God Fights for You!

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Joshua 10:40-42 (NIV)
So Joshua subdued the whole region, including the hill country, the Negev, the western foothills and the mountain slopes, together with all their kings. He left no survivors. He totally destroyed all who breathed, just as the Lord, the God of Israel, had commanded. Joshua subdued them from Kadesh Barnea to Gaza and from the whole region of Goshen to Gibeon. All these kings and their lands Joshua conquered in one campaign, because the Lord, the God of Israel, fought for Israel.

Joshua 10:40-42 (MSG)
Joshua took the whole country: hills, desert, foothills, and mountain slopes, including all kings. He left no survivors. He carried out the holy curse on everything that breathed, just as God, the God of Israel, had commanded. Joshua’s conquest stretched from Kadesh Barnea to Gaza and from the entire region of Goshen to Gibeon. Joshua took all these kings and their lands in a single campaign because God, the God of Israel, fought for Israel.
********************************
“So Joshua struck all the land, the hill country, the Negev (South country) and the lowland and the slopes [that descend to the Dead Sea] and all their kings. He left no survivor, but he utterly destroyed all who breathed, just as the Lord, the God of Israel, had commanded. Joshua struck them from Kadesh-barnea even as far as Gaza, and all the country of Goshen even as far as Gibeon. Joshua captured all these kings and their land at one time, because the Lord, the God of Israel, fought for Israel.” -AMPLIFIED

Joshua and the Israelites were on a roll. In the same long day that they had conquered the five kings they then turned their forces against Makkedah and its king; destroying it completely.

Leaving Makkedah in total destruction they then moved on to Libnah. We find Scripture telling us this about Libnah, “Next Joshua led his forces from Makkedah against Libnah, and the Eternal gave the town and its king into their hands. They took no prisoners. They killed everyone in the town and destroyed it and the king, as they did to the king of Jericho.” -Joshua 10:29-30 (VOICE)

Then Joshua and his army turned to the city of Lachish. Scripture tells us that they destroyed Lachish that second day. Once again they destroyed the city and killed everyone within the city. We find King Horam, king of Gezer, coming up to lend a hand at Lachish. As soon as he arrived Joshua turned his army against Horam and his army destroying them completely. Not one person survived from Horam’s army.

Leaving Lachish Joshua moves on to Eglon. That city fell on the first day of the attack. Every man, woman and child died by the sword on that day.

From there the army marched on to Hebron. Once again we find another city falling. Scripture tells us this, “Hebron…fell to them—its king, all of its villages, and all of its people. Joshua killed everyone with the sword and destroyed it as he had destroyed Eglon.” -Joshua 10:37 (VOICE)

“Lastly Joshua, with all of Israel, attacked Debir and took its king, its villages, and all of its people. The Israelites killed them with the sword and destroyed them all. Joshua left no one alive. He did to Debir and its king just as he had done to Hebron and to Libnah and its king.” -Joshua 10:38-39 (VOICE)

Remember those words that Joshua spoke to his troops back in verse 25? “There’s nothing to be afraid of here. Be strong and courageous because the Eternal will do to all our enemies what He has done to these kings.” (VOICE)All of those times that Joshua had been told over and over again had sunk in and now he too was able to encourage others to “Be Strong and Courageous!”

Because Joshua and his men were obediently doing as God had directed them to do the Lord went before them and fought for them. Hallelujah! Time and time again we find this truth in Scripture:

* “The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” -Deuteronomy 31:8 (NIV)

* “So we take comfort and are encouraged and confidently say, “The Lord is my Helper [in time of need], I will not be afraid. What will man do to me?” -Hebrews 13:6 (AMP)

* “Do not be afraid of them [or their hostile faces], for I am with you [always] to protect you and deliver you,” says the Lord.” -Jeremiah 1:8 (AMP)

Even King David could attest to this fact. He even penned a song to demonstrate how he felt about God’s leadership and direction in His life. Psalm 23 says:

“The Eternal is my shepherd, He cares for me always. He provides me rest in rich, green fields beside streams of refreshing water. He soothes my fears; He makes me whole again, steering me off worn, hard paths to roads where truth and righteousness echo His name. Even in the unending shadows of death’s darkness, I am not overcome by fear. Because You are with me in those dark moments, near with Your protection and guidance, I am comforted. You spread out a table before me, provisions in the midst of attack from my enemies; You care for all my needs, anointing my head with soothing, fragrant oil, filling my cup again and again with Your graceCertainly Your faithful protection and loving provision will pursue me where I go, always, everywhere. I will always be with the Eternal, in Your house forever.” (VOICE)

My Prayer:

Lord God, you do indeed fight my battles. I have seen your hand at work in my life and can testify to what you can do. Lord God, thank you for being my ever-present Helper. Thank you for watching over me and caring for my every need. Thank you most importantly for always being with me, no matter what. You are not afraid of the Enemy. You walk with me through those times of trouble and darkness, holding my hand. Help me to trust that you will work out all things for my good, dear Lord. God, I know you fight for me!

Leave a Reply

