Down on My Knees

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

1 Samuel 1:10 (NIV)
In her deep anguish Hannah prayed to the Lord, weeping bitterly.

1 Samuel 1:10 (MSG)
Crushed in soul, Hannah prayed to God and cried and cried—inconsolably.
*****************************************
“Hannah was greatly distressed, and she prayed to the Lord and wept in anguish.” -AMPLIFIED

Hannah had endured the torment for time out of mind. Her heart was broken and she came to a place where in her mind she said, “Enough is enough!”

We find Scripture chronicling these details for us in the narrative, “One day after they ate and drank at Shiloh, Hannah got up and presented herself before the Lord. It so happened that the priest Eli was sitting in a place of honor beside the doorpost of the Eternal’s congregation tent as Hannah entered. She was heartbroken, and she began to pray to the Eternal One, weeping uncontrollably as she did.” -1 Samuel 1:9-20 (VOICE)

Hannah had finally come to the place where she was wholly and completely undone. She had gone for so long and endured so much. She was basically at the end of her proverbial rope. Heartbroken, she goes to present herself to the Lord.

Hannah addresses God in the Hebrew as such; “Adonai-Tzva’ot”. Adonai-Tzva’ot literally means “The Lord of Hosts”, but figuratively it means “My Redeemer Lives”. This name conveys the truth that the God of the Universe, King over all things, brings His Army to do battle against our enemies on our behalf. God fights for His children!

First Samuel is actually the very first place where God is addressed as “The Lord of Hosts” and in this book alone this title is used eleven times. Hannah knew that God was her only Source and He was fighting for her. She had reached rock bottom and she knew that God was the only one who could help her.

In one sentence Hannah pours out all of her heartache to God, “Eternal One, Commander of heavenly armies, if only You will look down at the misery of Your servant and remember me—oh, don’t forget me!—and give Your servant a son, then I promise I will devote the boy to Your service as a Nazirite all the days of his life. [He will never touch wine or other strong drink,]and no razor will ever cut his hair.” -1 Samuel 1:11 (VOICE)

In this time of pouring out all of her heartache and pain she also made a vow to God. “If you will but hear and answer my request, Lord of Hosts, then I will dedicate this boy wholly and completely to you. He will be a Nairite, set aside for you ALL of his days.” We will find, in the coming days, that Samuel was given back to the Lord as soon as he was weaned. He lived the rest of his days, from toddler-hood to his death serving the Lord.

This woman was desperate for God to answer her prayer. And let me tell you, there is great power in the desperate prayer. Hannah had no where else to turn. There was no new, modern medicine that could help her. She and her husband had done all that they could physically to make it possible for her to have a child; yet no child came. Year after year she endured the taunting and the bullying. Yes, she was quite desperate by this point in her life. Like a taunt piece of wire that had been stretched too far, she was about to snap. Instead of indulging in that aggressive behavior she turned to God, grabbed hold of the hem of His garment and said, “I am not leaving until you hear my prayer!”

Have you ever hit that point in your life where you just felt that you could not go on? Sometimes that is the very best place to be. When we hit rock bottom and there is no other place to go except on our knees at the feet of God you have finally arrived exactly where you need to be.

My Prayer:
Lord, help me to put aside my foolish pride; which too often tells me that I can fix my own problems. Remind me that the best place that I can be is down on my knees before you; seeking your face, guidance and direction in my life. There, in humbleness, at the feet of the Father is where I so often find my answers. Why is it that I do not go there first instead of as a last resort? Forgive me Father! Help me to humbly seek you in every decision. You always give good guidance. Lord, I need you!

Leave a Reply

