When God Shakes Us Up!

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

1 Samuel 3:11-14 (NIV)
And the Lord said to Samuel: “See, I am about to do something in Israel that will make the ears of everyone who hears about it tingle.  At that time I will carry out against Eli everything I spoke against his family—from beginning to end. For I told him that I would judge his family forever because of the sin he knew about; his sons blasphemed God, and he failed to restrain them. Therefore I swore to the house of Eli, ‘The guilt of Eli’s house will never be atoned for by sacrifice or offering.’”

1 Samuel 3:11-14(MSG)
God said to Samuel, “Listen carefully. I’m getting ready to do something in Israel that is going to shake everyone up and get their attention. The time has come for me to bring down on Eli’s family everything I warned him of, every last word of it. I’m letting him know that the time’s up. I’m bringing judgment on his family for good. He knew what was going on, that his sons were desecrating God’s name and God’s place, and he did nothing to stop them. This is my sentence on the family of Eli: The evil of Eli’s family can never be wiped out by sacrifice or offering.”
*********************************************
“The Lord said to Samuel, “Behold, I am about to do a thing in Israel at which both ears of everyone who hears it will ring. On that day I will carry out against Eli everything that I have spoken concerning his house (family), from beginning to end. Now I have told him that I am about to judge his house forever for the sinful behavior which he knew [was happening], because his sons were bringing a curse on themselves [dishonoring and blaspheming God] and he did not rebuke them. Therefore I have sworn to the house of Eli that the sinful behavior of Eli’s house (family) shall not be atoned for by sacrifice or offering forever.” -AMPLIFIED

God appears beside the bed of the young Samuel. Then we find the young Samuel responding to God’s call exactly as Eli had instructed him to do. “Then the Lord came and stood and called as at the previous times, “Samuel! Samuel!” Then Samuel answered, “Speak, for Your servant is listening.” -1 Samuel 3:10 (AMP)

We then read of God, Most High  sharing with Samuel what was in store for Eli and his family. All of this would in turn affect the nation of Israel. (See our text for today.) God gives the young Samuel fair warning to pay close attention, “Listen carefully. I’m getting ready to do something in Israel that is going to shake everyone up and get their attention.” Get ready! Israel had gotten completely comfortable with living in sin and they continued to turn a blind eye to God and His commands. God has had enough. He is revolted by their sin and also the fact that they have flaunted there sin before Him.

The writer of Hebrews warns, “See to it that you do not refuse [to listen to] Him who is speaking [to you now]. For if those [sons of Israel] did not escape when they refused [to listen to] him who warned them on earth [revealing God’s will], how much less will we escape if we turn our backs on Him who warns from heaven? His voice shook the earth [at Mount Sinai] then, but now He has given a promise, saying, “Yet once more I will shake not only the earth, but also the [starry] heaven.” Now this [expression], “Yet once more,” indicates the removal and final transformation of all those things which can be shaken—that is, of that which has been created—so that those things which cannot be shaken may remain.” -Hebrews 12:25-27(AMP)

God had some heavy things to say to the young Samuel, the prophet-in-training, about his teacher and trainer. “The day is coming when I will carry out the vow I made to Eli about his family, every word of it. I have told him that I will punish his house forever for the sins of his sons, bringing a curse on themselves that he knew about but did nothing to stop. So I vow that the sins of the house of Eli may never be atoned for by sacrifice or by offering.” -(VOICE)

Too often we too allow “things”to take God’s place in our lives. We all have times when we have allowed something else to take top priority in our lives. In those times God allows things to “SHAKE-UP” our supposedly perfect little world in order to draw us back to Him.

“If God has shaken an area in your life, don’t try to rebuild it yourself. Allow Him to restore only those things He wants to establish in your life. Remember, God shakes us so that the things that cannot be shaken will remain. His shaking will expose any hidden idols in our lives. An idol is what we give our strength to or draw our strength from. If you are receiving your affirmation, love, self-worth, joy, strength and acceptance from anywhere or anyone but God, He will shake it. He does this so you will get your life from Him. He knows everything else will eventually disappoint you. After a shaking, we see our condition in relation to God’s truth. However, it is not the truth you know but the truth you live that sets you free. To become responsible, we must be obedient.” -LISA BEVERE (Charisma Magazine: Spiritled Women)

Wake up! Pay close attention to what God is trying to say to you. It is not that He hates us, but that He loves us immensely and he knows that nothing else can truly satisfy that longing in our soul. Sometimes a good shaking is exactly what we need.

My Prayer:
Lord, when those times of shaking come into my life, when I have allowed other things to take center stage in my life, or I have gotten comfortable with where I am and am neglecting my relationship with you; go ahead, shake me up. God forbid that I allow other things, or my routine to cause me to drift from the most important intimate relationship. You need to be first in my life, Lord, and I need you to be first. Forgive me for those times that I have allowed other things to take your place and thank you for shaking me up so that I realized what was happening. Be number one in my life, I pray!