Saul’s Revenge and David’s Support

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

1 Samuel 22:11-13(NIV)
Then the king sent for the priest Ahimelek son of Ahitub and all the men of his family, who were the priests at Nob, and they all came to the king. Saul said, “Listen now, son of Ahitub.” “Yes, my lord,” he answered. Saul said to him, “Why have you conspired against me, you and the son of Jesse, giving him bread and a sword and inquiring of God for him, so that he has rebelled against me and lies in wait for me, as he does today?”

1 Samuel 22:11-13 (MSG)
Saul sent for the priest Ahimelech son of Ahitub, along with the whole family of priests at Nob. They all came to the king. Saul said, “You listen to me, son of Ahitub!” “Certainly, master,” he said. “Why have you ganged up against me with the son of Jesse, giving him bread and a sword, even praying with him for God’s guidance, setting him up as an outlaw, out to get me?”
**************************************
“Then the king sent someone to call Ahimelech the priest, the son of Ahitub, and all his father’s household, the priests who were at Nob; and all of them came to the king. Then Saul said, “Listen now, son of Ahitub.” He replied, “Here I am [at your service], my lord.” Saul said to him, “Why have you and the son of Jesse conspired against me, in that you have given him bread and a sword and have inquired of God for him, so he would rebel against me by lying in ambush, as he does this day?” -AMPLIFIED

Doeg the Edomite has told Saul about Ahimelek helping David, so Saul sends a few of his men after Ahimelek and his whole family. They all come and stand before the king. (Remember, David tried to protect Ahimelek by not telling him that the king was trying to hunt him down and kill him.)

We can pick up on Saul’s disdain for both David and Ahimelek when he does not address either by their proper name but as the son of Jesse and the son of Ahitub. His anger is oozing out and it is very easy to pick up on his jealousy too. “You listen to me, son of Ahitub!”

Ahimelek answers with respect; for remember, he truly knew nothing (Though he may have suspected something.). “Here I am [at your service], my lord.”, was his response. This man of God had nothing to hide and despite Saul’s disrespect to him as High Priest he continued to respect the man whom God had put in place as king.

Saul then accuses Ahimelek of conspiring against him. His paranoia is continuing to grow. “Why have you plotted against me with the son of Jesse, giving him bread and a sword and speaking to the True God on his behalf, so that he should rise up to fight against me? At this moment he must be lying in ambush.” -(VOICE)

Ahimelek responds, “Which of your servants, good king, is so faithful as David? Isn’t he the king’s son-in-law, the captain of your guard? Hasn’t he always been quick to do the king’s bidding and honored in the king’s household? 15 Is this the first time I have inquired of God for David? Of course not! Do not, O king, imagine that I, your servant, or anyone in my family has intended wrong against the king, for we know next to nothing about your affairs.” -1 Samuel 22:14-15 (VOICE)

Saul’s response to Ahimelek was not one of forgiveness, but of greater anger and a death sentence. In a state of fury the king instructs his guards to kill Ahimelek and all the priests that were with him. Thankfully his guards had a little more sense than he did in respecting the priests of God. They refused to do as he said. “The king said, “Death, Ahimelek! You’re going to die—you and everyone in your family!” The king ordered his henchmen, “Surround and kill the priests of God! They’re hand in glove with David. They knew he was running away from me and didn’t tell me.” But the king’s men wouldn’t do it. They refused to lay a hand on the priests of God.” -1 Samuel 22:16-17 (MSG)

In a fit of rage the king turns to the instigator of this whole situation, Doeg, and instructs him to kill Ahimelek and his fellow priests. Sadly, Doeg did exactly as Saul had instructed him to do; one fool listening to another fool. “Then the king told Doeg, “You do it—massacre the priests!” Doeg the Edomite led the attack and slaughtered the priests, the eighty-five men who wore the sacred robes. He then carried the massacre into Nob, the city of priests, killing man and woman, child and baby, ox, donkey, and sheep—the works.” -1 Samuel 22:18-19 (MSG)

Thankfully, ane priest was able to escape, Abiathar, the son of Ahimelech son of Ahitub. Every other priest was murdered. Thankfully Abiathar got away, found and joined up with David. Abiathar told David everything that Saul had done and how he had murdered the priests of God. with deep sadness David tells Abiathar, “I knew it—that day I saw Doeg the Edomite there, I knew he’d tell Saul. I’m to blame for the death of everyone in your father’s family. Stay here with me. Don’t be afraid. The one out to kill you is out to kill me, too. Stick with me. I’ll protect you.” -1 Samuel 22:22-23 (MSG)

There is nothing that David can do for those who have been slain, but he does offer sanctuary to Abiathar within his inner circle. Now he not only has a prophet, but also a priest, a high priest at that, within his inner circle. God is sending those who will help David to reach the goal that God has intended for him.

God knows exactly what and who we need in our lives to help us accomplish those goals and purposes that He has planned for us too.

Remember: “Shoulder each other’s burdens, and then you will live as the law of the Anointed teaches us.” -Galatians 6:2 (VOICE)

My Prayer:
Lord, I know it is a waste of time and energy to war against you. My desire is to accomplish what you have created me to do. Help me, Father, to accept the help and assistance of those whom you have placed around me to be my burden-bearers. Do not let my pride sneak in; sabotaging things. I desire to be obedient. Help me to do so. Help me also to be a friend to others; sharing their burdens too.

Leave a Reply

