God Will do it – Isaiah 45:12-13

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 45:12-13 (NIV)

“It is I who made the earth and created mankind on it. My own hands stretched out the heavens; I marshaled their starry hosts. I will raise up Cyrus in my righteousness: I will make all his ways straight.
He will rebuild my city and set my exiles free, but not for a price or reward, says the Lord Almighty.”

Isaiah 45:12-13 (MSG)

“I made earth, and I created man and woman to live on it. I handcrafted the skies and direct all the constellations in their turnings. And now I’ve got Cyrus on the move. I’ve rolled out the red carpet before him. He will build my city. He will bring home my exiles. I didn’t hire him to do this. I told him.  I, God-of-the-Angel-Armies.”

*********************************

“I made the earth and created man upon it. My hands, stretched out the heavens, and I commanded all their host. I have stirred up Cyrus and put him into action in righteousness [to accomplish My purpose] and I will make all his ways smooth; he will build My city and let My exiles go, without any payment or reward,” says the Lord of hosts.” -AMPLIFIED

“In the Old Testament the Creator is not only the One who began everything, but also the One who maintains everything in existence, controls and guides everything.” ~J. Alec Motyer

In yesterday’s passage of Scripture, we found asking the people of Israel who they thought they were, question His motives.

“Listen to what Yahweh,
    the Holy One of Israel, the One who shaped him, has to say:
    “Why do you question me about the destiny of my children
     or tell me what to do with my children and what I have made?” -Isaiah 45:11 (The Passion Translation)

As we continue in this passage, we find God reminding Israel who is truly in charge of everything, He is.

“It is I who made the very ground on which you stand, I who shaped the human beings who walk around on it. I pulled the sky and the heavens taut with My own hands, and organized the army of stars that march across the night sky. So it was perfectly right for me to raise up Cyrus; I will make his road ahead straight and level, so that he will rebuild My chosen place, My city Jerusalem, and set My exiled people free without exacting a price or seeking a bribe. So says the Eternal, Commander of heavenly armies.” -(VOICE)

As we read through this passage, we will see a reoccurring theme, it is this: God will do what Israel needs for Him to do. God will do it. After all, He is the Creator of all things. He made the heavens and the earth. With His own hands he spread out the cosmos and commanded the millions of stars to shine. Would taking care of His own people be too difficult for Him? Of course not!

Once again, we find God telling Israel that He would raise up someone who would be their deliverer. His name would be Cyrus, and Cyrus would accomplish God’s purposes in His righteousness.

We have stated this before, but God’s plans would come about in a very different way than Israel expected. God would deliver them. He would restore them home, but it would be done in His way, not theirs. He had chosen an unlikely candidate, at least in the eyes of Israel, to carry out His plans. And God tells the people that He will personally direct the footsteps of Cyrus. And Cyrus will build up God’s holy city, Jerusalem. He will set God’s people, Israel, free, allowing them to return to their home country.

“He will build my city and release my exiled people,
    not because he was bribed or hired to do it,
    declares the Almighty Yahweh!” -(TPT)

How will this happen? God will do it, and it will happen through His willing and obedient servant Cyrus. God said so, so it must be truth. God always keeps His promises.

“I have made the earth and created man upon it. With my hands I have stretched out the heavens and commanded all the vast myriads of stars. I have raised up Cyrus to fulfill my righteous purpose, and I will direct all his paths. He shall restore my city and free my captive peopleand not for a reward!” -(TLB)

“I will direct all his ways; he shall build My city and let My exiles go free: The God of all power and creation uses that power on behalf of His people. He will direct the ways of the announced deliverer – Cyrus – and cause him to rebuild Jerusalem and release the people of God captive in a foreign land. And Cyrus would do it not for price or reward, but out of a conviction from God that he must do it ” ~David Guzik

In the book of Ezra, we find a documentation of how this prophecy played out. Ezra records for us how Cyrus sent out a decree that the Jews might return to their home in Judah. Ezra writes this:

“During the first year of King Cyrus of Persia’s reign in 539 b.c., the Eternal One influenced the spirit of the Persian king to send a proclamation and written letter throughout his empire, fulfilling the Eternal’s earlier message through the prophet Jeremiah. Cyrus’ Proclamation: The Eternal One, the God of heaven, has decided to give me all the kingdoms of the world to rule as my own. In return for this, He has told me to build Him a new house in Jerusalem of Judah. Any of His people living in my empire may return to Jerusalem of Judah with the help of the Eternal God. There you may rebuild the temple of the Eternal, Israel’s God, with my resources and blessing, because He is the God who lives in Jerusalem.” -Ezra 1:1-3 (VOICE)

Israel needed to remember what God had done for them in the past. They also needed to remember that God always keeps His promises, and does exactly what He says He will do. In the book of Joshua there is a good reminder of this truth.

“So Adonai gave to Israel the entire land that He had sworn to give to their fathers. They took possession and settled in it. Then Adonai gave them rest on all sides, just as He had sworn to their fathers. Not one man of all their enemies withstood them, for Adonai gave all their enemies into their hand. Not one good thing that Adonai had promised to the house of Israel failed. All came to pass.” -Joshua 21:43-45 (Tree of Life Version)

In the book of Numbers, in the middle of the account of Balaam, we find this bit of advice that we would do well to heed:

“God is not a man, that He should lie,
Nor a son of man, that He should repent.
Has He said, and will He not do it?
Or has He spoken and will He not make it good and fulfill it?” -Numbers 23:19 (AMP)

God always keeps His Word. If He said He would do something, He will do it! Trust Him.

“Don’t miss this! Attention everyone. God keeps his word! God does what he says he will do!” ~Max Lucado

My friend, if God has given you a promise, you can count on Him fulfilling it. Just do not be looking for and expecting Him to do it in a particular way. For He will bring it to pass in His way and in His time. Remember, the Creator of all things is Sovereign and Omnipotent. He knows exactly what we need, and when we need it. He will work all things out for our good in the proper time. Trust Him.

“Again, God has the right to do with His creation what He chooses. If God created the universe, He certainly has the right to shape human history as He will.” ~Thomas Constable

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, please, come and do what you do best in and through my life. I am trusting you, Lord. Even when I cannot see the answer, I choose to trust you. Forgive me for those times that I have come to you with perceived ideas of how I think you should do things. Do what you know is best for me. Please, give me the grace to face whatever it may be. Remind me that you are always walking with me, and I do not need to be afraid. You are my Anchor, my Creator, my Savior, and my Heavenly Father. Your intentions are for good. And though, at times, things are difficult, confusing, even chaotic, I will trust in You, for you are the God who will accomplish exactly what I need. Thank you, Lord. I love and need you, every moment of my life.