A Godly Attitude and Response

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

2 Samuel 1:11-12 (NIV)
Then David and all the men with him took hold of their clothes and tore them. They mourned and wept and fasted till evening for Saul and his son Jonathan, and for the army of the Lord and for the nation of Israel, because they had fallen by the sword.

2 Samuel 1:11-12 (MSG)
In lament, David ripped his clothes to ribbons. All the men with him did the same. They wept and fasted the rest of the day, grieving the death of Saul and his son Jonathan, and also the army of God and the nation Israel, victims in a failed battle.
*****************************************
“Then David grasped his own clothes and tore them [in mourning]; so did all the men who were with him. They mourned and wept and fasted until evening for Saul and Jonathan his son, and for the Lord’s people and the house of [a]Israel, because they had fallen by the sword [in battle].” -AMPLIFIED

Three days after David arrived back to Ziklag news of Saul’s death arrived. A man showed up unannounced, having traveled all the way from Saul’s army camp. Obviously the man was a wreck, he had traveled far and was in a state of mourning. Falling on his knees before David he informed David that he had just come from the battle.

David pressed the man for news from the battlefront. The man informs him, “The Israelites have fled the battlefield, leaving a lot of their dead comrades behind. And Saul and his son Jonathan are dead.” -2 Samuel 1:4 (MSG)

David was shocked by this news. He asked the man, “How do you know that Saul and his son Jonathan are dead?”

The messenger replied, “Because I happened to be on Mount Gilboa during the attack, and I saw Saul leaning against his spear as the chariots and cavalry approached. He looked around and saw me, and he called to me. I told him, “I am here, my lord.” He asked who I was, and I told him I am an Amalekite. Then he said, “Come here. Stand over me, and kill me because I am suffering but am still alive.” So I did what he asked, because I knew he would not live after he had fallen. I took the crown from his head and his gold armlet and brought them here to you, my lord whom I recognize as the next king.” -2 Samuel 1:6-10 (VOICE)

When David heard this part of the message he was overcome with grief. He was so distressed at the news that he tore his clothes, mourned, wept, and fasted until evening. In fact, his men followed his example as well. They did this in honor of Saul and Jonathan; their king and his son.

“David viewed Saul though the lens of Saul’s divine calling as the Lord’s anointed servant who fought the Lord’s enemies and in his public role as the top political leader of his nation. David also recalled their friendship in their early days together. The temptation is to view people only through the lens of how they mistreated us personally, thus seeing them mostly as a personal enemy.” -Mike Bickle INTERNATIONAL HOUSE OF PRAYER UNIVERSITY

Scripture reminds us that we need to be careful of our attitudes towards those who have hurt and misused us.

* “Do not rejoice and gloat when your enemy falls, and do not let your heart be glad [in self-righteousness] when he stumbles, or the Lord will see your gloating and be displeased, and turn His anger away from your enemy.” -Proverbs 24:17-18 (AMP)

* “To you who are ready for the truth, I say this: Love your enemies. Let them bring out the best in you, not the worst. When someone gives you a hard time, respond with the energies of prayer for that person. If someone slaps you in the face, stand there and take it. If someone grabs your shirt, giftwrap your best coat and make a present of it. If someone takes unfair advantage of you, use the occasion to practice the servant life. No more tit-for-tat stuff. Live generously.” -Luke 6:27-30 (MSG)

* “You’re blessed when you get your inside world—your mind and heart—put right. Then you can see God in the outside world. You’re blessed when you can show people how to cooperate instead of compete or fight. That’s when you discover who you really are, and your place in God’s family. You’re blessed when your commitment to God provokes persecution. The persecution drives you even deeper into God’s kingdom. Not only that—count yourselves blessed every time people put you down or throw you out or speak lies about you to discredit me. What it means is that the truth is too close for comfort and they are uncomfortable. You can be glad when that happens—give a cheer, even!—for though they don’t like it, I do! And all heaven applauds. And know that you are in good company. My prophets and witnesses have always gotten into this kind of trouble.” -Matthew 5:8-12 (MSG)

David sang had this lament to sing over Saul and his son Jonathan. He also gave orders that everyone in Judah was to learn it by heart.

“The beauty of Israel lies dead upon your high places.
O how the mighty have fallen!
Don’t speak of this in the city of Gath;
don’t proclaim it in the streets of Ashkelon,
Or the daughters of the Philistines will rejoice.
The daughters of the foreigners[b] will sing for joy.
Mountains of Gilboa, let no rain or dew water you;
may your mountain fields offer only dust.
The shield of the mighty was defiled with your enemy’s blood;
even the shield of Saul is no longer anointed with oil by the Eternal.
With the blood of the slain
and with the fat of the strong,
Jonathan’s bow never lost aim;
Saul’s sword never came back empty.
Saul and Jonathan were beloved and delightful,
always together in life and now in death.
They were faster than eagles;
they were mightier than lions.
O daughters of Israel, cry out for Saul,
who clothed you in luxurious crimson,
who adorned your garments with ornaments of gold.
O how the mighty have fallen
in the height of the battle!
Jonathan lies dead upon your high places.
I agonize over you, my brother Jonathan.
I have delighted in you;
and your love for me was wonderful,
beyond even the love of women.
how the mighty have fallen,
and the weapons of war lie broken!” -2 Samuel 1:19-27 (VOICE)

May we too have a godly attitude and response when dealing with those who spitefully use us.

My Prayer:
Lord, give me a right attitude and response when dealing with those who hurt me and spitefully use me. I want to have the attitude of Christ. Let me have that same forgiveness that was extended to me available to extend to others. Your grace was greater than all of my sins. Let me show that same mercy and grace to others. I am yours, Lord. Work in my life as you will; all I want is to be like you.

Leave a Reply

