God’s Will Be Done – Isaiah 46:12-13

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 46:12-13 (NIV)

“Listen to me, you stubborn-hearted, you who are now far from my righteousness. I am bringing my righteousness near, it is not far away; and my salvation will not be delayed. I will grant salvation to Zion, my splendor to Israel.”

Isaiah 46:12-13 (MSG)

“Now listen to me: You’re a hardheaded bunch and hard to help. I’m ready to help you right now. Deliverance is not a long-range plan. Salvation isn’t on hold. I’m putting salvation to work in Zion now, and glory in Israel.”

***************************

“Listen to Me, you stiff-necked people, you who are far from righteousness (right standing with God). I bring near My righteousness [in the salvation of Israel], it is not far away; and My salvation will not delay. and I will grant salvation in Zion, and My glory for Israel.” -AMPLIFIED

“My salvation shall not linger: God’s people need to remember that God’s timing is always precise and wise. When we are stubborn-hearted we need to listen to the LORD and remember He never delays and is never late. God always has His deliverer, and always knows exactly when to bring His deliverance.” ~David Guzik

Yesterday’s text reminded us that Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, is also the Omniscient One. He alone knows the beginning from the end. In fact, He alone knows all things.

“I declare from the beginning how it will end
    and foretell from the start what has not yet happened.
    I decree that my purpose will stand,
    and I will fulfill my every plan. I called that bird of prey Cyrus, swooping in from the east;
    from a distant land he came, the man of my purpose.
    I have spoken, and yes, I will bring it to pass.
    I have formed my plan, and yes, I will do it.” -Isaiah 46:10-11 (The Passion Translation)

God has foretold of the coming of Cyrus, the one He has chosen to deliver His people.

“Listen closely, you strong-willed people who have veered far from the right path. It won’t be long until I make things right; My salvation is getting closer and closer; it won’t be delayed. I am ready to rescue Zion, My chosen place, and display My beauty and splendor to Israel, My chosen people.” -(VOICE)

We find God calling Israel out on their stubbornness, and unrighteousness, this was not the first time either. Their stubborn insistence on worshiping and relying on a hunk of wood to deliver them (idols), has gotten them into a trouble once again. Their relationship with God was non-existent, yet He has reminded them who they are, children of the Most High. He has encouraged them to “remember” what He has done for them in the past. He has reminded them that He, the Omniscient One, knows exactly what will happen in the future. And He was declaring it would be deliverance.

God said to the people of Israel:

“I am bringing my righteousness closer to you; it is not far off. My deliverance will not be delayed,
    for I will set my salvation in Zion for Israel my glory!” -(The Passion Translation)

God will do what needs to be done, including bringing salvation to His people, and restoring them, for Israel was/is His glory. Remember, God will accomplish His plans:

“Eternal One: My intentions are not always yours,
        and I do not go about things as you do.
My thoughts and My ways are above and beyond you,
        just as heaven is far from your reach here on earth.
For as rain and snow can’t go back once they’ve fallen,
        but soak into the ground
    And nourish the plants that grow,
        providing seed to the farmer and bread for the hungry,
So it is when I declare something.
        My word will go out and not return to Me empty,
    But it will do what I wanted;
        it will accomplish what I determined.
” -Isaiah 55:8-11 (VOICE)

“Listen to me, you stubborn, evil men! For I am offering you my deliverance; not in the distant future, but right now! I am ready to save you, and I will restore Jerusalem and Israel, who is my glory.” -(TLB)

In the past God had given Israel a choice: life and good, or death and evil. But we find Him encouraging them to choose life:

“Listen closely, I have set before you today life and prosperity (good), and death and adversity (evil); in that I command you today to love the Lord your God, to walk [that is, to live each and every day] in His ways and to keep His commandments and His statutes and His judgments (precepts), so that you will live and multiply, and that the Lord your God will bless you in the land which you are entering to possess.” -Deuteronomy 30:15-16 (AMP)

