When God Speaks; Things Happen -Isaiah 48:3

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 48:3 (NIV)

“I foretold the former things long ago, my mouth announced them and I made them known; then suddenly I acted, and they came to pass.”

Isaiah 48:3 (MSG)

“For a long time now, I’ve let you in on the way I work: I told you what I was going to do beforehand, then I did it and it was done, and that’s that.”

*************************

“I have declared the former things [which happened to Israel] in times past; they went forth from My mouth and I proclaimed them; suddenly I acted, and they came to pass.” -AMPLIFIED

This section recapitulates the revelation that Yahweh predicts the future, so that when the event He predicts happens, people will recognize that He is the only true God. He can cause new things to happen because He alone is the Creator. Again, the critics’ disbelief in God’s ability to predict the future and then bring it into being is the problem.” ~Thomas Constable

As we began looking into Isaiah 48, we learned that this next Message was directed towards the kingdom of Judah. Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, reminded them that He knew the state of their hearts, and that they were just paying Him lip service, and their hearts were not in their worship. God reprimanded Judah in this way:

“Listen carefully, O Jacob’s tribes, you who are called by the name Israel
    and come from the lineage of Judah, who solemnly swear in the name of Yahweh
    and claim to worship the God of Israel. But there is no truth or righteousness in your confession!
Indeed, you name yourselves after the holy city and say that you depend upon Israel’s God.
    Yahweh, the Commander of Angel Armies, is his name.” -Isaiah 48:1-2 (The Passion Translation)

In today’s text, we find Adonai reminding Judah that what He says will happen, will indeed happen, and it will happen quickly.

“The LORD has shown Israel His power to declare the future in predictive prophecy.” ~David Guzik

“Eternal One: In times long past, I determined and announced the things that would come. Then suddenly I acted, and they indeed happened.” -(VOICE)

God’s Message to the kingdom of Judah begins this way:

“Long ago, when I told you something would happen, it did. From the very beginning of time, I have proclaimed words, which came forth from my mouth, and immediately came to pass, exactly as I said. Is anything too difficult for me?”

It was important for Judah to understand that there is action behind God’s words. When He speaks things happen; He was not just blowing hot air into the wind.

“Time and again I told you what was going to happen in the future. My words were scarcely spoken when suddenly I did just what I said.” -(TLB)

“I did them suddenly – They came to pass at an unexpected time; when you were not looking for them, and when perhaps you were doubting whether they would occur, or were calling in question the divine veracity. The idea is, that God in like manner would, certainly, and suddenly, accomplish his predictions about Babylon, and their release from their captivity.” ~Albert Barnes

John’s Gospel begins by deliberating about the “Word”, which John tells us, in no uncertain terms, is God Himself. John wrote:

“In the beginning [before all time] was the Word (Christ), and the Word was with God, and the Word was God Himself. He was [continually existing] in the beginning [co-eternally] with God. All things were made and came into existence through Him; and without Him not even one thing was made that has come into being. In Him was life [and the power to bestow life], and the life was the Light of men. The Light shines on in the darkness, and the darkness did not understand it or overpower it or appropriate it or absorb it [and is unreceptive to it].” -John 1:1-5 (AMP)

The writer of Hebrews took the time to warn and remind his readers of the strength and power of the Word of God. He wrote:

“See, the Word of God is alive! It is at work and is sharper than any double-edged sword — it cuts right through to where soul meets spirit and joints meet marrow, and it is quick to judge the inner reflections and attitudes of the heart.” -Hebrews 4:12 (Complete Jewish Bible)

Further along in the book of Isaiah, we will find God pointing out to Israel that His ways were not their ways, and His thoughts were not their thoughts. He pointedly told them that His Word would never come back to Him without accomplishing exactly what He intended it to do.

Eternal One: My intentions are not always yours, and I do not go about things as you do.
My thoughts and My ways are above and beyond you, just as heaven is far from your reach here on earth.
For as rain and snow can’t go back once they’ve fallen, but soak into the ground
    And nourish the plants that grow, providing seed to the farmer and bread for the hungry,
So it is when I declare something. My word will go out and not return to Me empty,
    But it will do what I wanted; it will accomplish what I determined.” -Isaiah 55:8-11 (VOICE)

“God is speaking to all of us, all the time. The question is not, to whom does God talk? The question is, who listens?” ~Neale Donald Walsch

My friend, God is speaking to each of us. Sometimes it comes in the quietness of our hearts, or His Holy Word, the Bible, or through a pastor, or Christian friend. The point is, He is speaking, and what He says will come to pass. Remember, His Word will not come back empty or void. There is action behind His Words, and His promises. Trust that He is at work in your situation. Have faith that He is working all things out for your good and His glory.

“We usually hear what we want to hear and turn a deaf ear to everything else. But remember the package deal? If we don’t listen to everything God has to say, we eventually won’t hear anything He has to say. And we probably need to hear most what we want to hear least. But this I know for sure: His tone of voice is always loving. Sometimes it’s tough love in the form of rebuke or discipline, but it’s loving, nonetheless.” ~Mark Batterson

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, speak to me, as I sit still in your presence. Remind me of who you are, and of what you can do in, and through me. Your Holy Word tells me that your Words pack power and action behind them, and that when you speak, things will happen, and those Words never come back to you unfulfilled or empty. I sit now, listening for your voice, trusting you to bring about all that you have promised. Speak Lord, for in you there is hope, love, joy, and life, and things happen.