Fear Not the Giants

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

1 Samuel 17:8-11(NIV)
Goliath stood and shouted to the ranks of Israel, “Why do you come out and line up for battle? Am I not a Philistine, and are you not the servants of Saul? Choose a man and have him come down to me. If he is able to fight and kill me, we will become your subjects; but if I overcome him and kill him, you will become our subjects and serve us.” Then the Philistine said, “This day I defy the armies of Israel! Give me a man and let us fight each other.” On hearing the Philistine’s words, Saul and all the Israelites were dismayed and terrified.

1 Samuel 17:8-11 (MSG)
Goliath stood there and called out to the Israelite troops, “Why bother using your whole army? Am I not Philistine enough for you? And you’re all committed to Saul, aren’t you? So pick your best fighter and pit him against me. If he gets the upper hand and kills me, the Philistines will all become your slaves. But if I get the upper hand and kill him, you’ll all become our slaves and serve us. I challenge the troops of Israel this day. Give me a man. Let us fight it out together!” When Saul and his troops heard the Philistine’s challenge, they were terrified and lost all hope.
*************************************
“Goliath stood and shouted to the battle lines of Israel, saying to them, “Why have you come out to draw up for battle? Am I not the Philistine and are you not servants of Saul? Choose a man for yourselves and have him come down to me. If he is able to fight with me and kill me, then we will become your servants; but if I prevail against him and kill him, then you shall become our servants and serve us.” Again the Philistine said, “I defy the battle lines of Israel this day; give me a man so that we may fight together.” When Saul and all Israel heard these words of the Philistine, they were dismayed and greatly afraid. -AMPLIFIED

David is now in the king’s employ. We are told that he would go back and forth between the king and his father’s sheep in Bethlehem. During this time we find the Philistines had gathered their army together in order to do battle with Israel. In fact, we find that the Philistines had blatantly gathered their army at Socoh, which is in the land of Judah. We are told the Philistines stood on one mountain and the Israelites on another, with the valley between them.

The Philistines brought with them their champion, Goliath, a giant. Goliath was over nine feet tall. He was dressed in a bronze helmet and a chain-mail coat that weighed more than 100 pounds of bronze. His legs were protected by bronze shin guards, and he had a bronze javelin slung between his shoulders, ready to throw at any time. This dude was scary and intimidating. The head of his spear alone weighed 20 pounds. Imagine facing this monstrosity. The Bible tells us he was a fearsome sight.

We are told that on one particular day this huge hunk of man came out to challenge the men of Israel. “Why have you come to fight us? Am I not a Philistine, a warrior for a powerful empire? And don’t you serve Saul, your so-called king? Choose yourselves a champion, and send him out to me. If he kills me when we fight, then we will serve you; but if I defeat him and kill him, then you will serve us. Today I challenge the entire army of Israel: send me someone to fight!” -(VOICE)

Do you remember when the spies were sent out by Moses to check out the Promised Land; one of the things that they feared were the giants in the land. They insinuate that these giants were so big that they felt like grasshoppers next to them. I am sure that the memories of the stories that they had been told by their grandfather’s came back to their minds when they faced Goliath. No one compared physically or other-wise to this man. Hand-to-hand combat would mean certain slaughter to any man who accepted the challenge. Everyone in the camp of Israel stood shaking in their sandals; wondering who or what could possibly save them. (I am sure we all probably experience Goliaths in our lives; which at times seem to grow as we seem to shrink.)

Goliath was an obstacle that stood in Israel’s way; a seemingly impossible situation. They looked at that giant and they were afraid. For all they could see was him and his challenge to them. They had taken their eyes off of God; the Great “I Am” and focused instead on the Enemy.

Let me tell you something; God is greater than any giant you will ever face! “Little children (believers, dear ones), you are of God and you belong to Him and have [already] overcome them [the agents of the antichrist]; because He who is in you is greater than he (Satan) who is in the world [of sinful mankind].” -1 John 4:4 (AMP)

Do not shake in fear over the enemies in your life; instead focus on your GREAT GOD, the Great “I AM”, the one who can do the impossible! He is greater than any giant in your life.

My Prayer:
Lord, let my focus continue to be on you, my Creator, Savior, and Deliverer. Nothing is impossible for you. You are able! Help me not to be afraid of situations or individuals that you are BIGGER than. Lord, I choose to trust you. I choose to believe that you can take care of every need that I have, that you can protect and defend me, that you will go before me and make my pathways straight. I choose to believe that you will never leave me or forsake me. I also choose to believe that you are a Good, Good Father. My Daddy is bigger than any giant.

Leave a Reply

