God Will Do What He Says – Isaiah 48:14-15

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 48:14-15 (NIV)

“Come together, all of you, and listen: which of the idols has foretold these things? The Lord’s chosen ally will carry out his purpose against Babylon; his arm will be against the Babylonians. I, even I, have spoken; yes, I have called him. I will bring him, and he will succeed in his mission.”

Isaiah 48:14-15 (MSG)

“Come everybody, gather around, listen: Who among the gods has delivered the news? I, God, love this man Cyrus, and I’m using him to do what I want with Babylon. I, yes I, have spoken. I’ve called him.
I’ve brought him here. He’ll be successful.”

****************************************

“Assemble, all of you, and listen! Who among them [the idols and Chaldean astrologers] has declared these things? The Lord loves him (Cyrus of Persia); he will do His pleasure and purpose against Babylon, and his arm will be against the Chaldeans [who reign in Babylon]. I, even I, have spoken; indeed, I have called Cyrus; I have brought him, and will make his way successful.” -AMPLIFIED

“It is the LORD’s love for us that makes Him want us to obey and praise Him. Love desires, quite properly, that things work according to their design and purpose. We were designed and purposed to obey and praise our Creator. God can call us to submit to Him, and honor Him, for our good, not to satisfy some need in God. So, just as much as it is the love of the LORD for His people that shall do His pleasure on Babylon – punishing this nation that set itself against His people – so it is the love of the LORD that allows the refining fires to touch His people.” ~David Guzik

In yesterday’s text Israel was told to take a good look at God’s power and might. He reminded them that He was the One and only God. He alone has been from the beginning, and He alone will be the last One, in the end:

“Listen to me, O Jacob, Israel, whom I have called:
    I am the One and Only, the First and the Last.
With my mighty hand I laid the foundation of the earth; with the span of my right hand I spread out the cosmos. And when I speak to them, they both stand at attention.” -Isaiah 48:12-13 (The Passion Translation)

Remember, earlier in the chapter Adonai had told Israel this:

“You have heard what I foretold and have seen it all unfold,
    so admit that it happened and I was right!
    From now on I will tell you about new things never seen before,
    hidden things, well-guarded secrets you know nothing about.” -Isaiah 48:6 (The Passion Translation)

Now, we find Him revealing what this new this is.

“Come and listen, all of you! Did any of you tell in advance that the Eternal’s beloved would press diligently against Babylon’s might and overcome Chaldea as He desired? Eternal One: No, only I, I the Eternal One knew this would happen. I was the one who summoned him, who led him, who determined that he would have such victory.” -(VOICE)

Again, we find God telling Israel to “listen up”. What He has to say is important, and they need to be paying attention. He is pleading with His people, because He loves them, to listen and start taking Him at His Word. Those idols that Israel has been turning to for help, Israel is once again reminded of their impotency and lack of power.

God explains to His people that He has chosen their deliverer, and it is not someone that they would have expected. Does this sound familiar? It should, for God had given a similar Message to Israel back in chapter 45:

“This is Jehovah’s message to Cyrus, God’s anointed, whom he has chosen to conquer many lands. God shall empower his right hand, and he shall crush the strength of mighty kings. God shall open the gates of Babylon to him; the gates shall not be shut against him anymore. I will go before you, Cyrus, and level the mountains and smash down the city gates of brass and iron bars. And I will give you treasures hidden in the darkness, secret riches; and you will know that I am doing this—I, the Lord, the God of Israel, the one who calls you by your name. And why have I named you for this work? For the sake of Jacob, my servant—Israel, my chosen. I called you by name when you didn’t know me.” -Isaiah 45:1-4 (TLB)

The Lord is going to intervene on behalf of Israel against Babylon. Remember what was prophesied and promised in chapter 46:

“Don’t forget this, O guilty ones. And don’t forget the many times I clearly told you what was going to happen in the future. For I am God—I only—and there is no other like me who can tell you what is going to happen. All I say will come to pass, for I do whatever I wish. I will call that swift bird of prey from the east—that man Cyrus from far away. And he will come and do my bidding. I have said I would do it and I will.” -Isaiah 46:8-11 (AMP)

God will accomplish what He said He would do. Wait and see!

“What he has spoken, he brings to pass. What he has planned, he does.” ~Avraham Gileadi 

“Come, all of you, and listen. Among all your idols, which one has ever told you this: “The Lord loves Cyrus. He will use him to put an end to the empire of Babylonia. He will utterly rout the armies of the Chaldeans”? But I am saying it. I have called Cyrus; I have sent him on this errand, and I will prosper him.” -(TLB)

I remind you of something that Balaam said to Balak which is found in the book of Numbers, Balaam told Balak that God cannot go back on His promises. He cannot lie:

“And Balaam recited His words. Balaam: Listen up, Balak, and attend to these words:
        Hear, son of Zippor, what God has to say to you. God is not a man—He doesn’t lie.
        God isn’t the son of a man to want to take back what He’s said,  Or say something and not follow through, or speak and not act on it.” -Numbers 23:18-19 (VOICE)

Even in the New Testament we are reminded that we can trust God and take His Word as truth. The writer of Hebrews tells us this:

“He has given us both his promise and his oath, two things we can completely count on, for it is impossible for God to tell a lie. Now all those who flee to him to save them can take new courage when they hear such assurances from God; now they can know without doubt that he will give them the salvation he has promised them.” -Hebrews 6:18 (TLB)

The writer of Psalm 119 had learned to take God at His Word, and found comfort and peace in God’s promises. He wrote:

“In all of my affliction I find great comfort in your promises,
    for they have kept me alive!” -Psalm 119:50 (The Passion Translation)

“God is righteous and what He commands us by His Word to do is righteous. There will never be any variance between what God says He is; what He says He will do and what He teaches us through His Word.” ~Tim Byrd

My friend, we too can take God at His Word. What He has said He will do; He will do. He cannot lie, so you can trust Him, He only wants the best for you.

“Faith…involves trusting in the future promises of God and waiting for their fulfillment.” ~R.C. Sproul

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, forgive me for those times I have questioned what you have done and allowed to happen in my life. Help me, Lord, to trust you, no matter what happens. Remind me that you always keep your Word. Too often, when I did not understand, when I could not see with my physical eyes, how you would bring to pass your promises, I rushed ahead of you and made a mess. I am sorry, Lord. Help me to be still and allow you to be God in my life. Help me to have faith and trust that you will do as you promised. You are the One, Lord, who I can always trust in, help me to learn how to trust you more. Allow my faith and trust grow stronger as I make this journey through life, even when I cannot see or understand what you are doing. Lord, here is my hand, please lead me. Thank you.