The Child III

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

(The Advent: Faces within the Christmas Story.)

Zechariah 2:10-12 (NIV)
“Shout and be glad, Daughter Zion. For I am coming, and I will live among you,” declares the Lord. “Many nations will be joined with the Lord in that day and will become my people. I will live among you and you will know that the Lord Almighty has sent me to you. The Lord will inherit Judah as his portion in the holy land and will again choose Jerusalem.

Zechariah 2:10-12 (MSG)
“Shout and celebrate, Daughter of Zion! I’m on my way. I’m moving into your neighborhood!” -God’s Decree. Many godless nations will be linked up with God at that time. (“They will become my family! I’ll live in their homes!”) And then you’ll know for sure that God-of-the-Angel-Armies sent me on this mission. God will reclaim his Judah inheritance in the Holy Land. He’ll again make clear that Jerusalem is his choice.
************************************************
“Sing for joy and rejoice, O Daughter of Zion; for behold, I am coming, and I will dwell in your midst,” declares the Lord. Many nations shall join themselves to the Lord in that day and shall be My people. And I will dwell in your midst, and you shall know (recognize, understand fully) that the Lord of hosts has sent Me to you. The Lord will take possession of Judah as His portion in the holy land and will again choose Jerusalem.” -AMPLIFIED

This Child was the fulfillment of many prophecies. In Zechariah alone there are 30 Messianic prophecies covering His coming, rejection, His position as High-Priest as well as His title of Branch. Considering that this book is not very long; 30 Messianic prophecies packed into conveys the importance of the Messiah.

We find this particular prophecy addressed to the Daughter of Zion which would be a personification of Jerusalem and the people that dwelt there. The prophet instructs them in the need to celebrate and rejoice. Why? Because the promised Messiah was coming to live among His people! “Sing out loud and be happy, daughter Zion, because you will see Me coming and I will live among you. I, the Eternal One, promise this.” -(VOICE)

Zechariah’s prophecies of the Messiah were given 500 years before the birth of Christ. Notice though, that God was instructing the people to prepare themselves even at this time. “Be ready. I am coming! The time is near when I will be dwelling side-by-side with you.”

Now notice something pertinent; this pledge and promise was not just to the nation of Israel. It would affect many other nations. (In fact, many translations say “godless nations”. See the texts above.) “When that day comes, many other nations will join with Me, and their people will become My people. Still I will live among you, my covenant people.” -(VOICE)

From the very beginning God knew that His love would be unto all nations. In fact, in Genesis we find God sharing these thoughts, “Then God said, “Shall I keep back from Abraham what I’m about to do? Abraham is going to become a large and strong nation; all the nations of the world are going to find themselves blessed through him. Yes, I’ve settled on him as the one to train his children and future family to observe God’s way of life, live kindly and generously and fairly, so that God can complete in Abraham what he promised him.” -Genesis 18:17-19 (MSG)

It was the Apostle Peter who spoke of the fulfillment of this prophecy in Acts. Peter said, “All the prophets from Samuel on down said the same thing, said most emphatically that these days would come. These prophets, along with the covenant God made with your ancestors, are your family tree. God’s covenant-word to Abraham provides the text: ‘By your offspring all the families of the earth will be blessed.’ But you are first in line: God, having raised up his Son, sent him to bless you as you turn, one by one, from your evil ways.” -Acts 3:24-26(MSG)

Once again we are reminded of God’s promise to come and live among us; God with us. This Child is the consummation of God’s promise, not just to the children of Israel, but to all nations.

My Prayer:
God, Almighty, thank you for coming to Earth as the fulfillment of a prophecy and a promise. God, your willingness to humble yourself to become a man; to come and live among your children is mind boggling. And then to die for us; God you are amazing! Thank you for all for loving me so much and taking every step needed so that I can have a relationship with you. God, you are so good to me!

Leave a Reply

