes there is a Father-Son relationship going on in this passage.)

“The Lord, your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel, says: I am the Lord your God, who punishes you for your own good and leads you along the paths that you should follow.” -(TLB)

“Teaching thee profitably. He means that God’s “teaching” is such that it might keep the people safe and sound, if they would only rest upon it. Now, the Lord “teaches,” not for his own sake, but in order to promote our salvation; for what profit could we yield to him? It is therefore by “teaching” that he makes provision for the advantage of each of us, that, having been instructed by it, we may enjoy prosperity. But since, through our ingratitude, we reject the benefit that is freely offered to us, what remains but that we shall miserably perish? Justly, therefore, does Isaiah reproach the Jews that, if they had not defrauded themselves of the benefit of teaching, nothing that was profitable for their salvation would have been hidden from them. And if these things were said of the Law, that the Lord, by means of it, “taught his people profitably,” what shall we say of the Gospel, in which everything that is profitable for us is very fully explained? ” ~John Calvin

The Bible tells us that God will be our Teacher, in fact, it tells us this over and over again. Here are just a few verses that teach us this truth:

1.) To Moses, God said:

“The Lord said to him, “Who gave human beings their mouths? Who makes them deaf or mute? Who gives them sight or makes them blind? Is it not I, the Lord?  Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.” -Exodus 4:11-12 (NIV)

2.) To Israel, God said:

“Pay attention: I’m teaching you the rules and regulations that God commanded me, so that you may live by them in the land you are entering to take up ownership. Keep them. Practice them. You’ll become wise and understanding. When people hear and see what’s going on, they’ll say, “What a great nation! So wise, so understanding! We’ve never seen anything like it.” -Deuteronomy 4:5-6 (MSG)

3.) To David God said:

“I hear the Lord saying, “I will stay close to you, instructing and guiding you along the pathway for your life. I will advise you along the way and lead you forth with my eyes as your guide. So don’t make it difficult; don’t be stubborn when I take you where you’ve not been before. Don’t make me tug you and pull you along. Just come with me!” -Psalm 32:8-9 (The Passion Translation)

4.) To Israel and Judah, through Jeremiah, God said:

“The sins of Israel and Judah—the sins of the people, of their kings, officers, priests, and prophets—stir me up. They have turned their backs upon me and refused to return; day after day, year after year, I taught them right from wrong, but they would not listen or obey.” -Jeremiah 32:32-33 (TLB)

5.) Jesus, speaking to His listeners said:

“It is written in the Prophets, ‘They will all be taught by God.’ Everyone who has listened and learned from the Father comes to Me.” -John 6:45 (Tree of Life Version)

“If any of you is deficient in wisdom, let him ask of the giving God [Who gives] to everyone liberally and ungrudgingly, without reproaching or faultfinding, and it will be given him.” ~James 1:5 (Amplified Bible, Classic Edition)

My friend, God has personally promised to be our Teacher. He wants us to know the way we should go. He wants us to walk in obedience to what His Word tells us, and if we do so, we will benefit and be blessed. Allow God to be your Teacher. Listen to His still, small voice.

“He remembers our frame and knows that we are dust. He may sometimes chasten us, it is true, but even this He does with a smile, the proud, tender smile of a Father who is bursting with pleasure over an imperfect but promising son who is coming every day to look more and more like the One whose child he is.” ~A. W. Tozer

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, teach me your ways. You are the Teacher, I am the pupil. You are my Papa, I am your child. Teach me your ways, I pray, that I may obediently walk in them. As I study your Word, illuminate it to me, so that I may have wisdom and understanding. Help my heart and ears to be in tune with your Holy Spirit, being prompt to listen to do His bidding quickly. Thank you, Lord.