Who Are We to Question God? – Isaiah 45:11

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Isaiah 45:11 (NIV)

“This is what the Lord says—the Holy One of Israel, and its Maker: Concerning things to come, do you question me about my children, or give me orders about the work of my hands?”

Isaiah 45:11 (MSG)

“Thus God, The Holy of Israel, Israel’s Maker, says: “Do you question who or what I’m making? Are you telling me what I can or cannot do?”

**************************************

“For the Lord, the Holy One of Israel, and its Maker says this, “Ask Me about the things to come concerning My sons, and give Me orders concerning the work of My hands.” -AMPLIFIED

“Repeatedly through this extended section of Isaiah, God emphasizes His place as Creator. The importance put on this idea here shows us that knowing God as Creator isn’t an option, or just a matter of text-book fights in the courts and public schools. When we reject God as Creator, we reject the God of the Bible, and serve a God of our own imagination. He really did make us, and it really does matter.” ~David Guzik

Yesterday’s text was a reminder to those who choose to rebel against God’s will and way. Those people should expect woe.

“Shame on the one who argues with his Creator,
    like one clay pot among other pots arguing with the potter.
    Should the clay say to the potter,
    ‘What in the world are you doing with me?
    Your hands are clumsy’?
Shame on the one who complains to a father,
    ‘Why in the world did you conceive me?’
     Or to a mother, ‘Why in the world did you bring me to birth?’” -Isaiah 45:9-10 (The Passion Translation)

Notice the reprimand that begins yesterday’s text, “Shame on the one who argues with his Creator…” Today’s text continues with this rebuke, it emphasizes the fact that we have no business questioning God’s reasons and His motives.

“So the Eternal One, who is the Holy One and Maker of Israel, says, Eternal One: Are you really going to question Me about what will happen to My children, or lecture Me about what I should do with the ones I made with My own hands?” -(VOICE)

Isaiah begins with, “Listen to what the Holy One of Israel, your Creator has to say to you.” Israel is instructed to “Listen up.” To “Pay attention!” The Message that is about to be given is of utmost importance. Israel would do well to give their undivided attention and focus to this edit. The Message?

“You ask for signs concerning my children? You give orders concerning the work of my hands?” -(Complete Jewish Bible)

*****************

“Do you dare question me about my own nation or about what I have done?” -(Contemporary English Version)

Instead of striving against the Lord, Israel needed to accept God’s decision for them. Remember, the clay does not argue with the Potter, nor does a child have the right to demand of the parent, “Why did you make me?” God is in charge; He calls the shots.

“Jehovah, the Holy One of Israel, Israel’s Creator, says: What right have you to question what I do? Who are you to command me concerning the work of my hands?” -(TLB)

“Here is God’s thundering answer to the murmuring and complaining Jews who desired indeed their deliverance but would have preferred it to come as they had perhaps imagined rather than as God had decided to provide it. God here reminded them that if they wished to know God’s will and God’s plans concerning his children, they should consult the Word of God, not their own speculations. He reminded them that he was the Maker, the Creator, the Ruler and the Sustainer of the whole universe, that he commanded the host of heaven, and that he had also raised up Cyrus to deliver Israel and to rebuild God’s City (Jerusalem), and that was exactly what was going to happen, whether or not Israel liked it! Moreover, God here promised that he would protect and guide Cyrus in the doing of those things prophesied. He would “make straight all of his ways.” ~James Burton Coffman (Coffman Commentaries)

Let’s take a look into the Word of God and see what it has to say about question God’s motives in our lives.

Isaiah tells us that man’s thoughts and ways are not God’s. In fact, he tells us that God’s ways are higher, and better. God’s mercy and forgiveness are generous and abundant. Isaiah writes:

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, and your ways are not my ways,” says Adonai.
“As high as the sky is above the earth are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.” -Isaiah 55:8-9 (Complete Jewish Bible)

Paul, writing to the church in Corinth, reminds us that no human could ever understand the thoughts of God, or His reasons for doing things, only Christ could. Paul writes:

“Someone living on an entirely human level rejects the revelations of God’s Spirit, for they make no sense to him. He can’t understand the revelations of the Spirit because they are only discovered by the illumination of the Spirit. Those who live in the Spirit are able to carefully evaluate all things, and they are subject to the scrutiny of no one but God. For Who has ever intimately known the mind of the Lord Yahweh well enough to become his counselor? Christ has, and we possess Christ’s perceptions.” -1 Corinthians 2:14-16 (The Passion Translation)

We do not have the authority to question God’s motives, but we do have the privilege of asking for God’s wisdom to help us. James writes this directive to the church:

“If any of you lacks wisdom [to guide him through a decision or circumstance], he is to ask of [our benevolent] God, who gives to everyone generously and without rebuke or blame, and it will be given to him. But he must ask [for wisdom] in faith, without doubting [God’s willingness to help], for the one who doubts is like a billowing surge of the sea that is blown about and tossed by the wind. For such a person ought not to think or expect that he will receive anything [at all] from the Lord, being a double-minded man, unstable and restless in all his ways [in everything he thinks, feels, or decides].” -James 1:5-8 (AMP)

Let us remember and learn from Solomon’s wisdom. He taught us of the need to trust God and lean not on our own understanding. Solomon reminds us that we need to accept God’s discipline and guidance, for His intentions are good. Remember, God loves you. Solomon writes:

“Trust God from the bottom of your heart;
    don’t try to figure out everything on your own.
Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go;
    he’s the one who will keep you on track.
Don’t assume that you know it all.
    Run to God! Run from evil!
Your body will glow with health,
    your very bones will vibrate with life!
Honor God with everything you own;
    give him the first and the best.
Your barns will burst,
    your wine vats will brim over.
But don’t, dear friend, resent God’s discipline;

    don’t sulk under his loving correction.
It’s the child he loves that God corrects;
    a father’s delight is behind all this.” -Proverbs 3:5-12 (MSG)

“God, give us grace to accept with serenity the things that cannot be changed,
Courage to change the things which should be changed,
and the Wisdom to distinguish the one from the other. Living one day at a time, Enjoying one moment at a time,
Accepting hardship as a pathway to peace, Taking, as Jesus did,
This sinful world as it is, Not as I would have it,
Trusting that You will make all things right, If I surrender to Your will,
So that I may be reasonably happy in this life, And supremely happy with You forever in the next. Amen.”  ~ Reinhold Neibuhr     

My friend, we need to remember our place in our relationship with God. He is the Creator; we are the created. He is our Heavenly Father; we are His children. We do not have the authority to demand answers. This does not mean that we cannot humbly ask why things are happening, but it does mean that we need to accept God’s decision for us. Remember, God loves you, and His intentions are to give us a hope and a future. How He brings that about will be through His process, not ours. Trust your Maker, He has good things in store for you.

“We don’t have eyes to see in the future, so we don’t know the brilliant things God is doing in our lives. Sometimes we might say, “why God” and later find out the reason that God did this and that. It’s one thing to ask God why and another thing to doubt His goodness and His existence. In confusing situations pray for wisdom and expect an answer.” ~Fritz Chery

My Prayer:

Adonai–Tzva’ot, God Almighty, you are God, and I am not. You know everything about me, and you know what my tomorrows hold. I choose to trust you and not to question your motives. Give me the strength to accept the pathway and the challenges that you have given me. Please, give me the wisdom to face these challenges, and help me to trust your plan for my life. I surrender to your will in my life. I accept your loving discipline and guidance, for Father always knows what is best.