What God Does for Us – Jeremiah 32:40

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Jeremiah 32:40 (NIV)

 “I will make an everlasting covenant with them: I will never stop doing good to them, and I will inspire them to fear me, so that they will never turn away from me.”

Jeremiah 32:40 (MSG)

“What’s more, I’ll make a covenant with them that will last forever, a covenant to stick with them no matter what, and work for their good. I’ll fill their hearts with a deep respect for me so they’ll not even think of turning away from me.”

***************************************

“I will make an everlasting covenant with them that I will do them good and not turn away from them; and I will put in their heart a fear and reverential awe of Me, so that they will not turn away from Me.” -AMPLIFIED

“God goes beyond the original promise (covenant).  He will not only be their God, but also they will forever have a heart turned towards Him to love, fear, and obey Him.  This will bring great joy to God and great goodness to the Jews.” ~Melissa Beaty

The Lord desired Israel to have a singleness of heart, to be united in heart and action for one purpose, to fear and respect Him. And He was willing to do the work for them, for their own good.

“I will give them integrity of heart and action so that they will fear me always, for their good and for the good of their descendants after them.” -Jeremiah 32:39 (CSB)

The Lord told Jeremiah that He would do the work needed in order to help the people have singleness of heart. He doesn’t stop there though. In today’s text, we find the Lord continuing to speak of what He will do for the people, so that they will respect Him and never turn away from Him again. God’s Message:

“I will make an everlasting covenant with them: I will never stop blessing them with good things, and I will put in them a fear and respect of Me so they will not turn their backs to Me again.” -(VOICE)

We find the Lord listing three things that He will do for Israel and Judah in this passage:

1.) “I will make an everlasting covenant with them…” -(TLV)

2.) “I will never turn away from doing good for them.” -(TLV)

3.) “I will put My fear in their hearts…” -(TLV)

God tells us that He would do this so that they would never turn away from Him, or turn their backs on Him, ever again. This was for their good.

“A further aspect of the new covenant is that the disposition of God towards His people would be changed; instead of judgment, He would rejoice over them to do them good. God was so zealous to accomplish this that He promised to perform it with all My heart and all My soul.” ~David Guzik

“And I will make an everlasting covenant with them, promising never again to desert them but only to do them good. I will put a desire into their hearts to worship me, and they shall never leave me.” -(TLB)

“See how God puts his whole heart to the work when he is blessing his people. When he forgives sin, it is with his whole heart and soul. May we, with our whole heart and soul, repent of our sin; and then, with all our heart and soul, serve the Lord!” ~Charles Spurgeon

Too often we get hung up on what we must to “give up” as a Christian. How we have to do this or do that…and we forget to be grateful for all that God does for us, and He does so much too! Let’s take the time to remind ourselves of just a few of the things God does for us:

1.) He loves us, despite our tendency towards sin: “But think about this: while we were wasting our lives in sin, God revealed His powerful love to us in a tangible display—the Anointed One died for us.” -Romans 5:8 (VOICE)

2.) He is working on our behalf: “I’ll anticipate their prayers and respond before they know it; even as they speak, I will hear.” -Isaiah 65:24 (VOICE)

3.) He is always working behind the scenes, even if we do not see it: “For the vision points ahead to a time I have appointed; it testifies regarding the end, and it will not lie. Even if there is a delay, wait for it. It is coming and will come without delay.” -Habakkuk 2:3 (VOICE)

4.) He is our Protector, even when we do not know we need protecting: “He who takes refuge in the shelter of the Most High will be safe in the shadow of the Almighty. He will say to the Eternal, “My shelter, my mighty fortress, my God, I place all my trust in You.” For He will rescue you from the snares set by your enemies who entrap you and from deadly plagues. Like a bird protecting its young, God will cover you with His feathers, will protect you under His great wings; His faithfulness will form a shield around you, a rock-solid wall to protect you.” -Psalm 91:1-4 (VOICE)

5.) He created all things, and He holds all things together: “It was by Him that everything was created: the heavens, the earth, all things within and upon them, all things seen and unseen, thrones and dominions, spiritual powers and authorities. Every detail was crafted through His design, by His own hands, and for His purposes. He has always been! It is His hand that holds everything together.” -Colossians 1:16-17 (VOICE)

6.) He cares about what happens to us: “Cast your troubles upon the Eternal; His care is unceasing!
He will not allow His righteous to be shaken.” -Psalm 55:22 (VOICE)

7.) He does not give us what we deserve: “Thankfully, God does not punish us for our sins and depravity as we deserve. In His mercy, He tempers justice with peace.” -Psalm 103:10 (VOICE)

8.) He is our Helper: “Do don’t be afraid. I am here, with you; don’t be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, help you. I am here with My right hand to make right and to hold you up.” -Isaiah 41:10 (VOICE)

9.) He guides our steps: “Your ears will hear sweet words behind you: “Go this way. There is your path; this is how you should go” whenever you must decide whether to turn to the right or the left.” -Isaiah 30:21 (VOICE)

10.) He is working all things out for good: “We are confident that God is able to orchestrate everything to work toward something good and beautiful when we love Him and accept His invitation to live according to His plan.” -Romans 8:28 (VOICE)

“God is making things happen for you. Even when you don’t see it, Even when you can’t feel it, Even if its not evident. God is working on your prayers.” ~UNKNOWN

My friend, God is for us, not against us. He wants what is best for us. He loves us deeply. He cares about what happens to each of us, and He is working behind the scenes, guiding our steps, working all things out for our good and His glory. Give thanks and be grateful for the fact that He loves you so much.

“We are undeserving of everything God does for us. What we receive from God isn’t based on our own merits but on His never-ending grace.” ~Gabby Abigail

My Prayer:

Adonai Elohim, my Great Lord, you do indeed do so much for me. Loving me, even when I was a sinner. You took the initiative to do for me what I could not do for myself. Thank you, Lord. Thank you for never giving up on me. Thank you for all that you do for me, even those things that I am unaware of, behind the scenes. When I reach Heaven, I am looking forward to learning about all those times you stepped in and protected me, helped me, provided for me, and just cared for me, because I know there are so many times that I am unaware of. Lord, you are so good to me, and I am so thankful you are. ❤

One thought on “What God Does for Us – Jeremiah 32:40

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.