The Effectiveness of Prayer

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

2 Samuel 24:25New International Version (NIV)
David built an altar to the Lord there and sacrificed burnt offerings and fellowship offerings. Then the Lord answered his prayer in behalf of the land, and the plague on Israel was stopped.

2 Samuel 24:25 (MSG)
He built an altar to God there and sacrificed burnt offerings and peace offerings. God was moved by the prayers and that was the end of the disaster.
******************************
“David built an altar to the Lord there, and offered burnt offerings and peace offerings. So the Lord was moved [to compassion] by [David’s] prayer for the land, and the plague was held back from Israel.” -AMPLIFIED

We find 2 Samuel ending with a message to us all about the importance of our prayers and the impact that they can have. David understood the need for prayer. He had a lifetime of experiences that taught him the significance of it. He understood its validity and its importance; because he had seen prayer change things.

David prayed often and we can find many of those prayers within the Psalms:
* “Incline Your ear, O Lord, and answer me, for I am distressed and needy [I long for Your help].” -Psalm 86:1 (AMP)

* “Hear the just (righteous) cause, O Lord; listen to my loud [piercing] cry;
listen to my prayer, that comes from guileless lips.” -Psalm 17:1 (AMP)

* Give the king [knowledge of] Your judgments, O God, and [the spirit of] Your righteousness to the king’s son [to guide all his ways]. May he judge Your people with righteousness, and Your afflicted with justice.” -Psalm 72:1-2 (AMP)

Throughout Scripture there is reference to the need of prayer and the effectiveness of prayer. made earth, made it livable and lasting, known everywhere as God: ‘Call to me and I will answer you. I’ll tell you marvelous and wondrous things that you could never figure out on your own.” -Jeremiah 33:2-3 (MSG)

* “If I shut up the heavens so that no rain falls, or if I command locusts to devour the land, or if I send pestilence and plague among My people, and My people, who are called by My Name, humble themselves, and pray and seek (crave, require as a necessity) My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear [them] from heaven, and forgive their sin and heal their land.” -2 Chronicles 7:13-14 (AMP)

God does hear us and answers our prayers. Here are a few examples from the Bible.

* “The righteous cry out, and the LORD hears them; he delivers them from all their troubles.” -Psalm 34:17 (NIV)

* “He will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him.” Psalm 91:15 (NIV)

James the brother of Jesus remind us that “The heartfelt and persistent prayer of a righteous man (believer) can accomplish much.” -(AMP)

* “Make this your common practice: Confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you can live together whole and healed. The prayer of a person living right with God is something powerful to be reckoned with. Elijah, for instance, human just like us, prayed hard that it wouldn’t rain, and it didn’t—not a drop for three and a half years. Then he prayed that it would rain, and it did. The showers came and everything started growing again.” –James 5:16-18 (MSG)

Prayer is effective and it does make a difference. Our natural tendency is to shrink back when it comes to praying for the impossible, but it should not be. We serve a God who CAN DO the impossible; so why do we not trust Him to do it? DO NOT hesitate in taking anything to your Heavenly Father. He cares about every detail of your life and He wants to be part of it.

PRAYER DOES CHANGE THINGS!

“Prayer does not equip you for greater works. Prayer is the greater work. ~Oswald Chambers

My Prayer:
Lord, there are times that I sadly neglect my time in prayer. I should know better. I know I should bring everything to you. Forgive me, please. I want to be one of your intercessors. I want to have effectual prayers. Remind me that nothing is impossible with you when I see those situations that seem to be hopeless and unworkable. You are bigger than life’s issues and problems. I need to trust you more. I need to stop trying to work out all the impossibilities and allow you to be God in my life. Help me, Lord, I pray.

 

 

 

