2 Samuel 15:25-26

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

2 Samuel 15:25-26 (NIV)
Then the king said to Zadok, “Take the ark of God back into the city. If I find favor in the Lord’s eyes, he will bring me back and let me see it and his dwelling place again. But if he says, ‘I am not pleased with you,’ then I am ready; let him do to me whatever seems good to him.”

2 Samuel 15:25-26 (MSG)
Then the king ordered Zadok, “Take the Chest back to the city. If I get back in God’s good graces, he’ll bring me back and show me where the Chest has been set down. But if he says, ‘I’m not pleased with you’—well, he can then do with me whatever he pleases.”
******************************
“Then the king told Zadok, “Take the ark of God back to [its rightful place in] the city [of Jerusalem, the capital]. If I find favor in the Lord’s sight, He will bring me back again and let me see both it and His dwelling place (habitation). But if He should say, ‘I have no delight in you,’ then here I am; let Him do to me what seems good to Him.”-AMPLIFIED

David displays such great confidence in God in what transpires in this trial period of his life. Absalom is trying to usurp the throne. David and his officials are running for their lives; leaving everything that they know behind.

They left their beloved city, Jerusalem, in great sadness. They were not the only people who were overcome with grief at this point though. In fact, we are told that as David and his officials left the city in a great procession to cross the Kidron Valley this was what transpired. “The whole countryside wept aloud as all the people passed by. The king also crossed the Kidron Valley, and all the people moved on toward the wilderness.” -2 Samuel 15:23 (NIV)

As David left the holy city of God we find Zadok, the priest, and the Levites following as well. “Zadok was also there, the Levites with him, carrying God’s Chest of the Covenant. They set the Chest of God down, Abiathar standing by, until all the people had evacuated the city.” -2 Samuel 15:24 (MSG)

(Notice, though Absalom had spent four years trying to undermine his father’s authority as king, David still had many who were still loyal to him as king.)

The king approaches Zadok, who’s name ironically means “righteous or just”, and requests that the ark of God be returned back to its rightful place; in the holy city. This is where we see the confidence that David had in his God. His statement rings of trust and faith in Jehovah. “If I find favor in the Lord’s eyes, he will bring me back and let me see it and his dwelling place again.”

David realized that God was ultimately in control of this situation as He is in every situation. Read the words that David penned during this period of time and see where he drew his confidence from.

A psalm of David. When he fled from his son Absalom.

“Lord, how many are my foes!
How many rise up against me!
Many are saying of me,
“God will not deliver him.”
But you, Lord, are a shield around me,
my glory, the One who lifts my head high.
I call out to the Lord,
and he answers me from his holy mountain.
I lie down and sleep;
I wake again, because the Lord sustains me.
I will not fear though tens of thousands
assail me on every side.
Arise, Lord!
Deliver me, my God!
Strike all my enemies on the jaw;
break the teeth of the wicked.
From the Lord comes deliverance.
May your blessing be on your people.”-Psalm 3 (NIV)

David’s attitude was such that he knew he could trust God wholly and completely. God could strip him of all the signs of royalty and prestige that had been bestowed on him. Jehovah could take away his crown and kingdom, and even dispose of him as He saw fit; for ultimately God is sovereign. God has every right to do with his creatures what he pleases and David knew this and humbly accepted God’s sovereignty and supreme power.

“But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him.”-Jeremiah 17:7 (NIV)

My Prayer:

Lord, help me trust you as David did. Help me to have complete confidence in you. I humbly submit to your will and your way in my life. I accept your sovereignty and supreme power in my life. You are God, I will trust you. No matter what comes my way I know that you are in control. That is always good to know. Thank you God!

Leave a Reply

