Allegiance to God – Isaiah 45:22-23

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 45:22-23 (NIV)

“Turn to me and be saved, all you ends of the earth; for I am God, and there is no other. By myself I have sworn, my mouth has uttered in all integrity a word that will not be revoked: Before me every knee will bow; by me every tongue will swear.”

Isaiah 45:22-23 (MSG)

“So turn to me and be helped—saved!—everyone, whoever and wherever you are. I am God, the only God there is, the one and only. I promise in my own name: Every word out of my mouth does what it says. I never take back what I say. Everyone is going to end up kneeling before me. Everyone is going to end up saying of me…”

**********************************************

“Turn to Me and be saved, all the ends of the earth; for I am God, and there is no other. I have sworn [an oath] by Myself, the word is gone out of My mouth in righteousness and shall not return, that to Me every knee shall bow, every tongue shall swear [allegiance].” -AMPLIFIED

“The LORD here declares there will come a day when every knee shall bow to Him, and every tongue will swear by His greatness.” ~David Guzik

In yesterday’s passage from Isaiah, we were reminded that Jehovah is the One that we seek. He alone is the One, True God.

“Come together! Assemble yourselves!
    Draw near, you refugees from among the nations.
    Those who parade their powerless wooden idols
    have no revelation knowledge.
    They keep on praying to gods who cannot save them.
Declare what is to be and state your case.
    Go ahead and take counsel together.
    Who knew all about this and declared it long ago?
    Was it not I, Yahweh? There is no god apart from me.
    I am a righteous God and a Savior.
    There is no one you can compare to me.” -Isaiah 45:20-21 (The Passion Translation)

Today’s passage admonishes us to look to God for our salvation. It is also foretold that one day, every knee will bow, and tongue confess that Jehovah is the Authority.

“So turn your back on those idols and your face to Me. I will save you, wherever you are, to the ends of the earth, For I am God. There is none other. I make this solemn vow; I have spoken a word—faithful and true—and it will not return; it will be done. My words have wings; they will be accomplished; every knee will bow down to Me. Every tongue will swear allegiance to Me.” -(VOICE)

The reader is instructed to turn to Yahweh for salvation, for He is the only One who can save us. Yahweh makes an oath, what He says is Truth. He foretells of the day when every knee will bow and submit to His authority, and every tongue will pledge allegiance to Him.

We need to understand that this has prophecy not happened yet. This is a foretelling about the future, that period of time when Jesus Christ will reign as King and Lord of all.

“Let all the world look to me for salvation! For I am God; there is no other. I have sworn by myself, and I will never go back on my word, for it is true—that every knee in all the world shall bow to me, and every tongue shall swear allegiance to my name.” -(TLB)

God Himself swore that everyone will eventually bow to His authority (some as condemned sinners and others as pardoned worshippers) and appeal to Him In view of this, it is only reasonable to call on Him for salvation now. This word from God, confirmed with His oath, is as reliable as His promises to Abraham and His words predicting Cyrus’ activities.” ~Thomas Constable

Willingly or unwillingly, one day every knee will bow before the Creator, and acknowledge that He is the One, True God, and that there is no other. Even in the New Testament we find evidence supporting this Truth.

Paul, writing to the Romans, and cautioning about their critical spirits, said this:

“Eventually, we’re all going to end up kneeling side by side in the place of judgment, facing God. Your critical and condescending ways aren’t going to improve your position there one bit. Read it for yourself in Scripture: “As I live and breathe,” God says,
    “every knee will bow before me;
Every tongue will tell the honest truth
    that I and only I am God.” -Romans 14:11 (MSG)

Again, we turn to Paul, this time he was writing to the Philippians. Paul was sharing with them about the obedience and humility of Christ, and he reminded them that of what Scripture said about submitting to the authority of Jesus. Paul wrote:

“For this reason also [because He obeyed and so completely humbled Himself], God has highly exalted Him and bestowed on Him the name which is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee shall bow [in submission], of those who are in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and that every tongue will confess and openly acknowledge that Jesus Christ is Lord (sovereign God), to the glory of God the Father.” -Philippians 2:9-11 (AMP)

 “It is, perhaps, one of the hardest struggles of the Christian life to learn this sentence – “Not unto us, not unto us, but unto Thy name be glory.”” ~Charles Spurgeon

In the book of Revelation, John tells us what he foresaw would happen, that point in time when this prophecy from God came to pass. John wrote down for us his vision:

“Then I looked, and I heard the voices of myriads of angels in circles around the throne, as well as the voices of the living creatures and the elders—myriads and myriads! And as I watched, all of them were singing with thunderous voices: “Worthy is Christ the Lamb who was slaughtered to receive great power and might, wealth and wisdom, and honor, glory, and praise!” Then every living being joined the angelic choir. Every creature in heaven and on earth, under the earth, in the sea, and everything in them, were worshiping with one voice, saying: “Praise, honor, glory, and dominion be to God-Enthroned and to Christ the Lamb forever and ever!” Then the four living creatures responded: “Amen!” And the twenty-four elders threw themselves facedown to the ground and worshiped.” -Revelation 5:11-14 (The Passion Translation)

“Revelation is the first step to holiness, and consecration is the second. A day must come in our lives, as definite as the day of our conversion, when we give up all right to ourselves and submit to the absolute Lordship of Jesus Christ.” ~Watchman Nee

My friend, a day is coming, soon, when every knee will bow in allegiance to the One True God, and will acknowledge and confess that He alone has complete authority over all things. I hope and pray that our hearts are prepared to do so even now. For no man knows when they will meet their Maker. Are you living a life wholly submitted to your Lord and Savior? If not, look to Him for your salvation today.

“The will of God for your life is simply that you submit yourself to Him each day and say, “Father, Your will for today is mine. Your pleasure for today is mine. Your work for today is mine. I trust You to be God. You lead me today and I will follow.” ~Kay Arthur

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, You alone are God, and there is no other; I acknowledge this as Truth. You alone hold all authority. And I know that one day, every knee will bow before you, pledging allegiance to you as King and Lord over all. Today, Lord, I recognize you as my King. I submit to your will in my life, and I accept your salvation for me. I will declare with my mouth that Jesus Christ is my Lord and Savior, and there is no other. I pledge my allegiance to you, my Lord and my God.