Do Not Lose Heart!

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

1 Samuel 17:32 (NIV)
David said to Saul, “Let no one lose heart on account of this Philistine; your servant will go and fight him.”

1 Samuel 17:32 (MSG)
“Master,” said David, “don’t give up hope. I’m ready to go and fight this Philistine.”
*********************************
“David said to Saul, “Let no man’s courage fail because of him (Goliath). Your servant will go out and fight with this Philistine.” -AMPLIFIED

Do not lose heart or hope! David spoke these words to Saul, the king, the leader of Israel, the one who should have been out there facing that giant with his men. It was a mere boy telling the commander-in-chief that he need not be afraid, “Don’t let anyone be frightened because of that man. I am your servant, and I will go and fight with him.” -(VOICE)

Saul’s response was a bit condescending to David, but remember he was not in good relationship with God and he was merely looking on the outside of this young boy and did not see or know the stalwart courage that was contained in this pint-size body. “Don’t be ridiculous—you can’t fight the Philistine. You’re only a youth, and he has been a warrior since his childhood. You lack age and experience.” -1 Samuel 17:33 (VOICE)

Saul had not experienced the same training that David had. David now makes note of this special training he had received and his special protector, “I work as a shepherd for my father. Whenever a lion or a bear has come and attacked one of my lambs, I have gone after it and struck it down to rescue the lamb from the predator’s mouth; if it turned to attack me, I would take it by the chin, beat it, and kill it. I have killed both a lion and a bear; and as your servant I will kill this uncircumcised Philistine, too, since he has dared to taunt the armies of the living God. The Eternal One, who saved me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear, will save me from the hand of this Philistine.” -1 Samuel 17:34-37 (VOICE)

David’s confidence did not rest in himself, but in the Lord. This was a lesson he learned when he was young and he learned it well. Later in life David’s confidence in God continued strong and he was able to pen these words in Psalm 20:
“I don’t fear; I’m confident that help will come to the one anointed by the Eternal:
heaven will respond to his plea;
His mighty right hand will win the battle.
Many put their hope in chariots, others in horses,
but we place our trust in the name of the Eternal One, our True God.
Soon our enemies will collapse and fall, never to return home;
all the while, we will rise and stand firm.
Eternal One, grant victory to our king!
Answer our plea for help.” -Psalm 20:6-9 (VOICE)

David knew how to rely on the Lord and that was the key to his victory. Reliance on God is essential for us as well if we are going to be victorious in our lives. David’s great faith in God contrasted very distinctly next to Saul’s lack of faith. David had God-reliance; whereas Saul had only self-reliance. We will find out which sort of reliance will bring about the victory.

Saul hears David’s declaration about how God had brought him great victory over the lion and the bear. So Saul directs David to go ahead and prepare to face the giant. Notice that Saul does not seem to give the young man much encouragement. Even his statement to David sounds as if he is sending the boy to his doom. “Go. And God help you!” -(MSG)

*Note: Saul is becoming more and more dependent on David. Not only is David that only one who can soothe him when the evil spirit comes upon him; his sanity. Now Saul is depending on him for the protection and security of his domain. In the coming days we will find that Saul is not happy about this arrangement at all.

At this point in time we find Saul trying to be helpful in preparing David to go to battle. He offers the boy his armor, but we find that it was not a good fit. Which was all part of God’s plan I am sure. God wanted David to continue to rely and trust on Him; not on armor, weapons or even the king.

David’s hope and trust was in the Lord. His focus was on the Lord. He was wholly and completely relying on the Lord to bring him this victory. He did not look at Goliath and fear for his life. He did not look at the circumstances and worry. He did not become upset that he did not have the right tools or armor. He was depending on God.

“Every weakness you have is an opportunity for God to show his strength in your life.” ~UNKNOWN

The Apostle Paul reminds us that God is all we need in every situation. “My grace is sufficient for you , for my power is made perfect in weakness.” -2 Corinthians 12:9

Do not lose heart!
* “Now faith is the assurance (title deed, confirmation) of things hoped for (divinely guaranteed), and the evidence of things not seen [the conviction of their reality—faith comprehends as fact what cannot be experienced by the physical senses].” -Hebrews 11:1 (AMP)

* “Oh! May the God of green hope fill you up with joy, fill you up with peace, so that your believing lives, filled with the life-giving energy of the Holy Spirit, will brim over with hope!” -Romans 15:13 (MSG)

* “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they will not overwhelm you. When you walk through fire, you will not be scorched, nor will the flame burn you. “For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior…” -Isaiah 43:2-3a (AMP)

Trust God as you face those giants in your life!

My Prayer:
Lord, be my strength and source. I am choosing to rely on you and not on myself. I can do nothing without you; for you are my very source of life. I will trust in you. When I am weak; you are my strength. When I cannot do something, you can; for you are the God who can do the impossible. Fill me with your hope and peace when I am confronted with the giants. Help me to not focus on the circumstances, but on you. Thank you for always being my constant companion. Lord, I am counting on you!

Leave a Reply

