Hannah’s Prayer: A Song of Praise

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

1 Samuel 2:1 (NIV)
Then Hannah prayed and said: “My heart rejoices in the Lord; in the Lord my horn is lifted high. My mouth boasts over my enemies, for I delight in your deliverance.

1 Samuel 2:1 (MSG)
Hannah prayed: “I’m bursting with God-news! I’m walking on air.I’m laughing at my rivals. I’m dancing my salvation.”
***************************************
“Hannah prayed and said, “My heart rejoices and triumphs in the Lord; My horn (strength) is lifted up in the Lord, my mouth has opened wide [to speak boldly] against my enemies, because I rejoice in Your salvation.” -AMPLIFIED

Hannah brings her young son to the Tabernacle and presents him to the High-priest as a gift to the Lord; the very One who had given her this child. (She never doubted this fact for a moment.) Overcome with emotion; she prays and sings from the depths from the depths of her heart.

Hannah’s song is often likened to the song of Mary in the book of Luke. And is oft times call the “The of the Old Testament” because of their similarities. Both were sung as a form of celebration and joy; giving praise to God for the good things that He had done for them.

Hannah, just an ordinary woman, made an extraordinary mark on the His-tory of Israel. All of this was possible because she was willing to come to God in her desperation and trust that He would do unprecedented, unimaginable, marvelous, and extraordinary things for her.

Have you ever wondered if the reason that we never see the out-of-the-ordinary is because we are not willing to trust God to give us or do for us the extraordinary? Do NOT ever settle for less than God’s best!

In 1 Samuel 2, where Hannah’s prayer of thanksgiving is contained, we find the amazing testimony of who her God is. Hannah begins with these words, “My heart is happy in the Lord. My strength is honored in the Lord. My mouth speaks with strength against those who hate me, because I have joy in Your saving power.” -(NLV)

Hannah’s whole prayer attests to her faith in God and it is recorded in His-story for all who will to read:
“Hannah prayed: I’m bursting with God-news!
I’m walking on air.
I’m laughing at my rivals.
I’m dancing my salvation.
Nothing and no one is holy like God,
no rock mountain like our God.
Don’t dare talk pretentiously—
not a word of boasting, ever!
For God knows what’s going on.
He takes the measure of everything that happens.
The weapons of the strong are smashed to pieces,
while the weak are infused with fresh strength.
The well-fed are out begging in the streets for crusts,
while the hungry are getting second helpings.
The barren woman has a houseful of children,
while the mother of many is bereft.
God brings death and God brings life,
brings down to the grave and raises up.
God brings poverty and God brings wealth;
he lowers, he also lifts up.
He puts poor people on their feet again;
he rekindles burned-out lives with fresh hope,
Restoring dignity and respect to their lives—
a place in the sun!
For the very structures of earth are God’s;
he has laid out his operations on a firm foundation.
He protectively cares for his faithful friends, step by step,
but leaves the wicked to stumble in the dark.
No one makes it in this life by sheer muscle!
God’s enemies will be blasted out of the sky,
crashed in a heap and burned.
God will set things right all over the earth,
he’ll give strength to his king,
he’ll set his anointed on top of the world!” -1 Samuel 2:1-10 (MSG)

Hannah’s prayer was a combination of testimony and prophecy and it echoes the prayers of other greats; David, Abraham, and Mary, the mother of Jesus. Hannah’s prayer reveals to us that God did indeed hear and answer her prayer and He can do the same for others who come to Him in faith. Despite the trials and tribulations that we face in the world; God is always there to help us. As Hannah prayed, “He raises the poor from the dust and lifts the needy from the ash heap; he seats them with princes and has them inherit a throne of honor. “For the foundations of the earth are the Lord’s; on them he has set the world. He will guard the feet of his faithful servants, but the wicked will be silenced in the place of darkness.” -1 Samuel 2:8-9 (NIV)

Has God answered prayer for you lately? I am sure that He has. The question should be, have you taken time to thank Him for that answered prayer? Even God appreciates being thanked.

My Prayer:
Thank you, God, for answered prayer. Thank you for blessings that are unexpected, but greatly appreciated. Thank you for your ever present help in my times of need. Thank you for your great love; that never gives up on me. Thank you for your goodness. Mostly, thank you for my life, itself; for I know that without you I would not even be. God, you are Amazing!

Leave a Reply

