Be Vigilant and On Guard

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Exodus 34:10-12 (NIV)
Then the Lord said: “I am making a covenant with you. Before all your people I will do wonders never before done in any nation in all the world. The people you live among will see how awesome is the work that I, the Lord, will do for you. Obey what I command you today. I will drive out before you the Amorites, Canaanites, Hittites, Perizzites, Hivites and Jebusites. Be careful not to make a treaty with those who live in the land where you are going, or they will be a snare among you.

Exodus 34:10-12 (MSG)
And God said, “As of right now, I’m making a covenant with you: In full sight of your people I will work wonders that have never been created in all the Earth, in any nation. Then all the people with whom you’re living will see how tremendous God’s work is, the work I’ll do for you. Take careful note of all I command you today. I’m clearing your way by driving out Amorites, Canaanites, Hittites, Perizzites, Hivites, and Jebusites. Stay vigilant. Don’t let down your guard lest you make covenant with the people who live in the land that you are entering and they trip you up.
*********************************
“Then God said, “Behold, I am going to make a covenant. Before all your people I will do wondrous works (miracles) such as have not been created or produced in all the earth nor among any of the nations; and all the people among whom you live shall see the working of the Lord, for it is a fearful and awesome thing that I am going to do with you. “Be sure to observe what I am commanding you this day: behold, I am going to drive out the Amorite before you, and the Canaanite, the Hittite, the Perizzite, the Hivite, and the Jebusite. Watch yourself so that you do not make a covenant (solemn agreement, treaty) with the inhabitants of the land into which you are going, or it will become a [dangerous] trap among you.” -AMPLIFIED

We continue with Moses’ second encounter with God on Mount Sinai. We find next God once again making a covenant with Moses; for the people of Israel had already broken the first contract when Moses found them worshiping the golden calf.

We have discussed covenants before. As reminder to us, a covenant is a contract or agreement between two parties. In this instance, it is between God and Israel once again. Moses would be the mediator between the two parties.

God tells Moses that He will do great wonders before the people. Wonders that had never before been seen in all the Earth or among the nations. (Proof that He and He alone was the One, True God.) God would use those wonders as a testament of who He was to impact all the nations that Israel came into contact with in the land that they were going to.

God gives some very important warnings to the people of Israel:
1.) Obey what I command you.
2.) Be careful not to make a treaty with the people in the land.

God gives these admonitions for good reason too. He knew that if they did not stay vigilant they would quickly fall into customs of the inhabitants of the land. Realize this deeper fact too; God knew that the very Enemy of their soul was trying to ensnare them with anything and anything that he could. God warned them that they needed to stay vigilant.

James, the brother of Jesus, also warned us to be careful of fraternizing with the World and the things of the World. James says, “You adulteresses [disloyal sinners—flirting with the world and breaking your vow to God]! Do you not know that being the world’s friend [that is, loving the things of the world] is being God’s enemy? So whoever chooses to be a friend of the world makes himself an enemy of God.”- James 4:4 (AMP)

The Apostle John warns us against loving the things of this World. John says, “Do not love the world [of sin that opposes God and His precepts], nor the things that are in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world—the lust and sensual craving of the flesh and the lust and longing of the eyes and the boastful pride of life [pretentious confidence in one’s resources or in the stability of earthly things]—these do not come from the Father, but are from the world. The world is passing away, and with it its lusts [the shameful pursuits and ungodly longings]; but the one who does the will of God and carries out His purposes lives forever.” -1 John 2:15-17 (AMP)

Let us too be careful that we are living our lives holy and set apart to God. We have been called out and we should no longer be flirting with the World or breaking our vow to God.

My Prayer:
Lord, help me to be true to my covenant with you. I want to obey You and what you desire of me. Help me to not slip into the customs and practices of this World. Help me to remain true to you; holy and set apart. Help me to keep my eyes focused on you as you cheer me on to my final goal. With your help I will be careful and vigilant as we journey together.

Leave a Reply

