How BIG is Your God?

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

2 Samuel 7:18-19 (NIV)
Then King David went in and sat before the Lord, and he said: “Who am I, O Sovereign Lord, and what is my family, that you have brought me this far? And as if this were not enough in your sight, O Sovereign Lord, you have also spoken about the future of the house of your servant. Is this your usual way of dealing with man, O Sovereign Lord?

2 Samuel 7:18-20 (MSG)
King David went in, took his place before God, and prayed: “Who am I, my Master God, and what is my family, that you have brought me to this place in life? 19 But that’s nothing compared to what’s coming, for you’ve also spoken of my family far into the future, given me a glimpse into tomorrow, my Master God!
*********************************
“Then King David went in and sat [in prayer] before the Lord, and said, “Who am I, O Lord God, and what is my house (family), that You have brought me this far? Yet this was very insignificant in Your eyes, O Lord God, for You have spoken also of Your servant’s house (royal dynasty) in the distant future. And this is the law and custom of man, O Lord God.”-AMPLIFIED

In our passage today we find David receiving the Message that God had given to him through Nathan. In fact, he received it with great humbleness. (David knew his place in the scheme of things with God.)

We find David going into the very presence of God and sitting quietly before Him. David knew how to do something that we all need to learn; how to wait patiently on the Lord. “Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him…”-Psalm 37:7 (NIV)

Have you ever asked God, “Who am I”? I have. When you see how great God’s ways are; you get a tiny glimpse of how you are fitting into His plan. It is a humbling experience and the reaction for most of us is, “Who am I, Lord?”

David’s reaction was the same. He wondered aloud to the Lord, “How is it that you, Lord, are willing to use not only me in such an amazing way, but my family as well. You have given me a glimpse of what you have in store for my family and I am overwhelmed!” –Tonia’s Translation

David, unlike Saul, was a humble man. He was not going to let pride get in the way of his relationship with God. Let us notice David’s attitude toward God as he sat and contemplated God’s Message to him. “What can I possibly say in the face of all this? You know me, Master God, just as I am. You’ve done all this not because of who I am but because of who you are — out of your very heart! — but you’ve let me in on it. This is what makes you so great, Master God! There is none like you, no God but you, nothing to compare with what we’ve heard with our own ears. And who is like your people, like Israel, a nation unique in the earth, whom God set out to redeem for himself (and became most famous for it), performing great and fearsome acts, throwing out nations and their gods left and right as you saved your people from Egypt? You established for yourself a people — your very own Israel! — your people permanently. And you, God, became their God.” -2 Samuel 7:20-24 (MSG)

This is why David could write these words later in life. “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”-Psalm 139:13-14 (NIV)

We then find David telling God that he is going to hold Him to His promise. You may think David a bit bold, but God did not take issue with this. (God always keeps His promises.) David spoke to God these words, ““So now, great God, this word that you have spoken to me and my family, guarantee it permanently! Do exactly what you’ve promised! Then your reputation will flourish always as people exclaim, ‘The God-of-the-Angel-Armies is God over Israel!’ And the house of your servant David will remain sure and solid in your watchful presence. For you, God-of-the-Angel-Armies, Israel’s God, told me plainly, ‘I will build you a house.’ That’s how I was able to find the courage to pray this prayer to you.”-2 Samuel 7:25-27 (MSG)

Finding courage in God’s promises! Oh there is hope in God’s promises, people! Find your courage and hope in the promises that God has given in His Word and also in those personal promises that He has given you. Hold tight to those promises; for God will fulfill them in His perfect timing.

David now ends his prayer with this request, “And now, Master God, being the God you are, speaking sure words as you do, and having just said this wonderful thing to me, please, just one more thing: Bless my family; keep your eye on them always. You’ve already as much as said that you would, Master God! Oh, may your blessing be on my family permanently!” -2 Samuel 7:28-29 (MSG)

Do you think that David has gone too far? God has bestowed on him so much already. Does he have the right to ask for just one more thing? Absolutely! As a child of God we have the privilege to ask anything. David’s request was not a selfish request. He was asking that God would bless his family and in a way God had already stated that He would do so.

David knew he served a BIG God. His God made some BIG promises, but He was quite capable of keeping every one of them. How BIG is your God? Has He made you personal promises? I know He has, because He is concerned personally about each of us. Now it is time that you understand who you are as a child of the Most High God and claim those promises. Believe that God will bring them to pass in His time and in His way. Trust God; take courage and hope in what He has promised to do for you.

My Prayer:
Lord, you have made many promises to me and I know that you always keep those promises. Help me to be like David, who was willing to humbly patiently wait for you to do your perfect will in your perfect time. You are God and there is nothing impossible for you. I am humbled by your love and concern for me; for the fact that you do indeed have great plans for my life. Who am I? Thank you for all your promises God!

Leave a Reply