Let us take to heart the words of wisdom that Solomon taught to his son, and follow his advice:

“Trust the Lord with all your heart. Don’t depend on your own understanding.
Remember the Lord in everything you do. And he will give you success. Don’t depend on your own wisdom. Respect the Lord and refuse to do wrong.
Then your body will be healthy. And your bones will be strong. Honor the Lord by giving him part of your wealth. Give him the firstfruits from all your crops.
Then your barns will be full. And your wine barrels will overflow with new wine. My child, do not reject the Lord’s discipline. And don’t become angry when he corrects you.
The Lord corrects those he loves, just as a father corrects the child that he likes.” -Proverbs 3:5-12 (ICB)

And may we pray the way that Jesus taught His disciples to pray, “Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.”

“‘Our Beloved Father, dwelling in the heavenly realms, may the glory of your name
    be the center on which our lives turn. Manifest your kingdom realm,
    and cause your every purpose to be fulfilled on earth, just as it is in heaven.
We acknowledge you as our Provider of all we need each day.
Forgive us the wrongs we have done as we ourselves release forgiveness to those who have wronged us.
Rescue us every time we face tribulation and set us free from evil.
    For you are the King who rules with power and glory forever. Amen.’” -Matthew 6:9-13 (The Passion Translation)

Let us be careful that we are not hard-hearted and stubborn. Instead, let us have the same attitude that Jesus had when He prayed:

“Father, if You are willing, take this cup away from Me. Yet not My will, but Your will, be done.” -Luke 22:42 (VOICE)

The Apostle Paul reminds us to think of ourselves in humility. In other words, God’s will should take preeminence over ours. Paul, speaking to the Philippians, said:

“Think of yourselves the way Christ Jesus thought of himself. He had equal status with God but didn’t think so much of himself that he had to cling to the advantages of that status no matter what. Not at all. When the time came, he set aside the privileges of deity and took on the status of a slave, became human! Having become human, he stayed human. It was an incredibly humbling process. He didn’t claim special privileges. Instead, he lived a selfless, obedient life and then died a selfless, obedient death—and the worst kind of death at that—a crucifixion. Because of that obedience, God lifted him high and honored him far beyond anyone or anything, ever, so that all created beings in heaven and on earth—even those long ago dead and buried—will bow in worship before this Jesus Christ, and call out in praise that he is the Master of all, to the glorious honor of God the Father.” -Philippians 2:5-11 (MSG)

“Will we see our greatest hope in the sovereignty of God, or will we insist there is a better one?” ~John Piper

My friend, how will you choose today? Will you insist on doing things your own way? I caution you; this way will lead to strife between you and God. Or, will you pray, like Jesus did, “Lord, may your will be done in my life.” This attitude will lead to a life of blessing. Choose well.

“God was giving them a choice. God wanted his people to enjoy the bounty of the Promised Land. But he didn’t make them accept it. The choice was theirs. This is a picture of salvation—of coming out of slavery to sin into freedom in Christ. In order to enjoy life in the Promised Land, the Israelites had to choose to obey God. You, too, have to choose whether you’ll accept God’s salvation and the good things he’s planned for you. God could have made you a puppet, but he didn’t. He gives you the ability to choose. If you choose poorly, that choice is your greatest curse. If you choose wisely, it’s your greatest blessing. Today God gives you a choice between life—choosing salvation and his path—or death. Which path will you choose?” ~Rick Warren

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, forgive me, I pray, for all of those times that I have stubbornly insisted on doing things my way, and not yours. I understand that that was wrong of me, and I was sinning. I humbly ask that you renew within my heart a right spirit. I pray that your will be done in my life, for I know that whatever you have planned for my life is good. Please, help me to have the attitude of your Son, Jesus, who was willing to even go to the cross in obedience to YOU. I may not know what life holds for me, Lord, but you do. You are working all things out for good. Help me to trust you, Lord. I choose to humbly submit to your will in my life. Have your way in me, Lord.