Love Wins Out

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

POWER OUTAGE THIS MORNING: Sorry for this late posting.

1 Samuel 19:1-3 (NIV)
Saul told his son Jonathan and all the attendants to kill David. But Jonathan had taken a great liking to David and warned him, “My father Saul is looking for a chance to kill you. Be on your guard tomorrow morning; go into hiding and stay there. I will go out and stand with my father in the field where you are. I’ll speak to him about you and will tell you what I find out.”

1 Samuel 19:1-3 (MSG)
Saul called his son Jonathan together with his servants and ordered them to kill David. But because Jonathan treasured David, he went and warned him: “My father is looking for a way to kill you. Here’s what you are to do. Tomorrow morning, hide and stay hidden. I’ll go out with my father into the field where you are hiding. I’ll talk about you with my father and we’ll see what he says. Then I’ll report back to you.”
**********************************
“Now Saul told his son Jonathan and all his servants to kill David, but Jonathan, Saul’s son, greatly delighted in David. So he told David, “Saul my father is seeking to kill you. Now then, please be on guard in the morning, and stay in a secret place and hide yourself. As for me, I will go out and stand beside my father in the field where you are, and I will speak with my father about you, and if I learn anything, then I will tell you.” -AMPLIFIED

Saul was in a foul, black mood; his plans had been foiled. Calling his son, Jonathan, along with his servants he instructed them all to kill David; no matter what it takes! It makes you wonder what must have been going through their minds to see their king acting this way; especially Jonathan.

Thankfully Jonathan’s love for David ran deep. He was having nothing to do with his father’s plan. He treasured David. Because of this bond, he sought David to warn him. “My father wants you dead. Watch out tomorrow morning. Think of a safe place to hide that nobody knows about. I will go into the field near where you are hiding, and I will speak on your behalf to my father. If I learn anything, I will tell you.” -1 Samuel 19:2-3 (VOICE)

“In the friendship between Jonathan and David, Jonathan stands to lose everything he has if David becomes king, yet he betrays family and ambition by befriending him. These two young men make a pact to protect and love each other in life; and if something should happen to Jonathan, David agrees to honor Jonathan’s descendants out of the love he bears for Jonathan. Later that promise results in David elevating one of Jonathan’s sons to the king’s table. In a time when any reminders of the previous regime would have been distracting and even dangerous, David shows he can do more than just be strategic and political.” -The Voice Translation

Jonathan put his neck on the line for David. Love has a way of knocking down barriers. It helps us to set aside our selfish ambitions for the good of others. The friendship between Jonathan and David has long been an example for how two people should love and support one another; especially in the tough times.

Jonathan and David’s relationship is a good example of 1 Corinthians 13 in action.
“If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love, I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate. If I speak God’s Word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “Jump,” and it jumps, but I don’t love, I’m nothing. If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.
Love never gives up.
Love cares more for others than for self.
Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.
Love doesn’t strut,
Doesn’t have a swelled head,
Doesn’t force itself on others,
Isn’t always “me first,”
Doesn’t fly off the handle,
Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,
Doesn’t revel when others grovel,
Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,
Puts up with anything,
Trusts God always,
Always looks for the best,
Never looks back,
But keeps going to the end.” -1 Corinthians 13:1-7(MSG)

May we too display God’s love to others.

My Prayer:

Lord, let your love be in me. Let me think of others more highly than myself. Help me to be a vessel of your love always. Give me the heart and mind of Christ so that I can emulate you, I pray. Let love win in my life!

Leave a Reply

