Mercy Wins

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

1 Samuel 24:10(NIV)
This day you have seen with your own eyes how the Lord delivered you into my hands in the cave. Some urged me to kill you, but I spared you; I said, ‘I will not lay my hand on my lord, because he is the Lord’s anointed.’

1 Samuel 24:10(MSG)
This very day with your very own eyes you have seen that just now in the cave God put you in my hands. My men wanted me to kill you, but I wouldn’t do it. I told them that I won’t lift a finger against my master – he’s God’s anointed.
*******************************************
“Behold, your eyes have seen today how the Lord had given you into my hand in the cave. Some told me to kill you, but I spared you; I said, ‘I will not reach out my hand against my lord, for he is the Lord’s anointed.’” -AMPLIFIED

Today we are going to find out what kind of man David truly was. In the book of Acts we find Luke sharing this bit of information. “After God moved Saul aside, He made David king in his place. God had this to say about David: “I have found David, son of Jesse, to be a man after My own heart. He’s the kind of king who will rule in ways that please Me.” -Acts 13:22 (VOICE)

After Saul’s return from fighting the Philistines we find him picking up his pursuit of David once again. He gathers around him 3,000 hardened fighting men from across Israel and went off after David and his men. Saul was once again informed of the area that David was hiding in so he and his men went to search for him in front of the Rocks of the Wild Goats.

On his way to find David, Saul felt the call of nature and needed to relieve himself. He came to some sheep-pens along the way, which had a cave. He went into the cave to take care of his business. Unbeknownst to Saul he had walked into David’s hiding place. Huddled in the back of the cave was David and his men. David’s men thought that this must be God delivering Saul into David’s hand. They urged him to take his enemy, NOW! “Behold, this is the day of which the Lord said to you, ‘Behold, I will hand over your enemy to you, and you shall do to him as seems good to you.’” -1 Samuel 24:4a (AMP)

Peer pressure can be a very difficult thing to handle at times. David, a grown man, was experiencing this first hand. It appeared that God had indeed delivered Saul into David’s hands. What would David do? We are told that David did something so silly, but something that he later felt terribly guilty about. “Then David arose [in the darkness] and stealthily cut off the hem (edge) of Saul’s robe. Afterward, David’s conscience bothered him because he had cut off the hem of Saul’s robe.” -1 Samuel 24:4b-5 (AMP)

David had great respect for this man whom God had placed as king of Israel; even though he knew when day he would replace him. Here was the perfect opportunity given to David to exercise his faith in God and his patience in waiting for God’s plan to unfold. He had been promised a kingdom, but had no command from God to slay the king, Saul. So David patiently waited on God’s timing and plan.

Once David felt that guilt over cutting off the corner of the king’s robe he felt the need to have a talk with his men. He reprimanded them for even thinking that he would do such a thing to God’s chosen king. “God forbid that I do any harm to my lord, the one chosen by the Eternal to rule. How could I even pretend to assault him, knowing he is the Eternal’s anointed king?” -1 Samuel 24:6 (VOICE)

Saul finally finished doing his business and headed out of the cave. David followed him at a discreet distance. Once Saul was out of the cave David called out to Saul. “My master! My king!” (RESPECT on David’s part.) Saul quickly looked back to see who was behind him; there stood the very man who he had been trying to track down and kill.

David gave Saul and earful on that day; filling him in on how close he (Saul) came to dying that day.
“My lord, why do you listen to those who say I plan to harm you? Look! Today the Eternal One placed you at my mercy in that cave. I could have done anything to you, and some said I should kill you. But I refused. I said, “I will not raise my hand against my lord, the Eternal’s anointed king. Father, do you see what I am holding in my hand? It is the corner of your robe. Recognize and understand that I have not committed evil or treason against you—that I cut this off and did not kill you. I have not wronged you, even though you are hunting me and trying to kill me. May the Eternal One judge between us. If the Eternal chooses to avenge me and punish you, then let Him, but I will not take revenge against you. As the old proverb says, “From the wicked flows wickedness.” But I will not harm you. Whom did the king of Israel come out in pursuit of, anyway? A dead dog? A lone flea? Someone as insignificant as I am? May the Eternal One judge between us. May He see who has done wrong and argue my case and uphold justice on my behalf.” -1 Samuel 24:9-15 (VOICE)

After this David fell silent and Saul, who could hardly believe the position he was in, broke down in tears. Sobbing, he basically tells David that he was a bigger man than he (Saul) was. Then Saul made David make him a promise. “Now I know that you will surely be king someday, and that you will establish the kingdom of Israel. So swear to me—by the Eternal One—that when that time comes, you will not destroy my descendants, and you won’t wipe my name from my family tree.” -1 Samuel 24:20-21 (VOICE)

David promised this to Saul. Then Saul went home, and David and his men went back to their hideout.

“Blessed [content, sheltered by God’s promises] are the merciful, for they will receive mercy.” -Matthew 5:7 (AMP)

My Prayer:
Lord, help me have mercy on others; including those who spitefully hurt me. You will bring about your justice in your time. It is my job to let my light shine for you and show mercy. Help me to always remember that; for in those times that I feel used, or hurt, or in danger I may do something that I will regret later. Help me to always remember to be like Jesus. I want to be the best ambassador for you that I can. To be that though I know I have to put aside my own wants, desires and needs to be an emissary for you. Help me to do my very best, Lord. I want you to be proud of me.

Leave a Reply

