God Knows – Isaiah 46:10-11

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 46:10-11 (NIV)

“I make known the end from the beginning, from ancient times, what is still to come. I say, ‘My purpose will stand, and I will do all that I please.’ From the east I summon a bird of prey; from a far-off land, a man to fulfill my purpose. What I have said, that I will bring about; what I have planned, that I will do.”

Isaiah 46:10-11 (MSG)

“From the very beginning telling you what the ending will be, all along letting you in on what is going to happen, assuring you, ‘I’m in this for the long haul, I’ll do exactly what I set out to do,’ Calling that eagle, Cyrus, out of the east, from a far country the man I chose to help me. I’ve said it, and I’ll most certainly do it. I’ve planned it, so it’s as good as done.”

***********************************************

“Declaring the end and the result from the beginning, and from ancient times the things which have not [yet] been done, saying, ‘My purpose will be established, and I will do all that pleases Me and fulfills My purpose,’ Calling a bird of prey from the east, from a far country, the man (Cyrus) of My purpose. Truly I have spoken; truly I will bring it to pass. I have planned it, be assured I will do it.” -AMPLIFIED

God had throughout history predicted how history would unfold, including things that had not happened previously. His revelations were in harmony with His purpose to carry out His beneficial will for humankind. Most recently He had predicted Cyrus, who would descend on Babylon like an eagle on a rabbit. His audience could count on this prediction coming to pass, because it was just the latest example of what He had done since the beginning.” ~Thomas Constable

In yesterday’s passage, we found God appealing to Israel to “remember” their past. Most importantly, remember what He, Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, had miraculously done for them, and what He had told them.

“Keep this in mind and don’t forget it!
    Take this to heart, you rebels!
Remember the miracles of long ago.
    Acknowledge that I am God, and there is no other.
    I am God, and there is none like me.” -Isaiah 46:8-9 (The Passion Translation)

In today’s passage, God’s Message to Israel continues. In today’s portion, we find God reminding Israel that only He, the Omniscient One, knows what will happen. He reminds them that what He has planned and declared, will come to pass.

“From the beginning I declare how things will end; from times long past, I tell what is yet to be, saying: “My intentions will come to pass.  I will make things happen as I determine they should.” I am the one who called Cyrus, the bird of prey from the east; from a land far away I summoned him to do what I intend. My word went out, and I will see it done. My plan has been made, and I will see it through.” -(VOICE)

God alone has the ability of foretelling accurately the course of future events. Only He can declare the end from the beginning. This argument is one to which God appeals to as proof that he alone is the One, True God, for no other “god” has ever foretold of future events and had them come to pass.

God reminds Israel that He has a purpose and a plan in all that is happening in their lives. In fact, He has already prepared Cyrus to be their deliverer from Babylon. (Remember, this prophecy was written over 150 years before Cyrus was even born.)

“Sometime around the year 700 BC, the prophet Isaiah gave an amazing prophecy, in which he stated that God would use someone named Cyrus to deliver His people from captivity.  This was fulfilled in 536 BC, perhaps 150-160 years later, when Cyrus the Great of Persia invaded Babylon, took the city, and released the Jews who had been taken captive by the Babylonians, with instructions to return to Jerusalem and rebuild the temple.” ~Jon Gleason

When God speaks, He accomplishes what He says He will do. You can always count on that fact.

“… who can tell you what is going to happen. All I say will come to pass, for I do whatever I wish. I will call that swift bird of prey from the east—that man Cyrus from far away. And he will come and do my bidding. I have said I would do it and I will.” -(TLB)

“The essential point is that God’s people must remember this about the LORD – that He knows the end from the beginning and is in control over all things. When we remember this, we will show ourselves men. We can have tremendous courage in our God when we understand and remember who He is and what He does.” ~David Guzik

Further along in the book of Isaiah we find God telling Israel that He does not think the way that we think, nor are His ways our ways. He also tells them that what He says will come to pass, for His Word will not return void. Here is His Message to them:

“For my thoughts about mercy are not like your thoughts, and my ways are different from yours.
As high as the heavens are above the earth, so my ways and my thoughts are higher than yours.
As the snow and rain that fall from heaven do not return until they have accomplished their purpose,
    soaking the earth and causing it to sprout with new life, providing seed to sow and bread to eat.
So also will be the word that I speak; it does not return to me unfulfilled.
    
My word performs my purpose and fulfills the mission I sent it out to accomplish.” -Isaiah 55:8-11 (The Passion Translation)

Jeremiah reminds us, in the book that he wrote, that nothing is too difficult for God.

“Adonai, God! You made heaven and earth by your great power and outstretched arm; nothing is too hard for you.” -Jeremiah 32:17 (Complete Jewish Bible)

The author of Psalm 145 reminds us of this truth that we need to take to heart:

“How great is our God!
    There’s absolutely nothing his power cannot accomplish,
    and he has infinite understanding of everything.” -Psalm 147:5 (The Passion Translation)

“God Is Omnipotent, Omnipresent, and Omniscient; so why do we struggle to trust him when our lives get chaotic?” ~Jack Wellman

My friend, it may seem that your life is in a state of chaos at the moment, at least to you. But God has a purpose and a plan, never forget that. Remember this, He is Sovereign and Omniscient. He has a purpose and a plan for every life. What He has said will happen, and His intentions are for good, not evil. Will you trust Him in the process?

“God is completely sovereign. God is infinite in wisdom. God is perfect in love. God in His love always wills what is best for us. In His wisdom He always knows what is best, and in His sovereignty, He has the power to bring it about.” ~Jeff Bridges

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, help me to grasp and understand that you are always in control, for you alone are Sovereign, and you alone are Omniscient. What you say will happen, your plans, will come to pass, in your time and in your way. Remind me that there are no surprises for you, for you know the beginning and the end of every life. Forgive me for those times that I have not trusted you and your plans. In the chaos of this life, remind me that you know everything, and what you have foretold about my life, will indeed come to pass. Thank you, Lord.