Give Me a Sign

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Judges 6:36-37 (NIV)
Gideon said to God, “If you will save Israel by my hand as you have promised— look, I will place a wool fleece on the threshing floor. If there is dew only on the fleece and all the ground is dry, then I will know that you will save Israel by my hand, as you said.”

Judges 6:36-37 (MSG)
Gideon said to God, “If this is right, if you are using me to save Israel as you’ve said, then look: I’m placing a fleece of wool on the threshing floor. If dew is on the fleece only, but the floor is dry, then I know that you will use me to save Israel, as you said.”
****************************************
“Then Gideon said to God, “If You are going to rescue Israel through me, as You have spoken, behold, I will put a fleece of [freshly sheared] wool on the threshing floor. If there is dew only on the fleece, and it is dry on all the ground [around it], then I will know that You will rescue Israel through me, as You have said.” -AMPLIFIED

God had called Gideon. He had tested him by having him take those small steps of faith. Now we find that it is time for Gideon to fulfill his ultimate job. The Angel of the Lord had spoken these words to Gideon, “The Lord turned to him and said, “Go in this strength of yours and save Israel from the hand of Midian. Have I not sent you?” -Judges 6:14 (AMP)

Strange thing is that even though Gideon had accepted God’s calling and even followed through with those small steps of faith he still questioned if he was truly the one who was expected to fulfill this appointment that God had called him to do for Him.

We find Gideon questioning God though; just as we so often do. Gideon needed to be sure. He needed to know without a shadow of a doubt that what he thought God was saying was really what God was saying. So Gideon asked God for a sign. This was Gideon’s request to God; “So that I can know if it’s true that You plan to use me to rescue Israel, I am going to lay out a wool fleece on the threshing floor. Tomorrow morning, if it is wet with dew while the floor around it is dry, then I will know You are going to use me to deliver Israel, as You have told me.” -Judges 6:36-37 (VOICE)

Gideon asked God for a sign and guess what? God did exactly as Gideon asked Him to do. “And it was so. When he got up early the next morning and squeezed the dew out of the fleece, he wrung from it a bowl full of water.” -Judges 6:38 (AMP)

Strangely enough, God’s quick answer to Gideon just made him question even more. (We too often react the same way when we ask God for a sign. “Is this you Lord; or is it just me or even just a coincidence?) Gideon once again asked God to humor him and petitioned Him for another sign. “Please don’t be angry with me, and I will ask this one thing more. Please let me use the fleece again to prove that You are with me. But this time, let me lay out the fleece, and let it remain dry while all the floor around it is wet with dew.” -Judges 6:39 (VOICE)

God decides that He will go along with Gideon’s request; humoring Gideon. Scripture tells us, “God did as he asked that night. The next morning, the fleece was completely dry, while all the floor around it was wet with dew. Gideon knew that God was calling him to deliver Israel.” -Judges 6:40 (VOICE)

Notice that God was patient with Gideon despite his doubts. God did not become angry and God did not punish him for asking for a sign. Instead, we find God strengthened Gideon’s confidence. Gideon was finally able to accept God’s challenge to him. It would have been best if Gideon had accepted the challenge in the first place, but God worked with him patiently until Gideon was confident. Isn’t God so good to us?

Be encouraged today. God understands that we often need a boast of confidence. He knows us inside and out; so when we need reassurance and encouragement He is always available to give us just what we need. It would be best if we trusted Him enough to step out in faith and do what He has asked us to do, but there are times when we too need to lay our fleece before the Lord. Even when we need that extra sign to boast our confidence God still loves us. He is always rooting for us because He is on our side!

My Prayer:
Lord, I know it is best to trust you completely, but there are times when I need that added confirmation too; just like Gideon. Please be patient with me as I grow to trust you more. Thank you for loving me so much that you are patient with me as I learn. Thank you for always being there to lead and guide me. Thank you for being my God. You are pretty amazing, Lord. I chose to trust you in all things. ❤

2 thoughts on “Give Me a Sign

  1. It is a great thing , that you seek additional conformation but bear in mind that it be on to you according to your faith , ” These signs shall follow those that belive” just trust him you will get that sign … And listen carefully he might just speaking and you might not just be hearing . Pray to discern

    Like

Leave a Reply

