We Are God’s Inheritance

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Exodus 34:8-9 (NIV)
Moses bowed to the ground at once and worshiped. “Lord,” he said, “if I have found favor in your eyes, then let the Lord go with us. Although this is a stiff-necked people, forgive our wickedness and our sin, and take us as your inheritance.”

Exodus 34:8-9 (MSG)
At once, Moses fell to the ground and worshiped, saying, “Please, O Master, if you see anything good in me, please Master, travel with us, hard-headed as these people are. Forgive our iniquity and sin. Own us, possess us.”
********************************
“Moses bowed to the earth immediately and worshiped [the Lord]. And he said, “If now I have found favor and lovingkindness in Your sight, O Lord, let the Lord, please, go in our midst, though it is a stiff-necked (stubborn, rebellious) people, and pardon our iniquity and our sin, and take us as Your possession.” –AMPLIFIED

So, we find that Moses did as God had instructed him to do. He chiseled some new tablets for God to write the Commandments on, just like the original ones. He got up very early in the morning and climbed the mountain to meet with God; carrying said tablets with him.

We find God descending in the cloud to the top of the mountain and taking up His position beside Moses. In fact, we find God proclaiming, “The Name of the Lord”. “Then the Lord passed by in front of him, and proclaimed, “The Lord, the Lord God, compassionate and gracious, slow to anger, and abounding in lovingkindness and truth (faithfulness); keeping mercy and lovingkindness for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin; but He will by no means leave the guilty unpunished, visiting (avenging) the iniquity (sin, guilt) of the fathers upon the children and the grandchildren to the third and fourth generations [that is, calling the children to account for the sins of their fathers].” -Exodus 34:6-7 (AMP)

After this declaration from God we find Moses bowing to the ground immediately to worship God. The people of the East always bowed to royalty. We now find Moses bowing in humbleness accepting exactly what God had to say. We know this because of his reference to the hard-headed, stiff-necked people; asking God to forgive their sin and iniquity.

What Moses says next should give us a sense of hope and joy, “Own us, possess us. Take us as your inheritance.” Hallelujah! We are God’s inheritance. Have you ever thought of yourself that way? We are His very own children and as such we too must come to the place of saying, “Own us. Possess us.”

All of this is a reminder to us of what God said to the people of Israel through the prophet Isaiah. “But now, God’s Message, the God who made you in the first place, Jacob, the One who got you started, Israel: “Don’t be afraid, I’ve redeemed you. I’ve called your name. You’re mine. When you’re in over your head, I’ll be there with you. When you’re in rough waters, you will not go down. When you’re between a rock and a hard place, it won’t be a dead end—Because I am God, your personal God, The Holy of Israel, your Savior. I paid a huge price for you: all of Egypt, with rich Cush and Seba thrown in! That’s how much you mean to me! That’s how much I love you! I’d sell off the whole world to get you back, trade the creation just for you.” -Isaiah 43:1-4 (MSG)

We are God’s inheritance! Let that sink into your heart and mind. Live your life in such a way and make Him proud.

My Prayer:
God Almighty, I am your inheritance. Own me and possess me, I pray. I am your very own; bought with a price and redeemed. Thank you for calling my name. Thank you for being my Personal God. You are awesome God and I thank you for loving in me so amazingly!

Leave a Reply

