Care Enough to Do Something – Proverbs 29:7

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Proverbs 29:7 (NIV)
The righteous care about justice for the poor, but the wicked have no such concern.

Proverbs 29:7 (MSG)
The good-hearted understand what it’s like to be poor; the hardhearted haven’t the faintest idea.
***********************************************
“The righteous man cares for the rights of the poor, but the wicked man has no interest in such knowledge.” -AMPLIFIED

“We live in a world in which we need to share responsibility. It’s easy to say “It’s not my child, not my community, not my world, not my problem.” Then there are those who see the need and respond. I consider those people my heroes.” ~Fred Rogers

Solomon’s next proverb addresses the need to care about others. And not just care, but to do something helpful to help those who are in need.

“One of the most important responsibilities in the Christian life is to care about others, smile at them, and be a friend to the friendless.” ~James Dobson

“The just get involved with the poor and know their issues, but the wicked cannot comprehend such concerns.” -(VOICE)

Solomon points out that the good and righteous man cares enough to help the poor. But, the godless, the wicked fool cares nothing for the needs of others; he cares only for himself.

“The good man knows the poor man’s rights; the godless don’t care.” -(TLB)

Solomon has already warned us in the past about not taking advantage of the poor and downtrodden. He cautioned in this way:

Don’t walk on the poor just because they’re poor, and don’t use your position to crush the weak, because God will come to their defense; the life you took, he’ll take from you and give back to them.” -Proverbs 22:22-23 (MSG)

Jesus, who is our prime example to follow, demonstrated to us the point to not only care, but to do something about the needs. We turn to the particular story of the two blind men who approached Him outside the city walls of Jericho.

“As they were leaving Jericho, a large crowd followed Him. And two blind men were sitting by the road, and when they heard that Jesus was passing by, they cried out, “Lord, have mercy on us, Son of David (Messiah)!” The crowd sternly told them to be quiet, but they cried out all the more, “Lord, Son of David (Messiah) have mercy on us!” Jesus stopped and called them, and asked, “What do you want Me to do for you?” They answered Him, “Lord, we want our eyes to be opened.” Moved with compassion, Jesus touched their eyes; and immediately they regained their sight and followed Him [as His disciples].” -Matthew 20:29-34 (AMP)

Jesus was MOVED to compassion. His caring did not remain passive; He actually did something about the need. He touched the blind men and He healed them. Jesus took an interactive part in the lives of others.

In the book of Job we find that he too was willing to step up and champion those who were in need. There we find Job testifying to his tormentors of the times that he stepped up to help and champion the abused and needy.

“Those were the days when I went out to the city gate and took my place among the honored elders. The young saw me and stepped aside, and even the aged rose and stood up in respect at my coming. The princes stood in silence and laid their hands upon their mouths. The highest officials of the city stood in quietness. All rejoiced in what I said. All who saw me spoke well of me. For I, as an honest judge, helped the poor in their need and the fatherless who had no one to help them. I helped those who were ready to perish, and they blessed me. And I caused the widows’ hearts to sing for joy. All I did was just and honest, for righteousness was my clothing! I served as eyes for the blind and feet for the lame. I was as a father to the poor and saw to it that even strangers received a fair trial.” -Job 29:7-16 (TLB)

If we turn to the book of Jeremiah, there we will find God pronouncing doom upon the people of Israel for their treatment, or lack thereof, of those who are in need.

“Doom to him who builds palaces but bullies people, who makes a fine house but destroys lives, Who cheats his workers and won’t pay them for their work, who says, ‘I’ll build me an elaborate mansion with spacious rooms and fancy windows. I’ll bring in rare and expensive woods and the latest in interior decor.’ So, that makes you a king—living in a fancy palace? Your father got along just fine, didn’t he? He did what was right and treated people fairly, and things went well with him. He stuck up for the down-and-out, and things went well for Judah. Isn’t this what it means to know me?” God’s Decree! “But you’re blind and brainless. All you think about is yourself, taking advantage of the weak, bulldozing your way, bullying victims.” -Jeremiah 22:16-17 (MSG)

You may ask yourself why it is that God feels so strongly about this matter. I put to you the fact that we serve a God who cares. He loves us deeply, with an everlasting love. He is our Heavenly Father and He wants the best for us. Does it not stand to reason that He also want us to act in the same manner? Take note of what Scripture tells us:

“An earthly father expresses love for his children; it is no different with our heavenly Father; the Eternal shows His love for those who revere Him. For He knows what we are made of; He knows our frame is frail, and He remembers we came from dust.” -Psalm 103:13-14 (VOICE)

Let us note and learn from James’ words of advice:

“The Christian who is pure and without fault, from God the Father’s point of view, is the one who takes care of orphans and widows, and who remains true to the Lord—not soiled and dirtied by his contacts with the world.” -James 1:27 (TLB)

“This will wreck you! Today, treat everyone you meet as if they’re going to be dead by midnight. extend all the kindness and understanding you can, and do it with no thought of any reward.” ~Ted Dekker

My friend, step out of your comfort zone and truly care for others. Real caring and compassion will reach out and touch others. It will be an action word, not just a feeling. Follow the example of your Heavenly Father and care enough to show love. Show love and be moved!

“The object of love is not getting something you want but doing something for the well-being of the one you love.” ~Gary Chapman

My Prayer:
Heavenly Father, let me follow your example when it comes to caring and showing compassion to others. I have been on the receiving end of your love and caring in the past. You have used others to bless me in ways that have blown my mind. Let me have that same mentality, to be a blessing to others. Allow your Holy Spirit to lead and guide me in ways to show that I care. Let my life be a reflection of my Good, Good Father. Thank you, Lord.