Forgive Me!

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

, Exodus 32:30 (NIV)
The next day Moses said to the people, “You have committed a great sin. But now I will go up to the Lord; perhaps I can make atonement for your sin.”

Exodus 32:30 (MSG)
The next day Moses addressed the people: “You have sinned an enormous sin! But I am going to go up to God; maybe I’ll be able to clear you of your sin.”
*****************************
“Then the next day Moses said to the people, “You have committed a great sin. Now I will go up to the Lord; perhaps I can make atonement for your sin.” –AMPLIFIED
We find Moses preparing himself once again to go up into the presence of God. He in no way diminishes the seriousness of the situation. In fact, he flat out tells the people that they have committed a “great” sin; an “enormous” one. They had blown it and in a BIG way. Moses informs them that he will go, once again, up to God and see if he could clear things up and make things right with God. Notice Moses’ words, “Perhaps I can make atonement for your sin. Maybe I can clear things up for you.”

So, Moses marches back up the mountain seeking presence with the Almighty. Scripture tell us, “Moses went back to God and said, “This is terrible. This people has sinned—it’s an enormous sin! They made gods of gold for themselves. And now, if you will only forgive their sin. . . . But if not, erase me out of the book you’ve written.” -Exodus 32:31-32 (MSG)

Moses did not try to downplay what the people had done. He was straight forward and honest with God. The people messed up. It was a terrible sin, they made false gods out of gold for themselves and they forsook the Lord God.

Moses pleads with God to forgive the sin of the people and if God would not forgive them than he wanted his name taken out of the book. The Amplified really brings across how Moses was feeling, “Yet now, if You will, forgive their sin—and if not, please blot me out of Your book which You have written (kill me)!” This is how strongly Moses felt about the situation, but Moses could not make restitution for what they people had done. They had sinned; not him. The people were responsible for what they had done. Moses could do nothing, but make intercession for them.

God once again gives instructions to Moses. “God said to Moses, “I’ll only erase from my book those who sin against me. For right now, you go and lead the people to where I told you. Look, my Angel is going ahead of you. On the day, though, when I settle accounts, their sins will certainly be part of the settlement.” -Exodus 32:33-34 (MSG) God tells Moses to “Go. Lead the people. My Angel will go before you. The people thought will be held accountable for what they have done.”

Scripture tells us in the very last verse of the chapter what God allowed as punishment for the sin that they had committed against Him. “God sent a plague on the people because of the calf they and Aaron had made.” -Exodus 32:35 (MSG)

Their sins certainly did catch up with them and find them out. Thankfully, we serve a God of mercy and grace. “But God, with the unfathomable richness of His love and mercy focused on us, united us with the Anointed One and infused our lifeless souls with life—even though we were buried under mountains of sin—and saved us by His grace. He raised us up with Him and seated us in the heavenly realms with our beloved Jesus the Anointed, the Liberating King.  He did this for a reason: so that for all eternity we will stand as a living testimony to the incredible riches of His grace and kindness that He freely gives to us by uniting us with Jesus the Anointed.” –Ephesians 2:4-7 (VOICE)

My Prayer:
God, I am so thankful that you are our merciful, forgiving, Heavenly Father. Yes, when I sin I must be punished; there will be consequences, but I know that you will always love me. I know you will always care for me and want the best for me. Help me to remember to live my life in such a way that I am glorifying to you. Help me to make wise choices that are pleasing to you. Help me to grow into the child that you desire me to be. Lord, you are so good to me. Thank you for being exactly who you are!

Leave a Reply

